We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Callao Plaza Suites
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The room was spacious with great bed and bathroom and a well-equipped kitchen. I was there for 3 nights intending to see the sights of Buenos Aires. But I did very little of that because I had picked a bad case of food poisoning in Peru and was still quite sick. On checkout day I had an evening flight and was not relishing the prospect of mooching around from 11 in the morning - the official checkout time - until it was time to head out to the airport: 5.30 pm. The wonderful Victoria arranged for me to camp in another room [mine was to be occupied by others later that day] until it was time for me to leave at no extra charge! This was very generous of her and clearly indicates why I will recommend this venue to anyone I know. It's in a great position, has good views and provides exceptional service.

Room Tip: Some roooms look out on the swimming pool at the rear of the hotel and others overlook a park/plaza...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    18
    12
    9
    11
See reviews for
10
35
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

My fiance and I recently stayed here for 6 nights and it was amazing. The suites are excellent for the price and close to everything, including the subway. The host, Pilar, spent about 2 hours with us when we arrived to take us through everything and we had to sign a contract in Spanish but were taken through what it included. She even gave us great suggestions on where to go in BA and made us feel very welcome. It's not 5 star, but the apartments were clean and comfortable and had everything we needed to make us feel right at home including a functional kitchenette (with coffee percolator!) and a nice shower. Would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat_mansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 6 nights at the end of a 6 week trip rounds the world. This was the only accommodation I was disappointed with in the whole trip. Upon arriving I was given a key and what looked like a leasing agreement written in spanish from a company I've never heard of (vaccation rentals) in an envelope by the doorman. In the room there was a domument with some very basic info on it in english like the hours for the pool and gym and how to use the air con. There was a phone number to call with questions but only during office hours. The flat was nothing like the picture online. Many things were broken including the wardrobe, shower head and door handle, the safe was locked so we weren't able to use it, and the floor was so filthy it made our bare feet go black. We decided there was nothing we could do that night.

Next morning I tried calling the number we had been given for an hour and every time it seemed to go through to a fax machine. There was an emergency mobile number so we went downstairs to give that a call and were directed by the doorman to young man who it turns out worked for vaccation apartment rentals. We told him that things were broken and we weren't able to open the safe and we had no idea how or who or when we were supposed to pay. He said he would talk to his boss and try to get things sorted for us and took our credit card details to pay. He also said he was around the building every day in office hours. This is that last time we saw him and nothing was ever fixed (he did however charge our credit card).

There was a maid service every day but the floor remained filthy. The sheets and towels were never changed and the sheets smelled damp the whole time as if there weren't dried properly. There was also damp coming through one wall which looked horrible.

The kitchen facilities were so limited as to be laughable. No toaster. only 2 glasses. No way to wash anything up for ourselved (no plug or detergent).

The room was also terribly noisy. We were on the top floor so no traffic noise but the walls are incredibly thin, the lift is very noisy, one night I woke up to continual beeping coming from somewhere in the foyer (I should note I'm an incredibly heavy sleeper), and the front door constanly banged against the frame even while locked.

The only good points are that the spanish doormen are friendly and its in a good location close to the subway (though if I went again I would prefer to stay in Palermo - much better restaurants).

Because of the filthiness of the accommodation, the noise and the complete lack of information and poor management I would not reccommend anyone stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenna_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2009

My family stayed in a 1-room studio apartment in Callao Plaza Suites (an apartment building) for 12 days in July and August, 2009. We chose it because of the excellent location (near subway, busses, restaurants, shopping, Internet shops) and because the building was rather new with 24-hour security. But the room was so noisy, the apartment in such disrepair, and the management (Vacation Rental Argentina) so bad that we regretted it.

We have traveled for decades, all over the world, and desire simple, clean, functional accommodations with good service. We didn’t get that here.

Service was extremely poor; many promises were made but few kept.

The shower leaked; after a shower, the bathroom floor was three-quarters covered with water. The base of the toilet and bidet leaked. So it was both unsanitary as well as unsafe (danger of slipping).

For three people, there were 3 bath towels, sometimes just 1 hand towel, and no bath mat. And some of those had to be used to mop up the wet floor. Only 1 roll of toilet paper was allowed per day, so we couldn’t use that either.

On Sunday, we were surprised to learn that no towels were provided – they hadn’t told us – so we were left with just 1 hand towel and nothing else, after they took the previous day’s dirty towels.

The kitchen faucet wasn’t attached to the counter top; it wobbled loosely, and water leaked into the smelly, moldy cabinet below where pots and dishes were stored.

The toaster didn’t work. The plastic silverware holder was broken and cracked, and kitchen tools (can opener, etc.) were rusty and dirty.

The kitchen had no dish towel, paper towels, or dish soap. The waste basket was badly cracked and the mechanism to lift the top of it didn’t work.

Two of four windows facing the street had big cracks. One of two window shades was broken and could not be raised up more than part way.

The room’s heater did not work, so the room was cold (it was winter) and each bed had only one blanket and no bedspread.

We had been told that even though the room faced the street, it was high enough up so it wouldn’t be noisy. But we’ve never been in such a noisy room: a continuous raucous stream of loud and annoying traffic, cars, motorcycle engines, sirens, dogs (across the street was a park with an enclosure for dogs). It was hard to sleep, even with earplugs.

The managers at Vacation Rental Argentina are not on site – their office is some distance away – but they kept assuring us that they would have things fixed. Except for replacing the broken toaster and supplying some additional blankets (not enough), almost nothing was fixed (a clogged toilet was fixed 1 day later after multiple complaints).

We learned that the managers could not be relied on to call when they said they would or deliver on promises. The entire stay had to be paid in advance so we had little recourse, but after many complaints, calls and negotiations with management, they begrudgingly gave us a credit.

We should add that the lobby was modern and clean, the security guards (who only spoke Spanish) were friendly and helpful, the elevators worked well, the shower was good and hot, and the location was terrific. Too bad the noise, disrepair, and bad management ruined our stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
victoriayebne, Experience Manager at Callao Plaza Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2009
We fixed everything as soon as you asked and in the period that was possible for us (the same day or the fallowing day). Remember that you rented an apartment with hotel services (like maid service daily, security 24/7, gym, pool, etc) where the rates are according the apartment (and in you case it was much cheaper because we gave you several night for free, not just a small discount).
About the noise: windows are made with double glass, specially for that area. It's obvious that in one of the most important avenues in Buenos Aires there is traffic, like in every big city of the world.
In Vacation Rental Argentina we always keep our promises and we payed special attention to all your questions.
I'm sorry if all our help wasn't enaught.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
Babel Recoleta
#251 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Recoleta
Alfa Hotel
Alfa Hotel
#318 of 451 in Buenos Aires
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Recoleta
Ulises Recoleta Suites
Ulises Recoleta Suites
#149 of 451 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Recoleta
Callao Suites
Callao Suites
#16 of 488 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Recoleta
Concord Callao Hotel by Temporary Apartments
Recoleta
Studio Pueyrredon
Studio Pueyrredon
#166 of 488 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Callao Plaza Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Callao Plaza Suites

Property: Callao Plaza Suites
Address: Avenida Callao 930 | Cabrera 6054, Buenos Aires C1023AAP, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Recoleta
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 488 Specialty Lodging in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Callao Plaza Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Callao Plaza Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing