We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Buenos Aires city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tanguero Boutique Hotel
Ranked #137 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
KA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in Buenos Aires city centre”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I think this is the best hotel we have been into whilst in Buenos Aires. Inside, it is simply beautiful: old "Tanguero" style, the breakfast room and the hall are full of memorabilia linked to Tango stars (1940 - 60)...amazing! It was like being in an old black and white movie.
All rooms are also decorated with the same style and each room has a song name. Even the floor and the ceilings are decorated.
The rooms are spacious and very very clean, wireless is available for free and the buffet breakfast is very fresh and with a lot of choices.
The staff is very friendly and you can book tango classes, city tours ect...directly from the hotel.
When we left they also offered us to store our luggage after the check out so that we could go around with no hassle for the last few hours before going to the airport.
The hotel is also very handy if you're planning to go to Colonia via buquebus (the terminal is at walking distance).
Believe me, if you're into tango and you want to see the "shining of Buenos Aires" in the 40's and 50's this is the place. It is really worth the price - we will definitely go back

Room Tip: we were in the Golden suite - really nice and spacious. Even if the windows are facing the road it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kyukkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    39
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
65
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed this hotel, especially the cool old style about it. The price is fairly reasonable and the location,(if you are in Centro) is great. Good, but typical breakfast, some good Resturaunts within walking distance

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cordobaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I travel to BA often on business, and stay in moderately priced hotels in Microcentro (also convenient for tourists, but not so trendy). The Tanguero is by far the cleanest and best appointed of the four or five hotels I've been to.

Superb decorating, many luxury touches, good sized rooms, and a breakfast that is on par with the others. (Argentina hotel breakfasts are pretty uniform.). The only disappointment was that there was no fitness center. Otherwise ... highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarnabyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangueroventas, Director Comercial at Tanguero Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your opinion. In a few months we include a fitness center for the guests. Hope to see you again in the hotel.

Best Regards

Anabel Belchior
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I arrived in Buenos Aires for the first time, late at night and tired from a long journey to receive a warm welcome from the staff. I immediately felt comfortable and throughly enjoyed my 3 night stay. The room was spacious and clean, the buffet breakfast very good and the service from the staff was friendly and helpful. It's well located in the centre of the city and I felt safe when out and about. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to any first time visitors to Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneyAdmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed just one night after a long trip in Chile and coming from El Calafate. Great little boutique hotel in central location. Reception staff speaks english and is very helpful. Room is spacious, clean and quirky, more like someones bedroom than a hotel room. We liked that. Very comfy bed. Separate bathroom, toilet and big wardrobe with fluffy dressing gowns. The best shower we had on our 17 day trip, powerful, wow. . Really, really lovely place. We would have liked to stay longer. Good variety at breakfast. Thorougly recommmended. Easy to walk to waterside attraction and the big shopping mall.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor to the front. Room has opening windows but that gets noisy early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51Tinkerbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
460 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We have just left Tanguero after a 1 week stay at the hotel. It was all that it had been billed. The hotel was very clean, rooms most comfortable with a separate bathroom, large and ample room to spead out. The breakfast was excellent with a varied selection each morning and the breakfast staff most acommodating with fresh coffee and as many refills as you would like. Tanguerois centrally located and within walking distance of many of the great sites to visit in BA. The friendliness rating of the reception staff is a bit random, as we found them reluctantly accommodating. With that aside we would have no seconds thoughts to recommend Tanguero.

Room Tip: The hotel is adjacent to busy Cordoba Avenue with lots of traffic, we were on the fourth floor and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulowlcourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in January and found the hotel excellent. Staff were very helpful especially with wifi access and were pleasant and accommodating of English speakers. We were disappointed that the bar does not operate as a bar - more a decoration - but they referred us to the restaurant/bar across the road (Etre) and it operates like an extension of the hotel. We had a pick up coming and the staff from the Tanguero came and got us from Etre! The hotel rooms are lovely, old-fashioned, huge beds, nice bathrooms and terrific black-out curtains for the morning sun. Breakfast was fresh - they made pancakes for us and fresh fruit salad. The location is great for shopping and access to laundry facilities (if you have a huge bag of washing like we did!) but at night time it was a bit dodgy. Safer to stay inside in the wee hours. None of us was disappointed in this hotel. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Bisonte Palace
Bisonte Palace
#151 of 447 in Buenos Aires
584 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires
Hotel Pulitzer Buenos Aires
#98 of 447 in Buenos Aires
678 reviews
San Nicolas
Broadway Hotel & Suites
Broadway Hotel & Suites
#85 of 447 in Buenos Aires
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Regente Palace Hotel
Regente Palace Hotel
#108 of 447 in Buenos Aires
717 reviews
Retiro
Aspen Towers Hotel
Aspen Towers Hotel
#81 of 447 in Buenos Aires
916 reviews
Retiro
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
Pestana Buenos Aires Hotel
#78 of 447 in Buenos Aires
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanguero Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanguero Boutique Hotel

Property: Tanguero Boutique Hotel
Address: Suipacha 780, Buenos Aires C1008AAK, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 447 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanguero Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Tanguero Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing