We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent location to visit Buenos Aires for tourism!”
Review of Hotel El Cabildo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Cabildo
Ranked #170 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you're visiting Buenos Aires as a tourist and for a short time (a week or less) it's a great place to stay. It's located between two peatonal streets with lots of shops and bars. Just 3 blocks away from Puerto Madero, 2 blocks from Plaza de Mayo and 5 blocks from the famous Barrio San Telmo. You won't get bored to walk around.
The hotel & rooms are not big at all, but the price pays for the location mostly. It is, thou, very neat, tidy and clean.
Only a couple of things I would "warn" other travellers about are:
-The minibar: there was a functional one in the room but it was allways empty (I stood for 3 days). I used it to keep the beverages I bought outside.
-The breakfast (which is not in the hotel itself, but in a Cafe nextdoor -Los Inmortales-)is not a buffet. The waiter serves a glass of orange juice, a cup of cofee/tea/chocolate, two medialunas and two toasts with marmalade for each person. So if your apettite is great in the first time of the morning (like my husband's) this won't be enough.
The room's walls: were very thin and you could hear doors oppening/closing and the stepping of other people from the other rooms. So also not recommended if you have a light dream.
Anyways, the three items above bothered mostly my husband. For me, it was great place to stay, since I have the concept that an hotel is a place where you leave your lugagge, take your showers and sleep; and that's it. But I thought it would be fair to "warn" people that are a little more demanding when it comes to the place to stay ('cause my husband is...)
As for me, and othe not-so-demanding people in the world: thumbs up!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Schwotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 16 of 212 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2012

Some complain about small rooms with small windows. While this is true, I must point out that the rooms were quiet, the beds were comfortable, the staff was helpful, the location was convienient (we could walk to Plaza San Martin, the Obelisk, Casa Rosada, Teatro Colon, Cafe Tortoni, and Calle Florida). It was also near the subte and stops for collectivos. The hotel itself is in the middle of the block on a pedistrian mall.

The breakfast consisted of medialunas, toast, coffee and orange juice at Los Inmortales cafe (next door). Many restaurants were near by, as was everything that we needed. There were also 2 computers in the lounge with free internet. At the end of 6 nights, the bill came to $340 (for a double room).

If you want to spend long hours in your room (while not sleeping), or stay in a hotel that is just like any hotel in the United States, this is not your hotel. If you want a clean, comfortable, inexpensive place that is very convenient, I highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Only stayed in one room, can't really give any pointers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ikimashoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2008

This hotel is small, cold and dark. The rooms are very small. The place is clean but you can do much better for the price. The pictures on its website are not accurate. The breakfast is terrible and the hotel has no lobby, no parking, and you cannot even get a car to park in front of it so you have to drag your stuff from a block away just to get there. They only have one small elevator, really small. The staff is great but still I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cestradart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Heloiara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Ito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Montserrat
Gran Hotel Hispano
Gran Hotel Hispano
#205 of 443 in Buenos Aires
148 reviews
San Nicolas
Tritone Hotel
Tritone Hotel
#172 of 443 in Buenos Aires
350 reviews
Montserrat
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hotel & Apart
Alma del Plata Buenos Aires Hote...
#142 of 443 in Buenos Aires
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Nicolas
Regis Orho Hotel
Regis Orho Hotel
#392 of 443 in Buenos Aires
267 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#52 of 443 in Buenos Aires
1,448 reviews
Montserrat
Ibis Buenos Aires
Ibis Buenos Aires
#123 of 443 in Buenos Aires
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Cabildo

Address: Calle Lavalle 748, Buenos Aires C1047AAP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > San Nicolas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 443 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range: $38 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel El Cabildo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Cabildo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing