We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food and service”
Review of Oviedo

Oviedo
Ranked #104 of 4,847 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and service”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Exceptional food and wine selection. The service is beyond exceptional and and unwavering commitment to please you. We are going back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MS23CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    281
    98
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A little bit of Spain in Argentina”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

It's one of the top 50 restaurants in South America and they weren't kidding. Excellent and inventive food with a wine list that should be the envy of many a Michelin starred restaurant. The restaurant itself is art deco and the whole evening a wonderful experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraBruxelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Overrated/disappointing”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Extremely disappointed with this restaurant given I took a group of friends here because I heard wonderful things about it. Plenty of different dishes were ordered in order to get a good feel of Oviedo's reputation.We were all disappointed with the quality of the food and most likely would never come back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gkm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Old world charm and excellent food and service”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

When you enter it`s a timewarp experience, 100 years ago this is what it must have looked like in a top tier restaurant.

The food is Spanish inspired, and VERY good, and the winelist is incredible, they have a winecellar with pretty much everything you can think of, we had a POESIA, from 2009 which really complimented our meal, and which had been kept at the exact temperature of 15 degr C.

And best of all was the service, the place was packed, but we got truly great service, so I really recommend you try it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
189 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Second visit in five years. Quality and ambience still great.”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We visited Buenos Aires after a five year absence in December, and returned to this excellent classic seafood restaurant in the center of town. We weren't disappointed, as the food, ambience and service are still excellent. And of course the prices are incredibly cheap for American visitors using local currency converted on the black market. (Take cash when traveling in Argentina.)

Dine late if you want to be in the "scene". The restaurant only comes alive with locals at 9 p.m.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oviedo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Oviedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing