We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere but beware”
Review of Los 36 Billares

Los 36 Billares
Ranked #186 of 6,902 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Centro (Downtown)
Description: Opened in 1894, "Los 36 Billares" is one of the most traditional bars in Buenos Aires and one of the most important centers nationwide pool. Besides billiards, has pool tables and snooker. The cafe has today 11 pool tables, 6 pool tables and 1 snooker with more than 120 years, and a pool table for children. Your billiard room with the presence of world snooker champions and most distinguished Argentine. It also operates a school of billiards and pool, where children and adults enjoy this sport. Los 36 Billares has undoubtedly the most traditional room Buenos Aires Billiards, and according to experts is the best in town. You can also enjoy a coffee or any products from this menu, access dice games, chess, dominoes, backgammon, darts and cards. Many stories of cafes, went through their tables. Many habitues of the Buenos Aires night frequented it. Miguel Angel Bavio Esquiu, Abelardo Arias and Federico Garcia Lorca wanted left their mark. "Los 36 Billares", inhabits the hearts of thousands of locals here, over many years they shared and share their dreams.
Reviewed March 13, 2019 via mobile

Visited this place for lunch
It has a nice atmosphere, well aligned with the Buenos Aires
The food is a bit too oily for us, but tasty
Just beware of the size of plates: they are just huge, the starter would have been enough
So, order your plates one by one, they arrive super fast anyway

The service was attentive, a good place to visit

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank Kalisis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 647 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2019

Reasonably priced menu and quick service. Inside or outside dining. Old building from late 1890's with a billard hall on the lower level popular with locals.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 00GMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2019

Husband and I ordered two pizzas and drinks. It was nice to be able to sit outside, since back home in Canada, it was very cold outside. However, I was so focussed on ensuring that my backpack was secured to the table and so, could not be grabbed by a thief or one of the beggars, and we was tired from touring around in the morning (again, worrying about being robbed on the subway and near the bank machines), that I did not realize that my pizza was not as I ordered: there was no tomato sauce! The cheese was very very salty too. It seemed that they had doubled the cheese and left off the sauce. I ate only 2/3 of the pizza...mostly the cheese since it seemed such a waste to just leave it. I have a bad habit of assuming that a mistake is MY fault, so I kept eating the pizza and assuming that it wasn't supposed to have any sauce on it. When I finally asked the waitress for the menu and realized that they had forgotten the sauce...I just let it go: she seemed fearful that I would blame her. Also, I made the mistake of ordering Moscato, which in Argentina is a sweet wine; in Canada it's a dry and delightful grape. My husband enjoyed his pizza but because of the disappointing experience, I refused to have pizza again during our entire three week trip in BA and Uruguay. Washrooms were clean. Waitress was nice.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TorontoCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2019

Opening hours are 7am to 2am and the staff are ever so friendly, helpful and there is prompt delivery of your order with a "smile". In this Argentinian cafe/bar, which is very large and lively, you can have breakfast, lunch/brunch, dinner and all types of drinks. Having an English menu is helpful. I found the food and drinks (beer and wines) excellent.

Added to this 5G wi-fi permits you to catch up on e-mails etc. as you enjoy the pleasant ambiance of this very popular establishment.

It is ideally located on Ave de Mayo 1271 in Montserrat. Opened in 1894 it is one of the most traditional bars in Buenos Aires. Give it a try!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2018

Very good bar and restaurant near the National Congress and Obilisk. English menu available. Very historic environment with panled walls and paintings, etc. - Service was friendly, but not fast. I had an excellent beef loin ( filet) which was about 11 ounces, with french fries and mushroom sauce, for about 12 U.S dollars. Wine prices were very reasonable especially for the Argentinian wines.....which are quite good. They also feature Argentinian pizza specialties.

Date of visit: December 2018
1  Thank pagmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los 36 Billares also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Los 36 Billares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing