We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Every B&B Host Should Strive to Achieve!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Edificio de los Pavos Reales

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buenos Aires
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
El Edificio de los Pavos Reales
Ranked #52 of 273 Buenos Aires B&B and Inns
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What Every B&B Host Should Strive to Achieve!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Right from the start, with email communication this place seemed good! Kevin was really, really, really helpful with travel plans/ information prior to arrival, and this continued throughout our stay. Every morning, we discussed the days plans with Kevin over a simple, but tasty and plentiful breakfast. We followed his recommendations, and were never disappointed. This host REALLY knows the city!
Nothing was ever an inconvenience for him, including our 3am departure, which necessitated Kevin getting up to arrange our transportation at that hour.
The accommodations were great. The beds were comfy ,the rooms were clean, and there was a sitting room & dining room, as well as an indoor courtyard, available for our use.
Staying here felt very comfortable, just like you were at home.
The B&B is in a working-class neighbourhood, which was nice to experience. The subte is within 2 blocks, and provides great access to central Buenos Aires, and should be experienced, as it is the oldest subway in South America. Judging by the crowds, it is still used extensively by the locals.
We love to walk when visiting new cities, so we walked everywhere from the B&B. A few times we walked through areas that looked a bit "gritty", but none-the-less felt safe, and Kevin can advise you how to use the subte or cabs to navigate the city and avoid these areas, if you want.
Consider this B&B if visiting Buenos Aires.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justwannatravelmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
95
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The apartment itself is a beautiful building and has been very nicely done up by the owner Kevin. We had a 2 room suite which gave lots of space, the only slight downside of this room is the lack of en suite facilities which are across the hallway, however the amount of space you get in this room more than outweighs this minor inconvenience.

The location is excellent. While it might not have the glut of tourist attractions of Palermo or San Telmo it has a lovely feel of staying in "real" BA and has several good restaurants and cafes nearby if you are prepared to look beyond just what the guidebook offers you. It is also perfectly located 2 blocks from the subway making it ideal for getting around the city.

Lastly Kevin as a host is great, he is relaxed, easy to chat to and most importantly full of ideas, hints and tips to help you make the most of your time in the city. His daily advice is dished out over a lovely breakfast of fresh fruit and local pastries every morning.

If you only had 1 or 2 nights in the city then an area with everything on your doorstep might suit but to see the real BA and be perfectly located to see the whole city, I recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenacious_Doug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

What a find!!! We stayed twice for a total of 4 nights and had a wonderful time on all counts. It was a real pleasure to stay in this heritage building in Kevin and Diego's beautifully decorated Art Deco apartment. Kevin's warm,thoughtful hospitality was second to none, from our late night arrival, to invaluable guidance to the cultural, architectural, tango and culinary delights of Buenos Aires (enhanced by Kevin's friend Andrea's tour of her beloved city--not to be missed!), delicious breakfasts and incredibly generous help with finding medical assistance. We so enjoyed this home away from home that we tried to book more nights but the rooms were already reserved. Not to worry--Kevin recommended SOCO Buenos Aires a small boutique hotel which of course turned out to be charming, super friendly and very well located. El Edificio gets our GOLDEN PEACOCK AWARD!

Room Tip: Both rooms are really lovely however the one off the courtyard, while smaller, is quieter, the bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the end of February, 2012, and were delighted with our choice. Only mildly impressive on the exterior, the suite of rooms is jaw-dropping with charm. 15 foot ceilings, 12 foot doorways, original (100 years) wood moldings, antique furnishings, but modern bathrooms. Save for the latter, it's a step back in time to old, chic Buenos Aires. When you combine the lovely surroundings and yummy breakfasts with the friendly and knowledgeable hosts, Kevin and Diego, this is THE place to stay in BA unless, of course, you really dig faceless hotel rooms. The immediate neighborhood has everything from McDonalds to upscale restaurants (even, of all things, a Japanese sushi bar), and the easy-to-use subway is just a block away. The Once district location was centrally enough located that we walked to most of our destinations (but then, we really like walking cities). If you're not into walking, there are taxis galore and buses right out the front door. We made good use of the relaxing interior courtyard and the excellent wifi. My wife and I can't say enough good things about El Edificio and its great hosts. Do yourselves a favor and book here. You'll be grinning just like us.

Room Tip: We thought the courtyard room, with ensuite bath, was the more charming, but the larger front suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Absolutely beautiful appartment, clean, comfortable and unique. Excellent breakfast and knowledgable host. Right next to the Subte (metro) so easy to get into the centre of town and back. We only stayed three nights and walked over to Palermo once and got taxis the other times which cost about £6 so reasonable price. Not much to do in the immediate area though so you do really need to travel out for site-seeing/dinner (although there is a good pizza place just opposite). The terrace is nice too and the first evening as we were tired after the flight we got a bottle of wine and some snacks and just sat outsite before getting an early night.

Room Tip: We had the room at the front of the appartment on the busy main road which could have be quite noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnabellaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

We just stayed here for 4 nights in January 2012 at the beginning and end of our travels throughout Patagonia - Kevin was a super helfpul and helpful host, the room and entire place were clean, neat and made us feel we were living in luxury 100 years ago! We would definitely stay here and recommend it highly to our friends and family. With Kevin's tips and the close location to subte we were able to see a lot of BA in just a few days we had!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hechtel
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights with Kevin and Diego in the patio room and really loved it. The best breakfast we had in Argentina, vey helpfull owners with a lot of tips for exploring BA and a cosy place to stay. The B&B is good situated close to the subway from where you can easy visit all the different places.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Palermitano Hotel
Palermitano Hotel
#111 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
Dazzler Recoleta
#122 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
San Telmo
Circus Hostel & Hotel
Circus Hostel & Hotel
#61 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
Howard Johnson Inn Palermo
#231 of 450 in Buenos Aires
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#8 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#1 of 450 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Edificio de los Pavos Reales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Edificio de los Pavos Reales

Property: El Edificio de los Pavos Reales
Address: Avenida Rivadavia 3230 | Depto. 2, Buenos Aires C1203AAR, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 273 B&Bs / Inns in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1912 by the famed Italian architect Virginio Colombo, the “Edificio de los Pavos Reales” is an historic landmark building that employs the Art Nouveau style with a distinctive Venetian flair. The Guest Accommodations (two-room suite with private balcony) are exquisitely furnished with antiques of the period, giving this place a definite "wow" factor that does not disappoint. Kevin/Diego speak English/Spanish fluently and are a tremendous source for planning your excursions. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing