We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All fairly average”
Review of Las Nazarenas

Las Nazarenas
Ranked #221 of 4,847 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Retiro
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
318 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“All fairly average”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First night in BA. Bit jet lagged and needed to stay up so early meal here. Ordered steaks for everyone, all different cuts. There seemed to be no concern for medium/well as a cooking concept as all arrived in different stages of cooking ranging from rare to very well done! One steak had to be returned as it was so rare which didn't faze the waiter - got the impression it was the norm. Staff were attentive and very keen to tell you bill didn't include a tip. Bill did include a cover charge so tell them you don't want the bread they present you with on arrival and that may get rid of it. Would we go back? Probably not as there are so many others to try.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Durris681
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    444
    207
    82
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average steaks, good wine, poor service”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were in BA this April. Our hotel concierge recommened this steakhouse. We surprised by the poor to inattentive service. I had heard so much about Argentinian steaks. Ordered a rib-eye and was really disappointed. My wife ordered a fillet. It was overcooked and floating in sauce. I know there are a range of steakhouses in the US. I would rate the steaks at Las Nazarenas as C. You get better steaks at Outback.

The only redeeming part was the wine! Excellent Argentinian Mablec. I guess a steakhouse can't ruin the wine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not good at all!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to this restaurant because a person recommended it; he later confirmed that he had not been there for a few years, and I believe that things must have changed, as my friend usually has good leads. We were 3, and wanted to eat a good steak, and we were prepared to pay for it. Regrettably our dinner consisted of poor quality meat, which is pretty difficult in Buenos Aires. The meat was difficult to chew, and not tasty at all, for all 3 of us. My advice is to go somewhere else, and there are so many wonderful places, with a much better quality meat. Ask local people or read the reviews of the many excellent sites.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbyTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice, fresh, food, poor service!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Some of the staff were friendly, but it's quite random, depending on your luck... They have wifi in the restaurant which is great, but it's a bit pricy for what it offers, they even have a "cover charge" which is not a service charge but it adds up to your bill automatically:)
Not everyone speaks English, but there is always someone to help, food is fresh and tasty, especially steaks and salads.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sensible1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A famous icon.. let down”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We came here after multiple recommendations from our private tour guide and also the hotel. while the atmosphere was good and the concept of the meat over the hot coals looked great, the food did not live up to the hype.

We ordered the mix grill for four which had been recommended to us. The meat was tough, overcooked and very fatty. Maybe the steak would have been a better choice.

The atomosphere and the staff were excellent which did make up for the taste.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave-NZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Nazarenas also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Las Nazarenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing