We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For me the best fish restaurant in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oviedo

Oviedo
Ranked #111 of 4,733 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“For me the best fish restaurant in Buenos Aires”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

As my son as rented a flat in this area, some months ago, we met for lunch on April 10th, (that day we had a genera strike in Argentina). We decided to try this place, which I had heard very often, but never have eaten before.

The place is very nice, service is perfect, very well trained which is not often seen in Buenos Aires.
We share a Cebiche, which came with guacamole, very tasteful. My son choose a Trucha with seats, (trout with fresh mushrooms) and I decided to have "Merluza con setas y mejillones", (hake with mussels and mushrooms), both dishes very outstanding. As a dessert we share a Pavlova. This restaurant has a well furnished wine list, so we choose a Rose, that was suggested by the waiter. Prices are more the correct for a restaurant like this as we pay 90 USD for both including tip ( exchange rate $11,00 for a american dollar)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robyferrari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    277
    97
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Traditional restaurant in old Palermo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Oviedo is a very good restaurant for seafood and fish in BA were you can go and will not be disapointed for sure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good but not outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Went following the claim it's one of the best in South America. While certainly good, and the ceviche was very good, I did not think it was amazing. However, I thought it was amazing value for money, so I was surprised at a previous reviewer saying it was expensive. Given the mess in the economy, maybe it depends on the exchange rate used.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OttawaCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant Fish Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

This is an expensive and sophiticated restaurant. Well worth it you want a fantastic choice of fish cooked in the style you choose and an excellent wine list. We have been visitng Buenos Aires for four years and go to this restaurant on every trip.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shelley476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
509 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 512 helpful votes
“By far our finest meal anywhere in Argentina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We decided to go to Oviedo based on the excellent reviews and the cuisine in which it specializes. We were a bit tired of parillas and totally beef-oriented places, and wanted something with more emphasis on fish and fine cuisine in general. We were not disappointed in the slightest. Oviedo exceeded our expectations. The restaurant itself is small, but beautifully appointed. It is family-owned and run, and while we were there, the patriarch owner was present, keeping a watchful eye on all the tables to ensure that every guest received the finest service. Our particular server was very helpful, and all his suggestions and recommendations were excellent. We had two appetizers, which we shared. First, an arugala salad with palmitos (hearts of palm) that was just exquisite--the best palmitos we've had in South America, which is saying something; and second, incredibly delicious house-made ravioli with fresh salmon filling. For main courses, I had melt-in-your-mouth rack of lamb rib chops, while my wife enjoyed beautifully grilled sea trout. For dessert, we had traditional Argentine flan de dulce de leche. The wine was a really superb Argentine Pinot Noir, which could easily hold its own against the best from California or Oregon. Highest possible recommendation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oviedo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Oviedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing