We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food- poor service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oviedo

Oviedo
Ranked #112 of 4,660 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Recoleta
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food- poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Went to Oviedo with great anticipation since the reviews were so strong.

The food was excellent- risotto with squid ink, fish with mushrooms and mussels, grilled octopus ... tremendous.

The service was very poor. I had to literally stand up out of my chair and wave my arms to get a server to come by on a few occasions. No after-dinner service at all- not even an offer for coffee. Very strange and I won't go back- lots of other choices with good food and good service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    273
    96
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Deliciousness”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The food was really delicious and tasty-we had the grilled octopus appetizer and the squid ink risotto and special (orange fish with gnocchi) and everything was awesome. The service was attentive although we did get seated towards the back away from the main dining room which was a little less than ideal. Pretty decent value for such good food overall as well. Definitely some of the better food we had in BA.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank somekg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great group dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of about 10 and had a great meal. We tried about 5 of the appetizers (2-3 orders per). The octopus was awesome. The fish dishes were also very good. A good break from steak. Would not call this place Peruvian at all, they had 1 dish that was ceviche. But all the food was very tasty.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank MLRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem serving fantastic seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Divine squid ink risotto with perfecrly fried calamari to provide texture. Everything cooked perfectly and expertly seasoned. Great old school service to boot.

Helpful?
Thank sbeerling
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Botched reservation, pomposity incarnate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

They took our reservation reluctantly, in marginal English that made one pause. Of course there was no sign of our reservation when he arrived. The maître de pretended he had it but then surveyed the tables. There were many available but he espied the most ill-favored. He pretended to clean the not immaculate table closest to the door and to the swinging door of the kitchen. Pretension like this should not be rewarded. We respectfully declined and left for less pretentious fare.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulreidny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oviedo also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to Oviedo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing