We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is great but attitude issues here. Top quality fish.”
Review of Oviedo

Oviedo
Ranked #104 of 4,926 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Recoleta
northwood
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Food is great but attitude issues here. Top quality fish.”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

It is sad that a restaurant with such good food gets such bad ratings and is positioned way down the list in TA. All the top hotels recommend this place as being one of the best as do most of the good food writers but my own view is the attitude of the manager, copied by the staff, let's the place down.

All the fish and courses that we had were excellent, so was the wine.

However when you arrive you are " greeted" by a miserable disinterested moustachioed unsmiling " headmaster" who shows you to your table and then disappears. He is offhand and not interested in the foreign customers and spends his time talking to the locals albeit still unsmiling like a sergeant major.

He is clearly out of date.

His attitude seems to be copied by the waiters, who are totally fraught and stressed by him and not relaxed. They offer a professional but stiff service.

It is sad as this place should be well into the top twenty for the quality of the food. Sad as it is a lovely room, lots of excellent art, and busy.

Change the manager and loosen up the staff! It's great here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    284
    100
    39
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“THE place for Seafood in Buenos Aires”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After 7 years we returned to the Oviedo last week and were again not disappointed. In Buenos Aires you eat meat they say. Well if you feel like seafood then you go to the Oviedo. The food was excellent and the fish selection is a bit limited as they do not freeze anything. All is freshly delivered on the day and one can taste the difference. I had the Seabass and it tasted really great, cooked to perfection. Also the exhaustive wine list deserves a mention. You can find an almost complete overview of Argentine wines here.
The Oviedo can get quite full especially on weekends, so a reservation is advisable.
We will definitely return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Manfred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“No”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Too fat, too many ingredients in the same plate, and, wich is the worst, too much fat dressing. I left the restaurant with a stomacheache.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Special menu of 6 courses including wine for USD130 each , so a bit pricey but eh it was NYE. Great tradional place. The service we received was also very good too.

This place does hark back to the style of a 1930s French high style restaurant. Advertises itself as a Spanish restaurant but I would say more Italian / French in style. Actually probably pure argentine!

I will definitely recommend to come here if you are looking for something really doesn't exist in Europe anymore.

The food was well prepared and delicious. The only dish slightly under par was the pork shoulder. Other than that no complaints.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food- poor service”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went to Oviedo with great anticipation since the reviews were so strong.

The food was excellent- risotto with squid ink, fish with mushrooms and mussels, grilled octopus ... tremendous.

The service was very poor. I had to literally stand up out of my chair and wave my arms to get a server to come by on a few occasions. No after-dinner service at all- not even an offer for coffee. Very strange and I won't go back- lots of other choices with good food and good service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oviedo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Oviedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing