We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was the highlight”
Review of Restaurante Oviedo

Restaurante Oviedo
Ranked #259 of 6,902 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Reviewed January 13, 2018

The food was good but not as exceptional as I thought it would be. We ordered cheviche which had seen better days but the squid with mushrooms was excellent. The sea bream was served rare and I didn't know if this is the way its consumed here in BA. But I do eat sashimi so it was fine. The dessert cataplana crema was exquisite. But the highlight of the dinner experience was our waiter. In spite of language challenges his service was warm, intuitive and very professional. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Samotisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

I’ve been going to this restaurant for years and years, now leaving out the the country, every time I come back it is the MUST GO stop for lunch or dinner. Food always superb

Date of visit: December 2017
1  Thank MarkGaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2017

This is a very classic restaurant with a great selection of meat and fish. They are known for their Suckling Pig (Cocinillo) which is out of sight, falling of the bone tender and moist. You will probably not see it on the menu but they almost always have it unless they have run out so ask for it. It is out of sight. We have gone multiple times over the past several years and it has always been great.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Oviedo is a traditional restaurant that offers a large menu good food and with good ambiance . However the presence of the past chef is very much noticed. Service is ok but far from friendly. Good wine options too!

Date of visit: October 2017
1  Thank 179patriciav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

restaurant was recommended to us by hotel concierge. the level of indifference of the staff and owner started as soon as we entered. no greeting, the waiter did not acknowledge us as he handed us the menu. the couvert was a joke. a few pieces of stale bread and two little pieces of some pudding. my wife ordered a fish which was tasteless and the i ordered one of the house specialties, pasta with a bolognese sauce. i was able to find two tiny morsels of meat in the sauce. after paying the check, with the with the waiter not acknowledging his tip, we got up to leave. we asked the owner who was at the door to get us a taxi. he said impossible, it takes twenty minutes. we walked out and got a taxi on the street. if you want poor treatment and tasteless food, oviedo is for you.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Oviedo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Restaurante Oviedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing