We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service by reception staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ayres Portenos Hostel
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I gave it 50% because I had great fun with the hostel room-mates while I was there. Beds are comfortable, the price is reasonable for the basic facilities you get. The hostel will not get my other 50% because of the reception staff. Other than the staff on night shift (who took the trouble to help me with my airline booking), the rest behaved like we owed them their livelihood. Non-smiling, not friendly and not helpful. On my check-out day, I had asked one of the staff to keep an eye on my bags while I use the washroom (while waiting for the taxi to come). He said okay but when I returned just after a few minutes, my bags were not there anymore. Turned out my bags were taken by some backpackers who happened to check in. If possible, do request for the rooms not facing the road because of the noises from the traffic. The buses run through the nights and they are not very quiet about it.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karebeargal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 9 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very nice decorated hostel, friendly and helpfull staff, good location in San Telmo, simple but ok breakfast, nice double room with good bed, but a lot of noice from the street coming in. The tango vibe of this hostel is briljant

Room Tip: Ask for room not facing street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was the first place we stayed in South America and it was absolutely the best choice for us. Amazing value private rooms (absolutely huge with good sized bed, storage, tv and air con). Big plus is the amazing decor of the interior. Staff are very helpful - especially as we couldn´t speak a word of Spanish at this point and the location of San Telmo is perfect for bars, cheap eats and cool cafes. Computers with good internet readily available, Wifi is also free. One the best breakfasts we´ve had on our travels. Only slight down-side is that we didn´t find it overly sociable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hostel is in a lovely part of San Telmo, only a short walk from the plaza and a 10 minute walk to the city centre. Unfortunately around New Years Eve a lot of things were closed, but when they started to open up it was much more lively. The decor inside is vibrant, but the rooms are pretty basic. However the small balcony adds a bit of charm. The breakfast was good but my boyfriend doesn't think there was enough. The wi-fi was a bit temperamental and the staff were not overly helpful, but we did have a good stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms. Very friendly, helpful staff. Quiet guests. Very secure building.
Negative: As a single woman, I was not comfortable walking to the hostel after nightfall. Streets around the hostel were quite deserted and dark.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lad18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Nice hostel in the San Telmo district of Buenos Aires. Breakfast was very good loads of choice! Stayed in a private twin was nice. Showers were warm but small area to change in. The bar is the breakfast room not too exciting

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxy1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The decor, the atmosphere, the common areas were all done well: wifi throughout with desktops also available for use, at least one tv area, several chill spaces, at least one kitchen, breakfast provided. Clean. They have dorm beds and doubles, all with shared bath. Good location in San Telmo. Seemed security conscious. Helpful staff.
The negatives:
No trash bin in the room. As with a lot of hostels with good locations this one was noisy. The hostel has a lobby floor and three floors, floors 1, 2, and 3, above it. We were placed on the second floor all the way at the end. The bathrooms on our floor were under construction. When we had to wee in the middle of the night it meant going all the way to the beginning of the hall, up or down the stairs, and back to the end the hall. It also means that there are not enough toilets if the place is full so, not only is it difficult to keep up with cleaning them, count on a wait when you want to use one. And it means that on top of the traffic noise during the night there is construction noise during the day.
However, I have no doubt construction will be finished by high season in summer.

Room Tip: Untill construction is finished ask for a room on floor 1 or 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,467 reviews
Montserrat
Art Factory Hostel
Art Factory Hostel
#6 of 471 in Buenos Aires
729 reviews
Retiro
Four Seasons Hotel Buenos Aires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 444 in Buenos Aires
2,443 reviews
Puerto Madero
Hilton Buenos Aires
Hilton Buenos Aires
#47 of 444 in Buenos Aires
3,422 reviews
San Nicolas
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
Hotel NH Buenos Aires Latino
#51 of 444 in Buenos Aires
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Portenos Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Portenos Hostel

Address: Calle Peru 708 | San Telmo, Buenos Aires C1068AAF, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Telmo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 471 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $12 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Ayres Portenos Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ayres Porteños Hostel’s experience! Come to know the best thematic hostel in the world, located in Buenos Aires! We believe the place where you´ll stay is the key to your vacations´success. That is why we take care of every detail to make your visit at our little corner of San Telmo called Ayres Porteños, an unforgettable memory!!Visit our site, see our facilities and enjoy the magic of Ayres Porteños!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ayres Portenos Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing