We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is regular” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Gatto Trattorias

Il Gatto Trattorias
Ranked #407 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: San Nicolas
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Food is regular”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

It has lost its quality with the years, food is no longer good

Helpful?
Thank DonquijoteII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    352
    221
    84
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brazil
Level Contributor
96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good Food, Poor Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Il Gato serves good pasta and good wine - they even have a premium brand wine on their own! Atmosphere is quite different because the illumination is reddish; I like it. But the service is a real minus. When we stepped in the room it was like nobody was there! And they were not busy, but just talking to each other instead. It was hard to get some attention from somebody from the very beginning until we left.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuelyBrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Finest past fastfood”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Their pastry are quite good, but the service and the place doesn't look like a restaurant where i'd go with time to enjoy some food with friends, but someone I can go quickly in the lunch.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gustavo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“good option”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

If you are in Puerto Madero and don't want to spend all your pesos, this is a good place to go. Ask for a cheap Argentine wine and pizza or pasta and you'll have good wine and food. Waiters are helpful and price is fair.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bee-rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,100 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
“Lax service and bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

We went to Il Gatto in Puerto Madera on Christmas Day and were so disappointed. We expected a wait and that was fine, but the staff seemed to have very few tables to actually deal with, yet still took a long time in getting us seated and looking at menus.

The waitress was very nice, but hopeless. I ordered pollo alla parmegianno and my girlfriend ordered the crepe. The chicken was OK, but had no parmesan - it had been totally melted off by the grill. My girlfriend's crepe was terrible - very acidic and totally unappetizing. She didn't eat more than one mouthful and we did not pay for that particular item in the end.

Basically, the food is not good, the service is bad and there are literally hundreds of other, more authentic and better Italian places in Buenos Aires. Do yourself a favour and bypass this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tombillinge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Gatto Trattorias also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Il Gatto Trattorias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing