We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Personable in Palermo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Glu Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Glu Hotel
Ranked #5 of 453 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
NY, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Personable in Palermo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Loved the Glu. Great location near a slew of wonderful, unpretentious restaurants and cafes/bars. The subway is a bit of a hike but do-able. Our room was spacious, clean and quiet. We were on the back on the 2nd floor and we had a small balcony. The bathroom with a bidet but no tub, was smallish and had a good shower. Minor floor flooding with a slow drain but no biggie. Breakfast, served in the lobby area, was good. Hard boiled eggs and continental fare. All of this is important but what really takes the Glu into excellence is the service of everyone on the front desk. Joanna, Aixa, Luciano and Giuliano are all welcoming, resourceful, warm, efficient and,unfailingly kind and helpful. We recommend the Glu without hesitation and would return there, in a heartbeat, if ever we are lucky enough to revisit BA.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    95
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
89
376
41
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Glu is a boutique hotel that I always stay in Buenos Aires. There must be no more than 16 rooms in a 4 floors building. The rooms are spacious, big bed, clean and nice sheets. Good service, but there is no fitness center or swimming pool.

The neighborhood has a lot of restaurants and nightlife.

Room Tip: Prefer to stay on the room not facing the street because of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We started our South America journey at this boutique hotel. From the moment that we arrived, the staff was incredibly helpful. They took the initiative and offered advice on what to see and do in B.A. They made coffee for us everytime we passed through the lobby, which we enjoyed. The room was very roomy and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit small, but who goes to Buenos Aires to hang out in the hotel bathroom? As the other reviewers note, there wasn't an on-site workout room. The gym they recommended several blocks away worked out fine, although our inability to speak Spanish was more of an issue there. We enjoyed meeting the other hotel guests at breakfast (most of whom were American), all of whom seemed impressed with the hotel. It would have been nice if there had been a wine hour to meet the other guests. We especially enjoyed the neighborhood. We always felt safe and there was a friendly vibe. Later in our trip we stayed in Recoleta, but found that we were still cabbing it back to Palermo Soho for eating and drinking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuysChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just stayed at Torrecillas…what a mistake. One block down was The Glu where I had stayed just a few months ago. Looking at the people eating breakfast and the memories of the room, the room staff, the front desk telling guests what they had for breakfast and telling them that they would take it to their rooms at no extra cost. The way that all is taken care of…this is why they get the best rating. Make sure you make the reservations ahead of time…they will fill up quickly and once you stay, you will wish they had room for you.
This is a great hotel. Attentive and so roomy. You will wish that other countries had hotels like this boutique hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2Travel4Funk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American in Bogota
Level Contributor
360 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

When going to BA you have to know what neighborhood you want to be in. I didn't want to be in Puerto Madero because I thought it would be to corporate in nature and I didn't want Recoleta because it seemed like it would be a lot of high rises and not as much charm and cute shopping as Palermo. And in the end, I was very happy staying in Palermo Soho. The Glu is very close to lots of dining and boutique shopping alternatives and the neighborhood is mostly townhouses, though like all of BA there is plenty of traffic. We taxi'd all over town without a problem and distances from one place to another didn't seem extraordinary to me.

I think the service was as good as at any hotel I've ever stayed in - everyone on staff is universally friendly, eager to help, well versed in dining and entertainment options and just generally prepared for whatever you toss their way. Additionally, because the hotel is so small you always feel like their #1 priority. This is really a huge plus when traveling abroad and in many respects, I believe far more important than the rooms themselves. We were universally happy with all their dining recommendations and the tango show they arranged for us.

We traveled with two small children (ages 3 and 5) and stayed in the largest suite of the hotel (kids on a sofa bed) which was spacious (except for the bathroom which was a tad cramped) and the accomodations and finishings were fine - not the fanciest I've ever stayed in, but certainly comfortable and attractive and newish. We had no street noise (there was even a fire across the street one night and we didn't hear a thing!) I wasn't wow'd by the daily breakfast (it's a very light continental breakfast that does not change daily so after 7 days we were really tired of it.) Also, if you are a lobby/hotel bar/restaurant person or make lots of use of facilities at hotels like a gym, spa or pool, this is probably not your best choice, because the common spaces are fairly small. You pretty much have your room and all that lovely Buenos Aires culture out there waiting for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiquiMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for three nights with friends. Check in was fantastic, sat down with receiptionist who gave recommendations, map ect.The staff were extremely helpful during our stay. Will highly recommend to other friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJCMaclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Glu Hotel in early August and loved it! They helped organise a pick-up from the airport (make sure you have enough pesos) and welcomed us with complimentary Quillmes cervezas!

The standard of the accommodation was first-class: spacious rooms, balcony, big bathrooms with great shower - and generally very funky and sleek decor throughout. The breakfasts were ample with great cafe con leche. The staff were always very helpful and spoke great English. ALways happy to recommend good restaurants, sights, transport options, etc. Special thanks to Aixa for your help during out stay!

Finally the location is awesome: right in the heart of Palermo Soho within throwing distance of the best shops, bars, and restuarants in Buenos Aires. An excellent boutique hotel option within one of South America's mega-cities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pedro_Gonzales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Palermo
Mine Hotel Boutique
Mine Hotel Boutique
#4 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Palermo
Miravida Soho Hotel and Wine Bar
Miravida Soho Hotel and Wine Bar
#1 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 846 reviews
Palermo
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
Fierro Hotel Buenos Aires
#3 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palermo
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
Duque Hotel Boutique & Spa
#12 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Retiro
Casa Calma Hotel
Casa Calma Hotel
#6 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,157 reviews
Recoleta
Alvear Palace Hotel
Alvear Palace Hotel
#2 of 453 in Buenos Aires
5.0 of 5 stars 1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Glu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Glu Hotel

Property: The Glu Hotel
Address: Godoy Cruz 1733, Buenos Aires C1414CYK, Argentina
Phone Number:
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Palermo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Buenos Aires
#7 Romantic Hotel in Buenos Aires
#34 Business Hotel in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Glu Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glu Hotel is an intimate and serene boutique hotel in the heart of Palermo Soho. The Glu Hotel is a fine attribute of minimalism style and sumptuousness, combining a luxury and tranquil setting. Facilities include The Courtyard and The Terrace where a variety of drinks, cocktails and wines are served within a relaxing scenery located in the heart of the city. A true escape for those in search of tranquility. Amenities & Services: King-sized bed Fine linen Wide rainfall shower 32-inch flat-screen LCD TV DVD player Coffeemaker and microwave Crockery and glassware Mini-bar Heating (individually controlled in each room) Air conditioning Boutique wine selection Surround music system La€™ Occitane amenities Wireless Internet and high speed internet access Safe deposite box (can accommodate a laptop) Desk Hairdryer Robes and slippers ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Glu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glu Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing