We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very run-down room and false advertising”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
Ranked #302 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very run-down room and false advertising”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This residence advertizes a swimming pool, yet when we asked for instructions where to find it, we were told that it is only for the private apartments. When pressed, the clerk said that it was only for people staying in deluxe apartments costing 4 times the rate we were paying per night, False advertising!

The owners seem to have given up on the rooms rented here. Bathroom hooks were hanging off the wall by a thread and when I tried to hang a towel, it fell with a large lump of concrete from the wall with it. Lightbulbs needed changing, sheets had holes in them. The tiny elevator up could only take one person at a time with luggage.

The shower stall is 2" x 2" and very difficult to get into with a one foot wide opening. The floor tiles are not sealed and are thus filthy. The maids will only change the linens every 3 days regardless of a bath mat being filthy.

A parking lot across the street provides a constant beeping noise, which is irritating. The traffic noise from buses and sirens is also very loud here.

Internet is promised but the wifi signal was so weak that on the 4th floor we couldn't get it. We did pick up other wifi signals but intermittently. Do not count on using internet here.

On the positive side, the air conditioning worked - a must in BA's humid hot summer. The price per night was inexpensive; we paid $40. A small kitchenette allows one to save money on some meals although the kettle leaked and the tiny pot provided did not allow for much cooking. You do your own dishes here which is often as there is only two of everything. A nice sized balcony was useful after the sun disappeared at noon. Picking up a wifi internet signal was easier outside. There was a variety of TV channels in a few different languages.

A deli is found on the same block and small food stores are also nearby so you can put some things in the fridge and have breakfast in. The main shopping area (Florida street), the port/water, the obelisk, metro and downtown shopping on Santa Fé are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KikouOttawa_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaVinciResidence, Manager at Leonardo Da Vinci Residence, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
They want their money back, so they are saying all these kind of things.
They rented for only one night and since they arrived, they "threatened" me by saying that if they liked the department, they would rented it for more nights. They stayed for 2 or 3 nights longer (I can not remember)
My question is: If they had such a hard time at the hotel, their stay was unbearable, Why did they stayed longer? why haven´t they said something at the reception?
There are so many hotels in Buenos Aires and so cute and beautiful! They should have gone! Instead they stayed. Absolutely nothing was holding them at the hotel...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    31
    18
    17
    8
See reviews for
14
38
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cosmopolita
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

We went twice (at the beginning and end of a trip in Argentina): first time, the appartment they gave us was not even alike to none of the pictures. Very disappointing. I asked a change and they denied. So, I asked which would be our place for our next time. So they showed an appartment that would be similar to the one we would have next time. When we arrived the second time, the appartment was as one of the pictures BUT: 10 years older... The curtains were dirty, the bathroom had patches on the wall and again: not friendly staff. The location of the Residence is great but I would not recommend it for the price they asked.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalenaCosmopolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Buenos Aires hotels

São Paulo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Do not believe in photos that show the Web. When we arrive at the hotel, apartment was on maintenance. Washrooms, there was an area where they could share people from other rooms. Privacy zero. Supervision in Argentina should be none to have a hotel this working. The elevator seemed he would fall. In short, unfortunate

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACVBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Dark, gloomy place-- looks nothing like the pictures on the website. Tiny elevator that was on the verge of breaking. Areas that were pictured on the site were dusty and closed off with old books and junk. The shower took 20 minutes to get hot... we literally left the water running between people to avoid the wait. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tols3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2009

I discovered the Da Vinci Residence in Internet. It looked like a great place to stay because of its location, cost, and for what it looked like in the website´s photos: a renovated french-style building typical of Buenos Aires' affluent neighborhoods with a great and elegant reception plus low-cost apartments of all kinds and sizes to choose from. Sometime ago, I booked one apartment for my mother, in which she had a good stay, but at her return she warned me about the dingy look of the entrance corridors, of the fact that you never went through that celebrated reception in your way to your apartment, and it can only be accesed through a separate door on the street and well, a couple more things that she found strange but, all in all, bearable.

Since my mother´s experience at the Da Vinci Residence turned out to be average I chose it for my stay in Buenos Aires over renting an apartment through one of the numerous rental agencies there. Anyway, the night we arrived with my girlfriend there, we got immediately depressed by how rundown the place was, no matter that we had been told about it. The night doorman/concierge, to be fair, was very kind and helpful, but badly dressed (so it is the other concierge). The apartment he showed us to was in terrible shape, the carpet worn and dirty, its walls scratched and peeled off in places. It had plenty of mirrors so it looked like a seedy motel. Only the bathroom, spacious and clean, the little kitchen and the balcony passed the test. Anyway, we went to sleep in a sad and disillusioned mood, with the intention of making a complaint at the reception staff and see if they could change us to another apartrment, which we did the next morning. The woman we spoke to didn't look us in the eye once, was not friendly at all, but in the end she got us changed to another apartment, much better than the first one, although with the same profusion of motel-like mirrors and strange details of its own, like a couple of exposed steel beams in the ceiling, that one would say was a cheap but unaesthetic solution to some serious structural problems. Oh, and both elevators are scary at first, but don´t worry. Old, loud and all, they still work!

On the positive side, the bedroom was spacious, and the balcony and its wooden deck was charming. Not all the reception staff is unfriendly, although they could be a lot kinder. They will help you make reservations for city tours and stuff like that; the daily change of towels and bed clothing, the making of the bed and cleaning (even if not very thorough) is a welcomed service; the free broadband Internet connection in the room works very well (be sure you bring your laptop, and they will give you the Ethernet cable), and well, for 60 bucks a night for a one-bedroom apartment in a very good location, the Da Vinci residence is a option worth of consideration.

  • Liked — Location, the balcony, spacious room, good broadband Internet
  • Disliked — Rundown entrance and common areas, unfriendly staff, street noise.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysticalman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2008

My wife and I had the opportunity to stay in the Da Vinci Residence after a recommendation from another traveler. My wife was a bit pickier and didn't enjoy this as much as Casa Palermitano although I did.

Pros:
Multilingual
Great location
Nice balcony
Helpful staff
Spacious and clean room with kitchen option

Cons:
Little on the loud side
No free internet

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank plan_b_adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I am very disappointed with the Da Vinci Residence. I made contact by telephone, made a reservation and waited for the e-mail with payment instructions. On the next morning, since the e-mail was not sent, I called the hotel again and, surprise, there was no reservation and no vacancy.
By the way, they say their operators can help you in Spanish, English, Italian, Russian and German, but neither portuguese, nor english was available when i called.
So, I never stayed in this hotel. Maybe for the best!

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
Thank Re_Fe_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buenos Aires hotels
Retiro
Hotel Impala
Hotel Impala
#211 of 445 in Buenos Aires
384 reviews
Retiro
Suipacha Suites
Suipacha Suites
#338 of 445 in Buenos Aires
203 reviews
Montserrat
Loft & Arte Apart Boutique
Loft & Arte Apart Boutique
#248 of 445 in Buenos Aires
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Retiro
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#196 of 445 in Buenos Aires
202 reviews
Montserrat
Hotel Cuatro Reyes
Hotel Cuatro Reyes
#260 of 445 in Buenos Aires
189 reviews
Retiro
Hotel Sheltown
Hotel Sheltown
#281 of 445 in Buenos Aires
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Da Vinci Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Da Vinci Residence

Property: Leonardo Da Vinci Residence
Address: Libertad 1224 | Recoleta, Buenos Aires, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Capital Federal District > Buenos Aires > Retiro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 445 Hotels in Buenos Aires
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Da Vinci Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leonardo da Vinci Residence is a petit hotel ideally located in the exclusive neighborhood of Recoleta, minutes away from cultural happenings, world-class shopping and historical sites. Our building, an elegant example of XIX century French architecture, is completely remodeled and has all the conditions to offer personalized attention, ideal for long term stays. It is home to, among other boutiques, the Leonardo da Vinci Art Gallery, specialized in European painting, which has been in the market for more than 20 years.Please, contact us for any further information you might need. Our operators will help you in Spanish, English, Italian, Russian and German. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Leonardo Da Vinci Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leonardo Da Vinci Residence Hotel Buenos Aires

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing