We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
  
Ways to Experience Say Hueque Argentina Journeys
from $32.30
More Info
from $99.00
More Info
from $150.00
More Info
from $86.00
More Info
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
93
10
2
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
93
10
2
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews torres del paine iguazu falls puerto natales punta arenas chilli local travel day trip tour company australis cruise penguin island favorite hotel favorite excursion fitz roy custom trip beagle channel kau yatun orso
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 111 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2019

What a wonderful trip! Flew from Newark NJ to Buenos Aires and on to Ushuaia (end of the world). Excellent trip on the ship Australis from Ushuaia to Punta Arenas, Chile. Can not say enough about the ship and it's staff, just wonderful. After the cruise flew to Santiago Chile and on to Buenos Aires, caught the ferry to Colonia del Sacramento, Urugay. Lovely, relaxing few days in Colonia. If you are in the Buenos Aires area it's not to be missed! Only a little over an hour by ferry. It can easily be a day trip. Say Hueque as usual planned all aspects of our trip and everything went off without a hitch. I would not a plan a trip to South America without the help and expertise of Say Hueque. They make everything so easy!

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank Sue V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Say_Hueque_Argentina, Marketing at Say Hueque Argentina Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Sue,

It fills my heart with joy to hear what a great time you had here and also that we could be part of it! You're so right about doing an express visit to Uruguay, definitely worth it!

Regarding the Patagonian views, they just leave you speechless, right? I'm glad you enjoyed your trip on the Australis and that the service was attentive.

We really look forward to seeing you sometime soon to explore what is left!

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with us.

Best regards,

Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

I did a seven day private tour of Buenos Aires, Perrito Moreno glacier and Iguazu Falls. I highly recommend Say Hueque. They were very quick and responsive when I made inquiries into setting up an itinerary and kept me up to date and coordinated on everything.
My highest praise goes to Cecilia, our guide in Buenos Aires. She greeted us at the airport with a bottle of her favorite Malbec wine and alfajores. She took us on a half day city tour of Buenos Aires. Her info on the history and people was fantastic. She took us to her favorite empanada stand and, even though they weren't open yet for the day's business, she was able to get us empanadas and some Argentinian beer.

Say Hueque was very helpful when one of our flights was cancelled at the last minute.
Overall fantastic job and I would recommend them to friends and family

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Terri N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Say_Hueque_Argentina, Marketing at Say Hueque Argentina Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Terri,

Thank you for taking the time to share this information with us. We are excited to hear that your travel host did well and satisfied your expectations and also that you had a great time in Argentina.

Ceci is really nice and she has a special touch communicating passionately with people about Argentina's history and culture.

Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you sometime soon the discover the rest of South America with us!

Best regards,

Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2019 via mobile

Say Hueque arranged a 15-day itinerary for my husband and I in Patagonia (Argentina and Chile) and they were professional, responsive and well-connected! We worked with Karen through email and she set up all our transport, hotels, day tours, and most importantly, the details of our W trek in Torres Del Paine national park. When we arrived we would have bus or tour vouchers waiting for us and never once had an issue. The price is more than we would have paid on our own but well worth the convenience and peace of mind with everything pre-arranged. We enjoyed all aspects of the two weeks, including time in ElChalten hiking Mt. Fitzroy on our own, a guided tour to Perrito Moreno glacier, the amazing W trek (with free upgrade one night to the hotel Torres!), and several outings in Ushuaia. We picked the mid-range accommodations and were satisfied with comfortable places that had hot water, breakfast, and helpful staff. Would definitely recommend Say Hueque, we were impressed with their service and value!

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank 210robinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Say_Hueque_Argentina, Marketing at Say Hueque Argentina Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2019

Dear 210robinh,

Thanks for taking the time to share this experience with us and the Travel Advisor community. It really means a lot to us. Also, I am excited to hear that you enjoyed your Patagonia trip with all its adventures.

I am happy to hear that everything went as expected and that you'd be eager to recommend us! We really make a daily effort to provide a great service and offer quality experiences for our passengers and looks like we achieved our goals with you and your husband.

We hope you'll keep us in mind for the next time to decide to come South, there is still plenty to see!

Best regards,

Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2019

We have just returned from a three week trip (Feb 27 through March 18) arranged by Say Hueque. We highly recommend this company.

Our itinerary:

3 nights Santiago - Orly Hotel
3 nights Torres del Paines - Patagonia Camp
4 nights Fjords of Tierra del Fuego - Ventus Australis Cruise
2 nights Ushuaia - Fueguino Hotel
2 nights El Calafate - El Calafate Parque Hotel
2 nights Iguazu - La Cantera Hotel
3 nights Buenos Aires - L'Hotel

Say Hueque requested specific feedback on certain things by email - here are the answers we gave them.

1. We chose to start with Say Hueque because of other good reviews on TripAdvisor. This has become our first stop in identifying local travel agents for travel outside of North America and Europe. We are experienced independent travelers, but we have also traveled with small group tours in certain countries where the language and customs might be barriers (India, China, Southeast Asia, Turkey, Morocco). For everything in between, we prefer to arrange a customized and private travel experience with local travel agency experts (we had excellent experiences with Zagreb Tours in Croatia, and Icon/Rhino Africa in Capetown). We continued working with Say Hueque because of the prompt and responsive communication after the initial inquiry.

2. The booking process with our Travel Advisor (Agustin Orso) was easy. Agustin was prompt to adjust the itinerary as often as needed. He initiated telephone communication to fully understand our needs and made great suggestions. Agustin seemed very knowledgeable and intuitive, and in one case we should have listened more carefully to his recommendations.

3. Our Favorite hotel was Patagonia Camp. This was a delightful surprise! The “standard” yurt was more luxurious than any of the other hotel accommodations on this trip, the setting is beautiful, and the staff hospitality and dining is superb.

There is a “TIE” for our Least Favorite - Fueguino Hotel in Ushuaia AND Calafate Parque Hotel in El Calafate, simply because of the lack of room ventilation (i.e., no climate control, but also zero fresh air exchange vents built into the rooms). Perhaps this is standard in Argentina, but it is different from our experience in other countries. We were in west-facing rooms with strong afternoon sun. Because of the early disembarkation from the cruise, we accepted an available ground floor street facing room in Ushuaia, and could not leave the windows open. Both of these hotels are “new-ish” and in nice condition otherwise, so it is puzzling why they are constructed without room ventilation.

Note: L’Hotel in Buenos Aires had the most basic (and somewhat disappointing) breakfast on this trip, and the assigned room was okay, but not “superior” in any way. We liked the location very much.

4. We had multiple Favorite Excursions — really, we can’t pick just one! In order of travel:
Santiago — Full Day City Tour. Excellent presentation of the city, local culture, and history. We especially appreciated the open and engaging conversations with our guide, Karin, and our driver, Manuel.
Casablanca Valley — Matetic Winery and Lunch. We have been to winery tours in France, Italy and South Africa, and we are very familiar with many wineries in Northern California. This was our first “bio / ecologic” winery and it was sufficiently different from others we have seen. Beautiful setting, excellent wines, great restaurant!
Patagonia Camp — First day Mirador hikes. Challenging hikes lead to rewarding vistas! Thoughtfully arranged mid-day picnic lunch, with a surprise visit from a hungry armadillo scavenging for crumbs. That part was truly memorable!
Australis Cruise — Hiking excursion to Pia Glacier and a relaxing afternoon sipping cocktails cruising through Glacier Alley. Actually, all of the mid-level hiking excursions on this cruise were extremely rewarding in terms of scenery. Our guide, Helene, on the Wulaia Bay excursion was particularly informative and fun.
Buenos Aires — Full Day City Tour. Again, we experienced an excellent presentation of the city, local culture, and history. Our guide, Agostina, was energetic and knowledgeable, and made sure we saw virtually every part of the city. She was really helpful in picking up our performance tickets at Teatro Colon.
Buenos Aires — Wine Discovery evening. We really enjoyed the intimate setting of this wine tasting event. The hosts, Bertie and Aby create a one-of-a-kind wine tasting evening — the bonus for us was Aby’s delicious food pairings and Bertie’s down to earth ability to address all kinds of wine and food related questions.

5. The local representatives of Say Hueque (external vendors) all provided great private guides. We felt lucky to have Karin and Manuel (Akorn) in Santiago; Adrian (Ecoiguazu Turismo) in Iguazu; Agostina (Say Hueque) and our driver, Ari L. (Toscana) in Buenos Aires.

6. There were only two itinerary planning items that disappointed and did not fully meet our expectations. We must take some responsibility for this, but still...

First, Ushuaia is a destination we could have completely skipped. It was certainly our idea to stop in Ushuaia after the cruise, and our decision to spend two nights there, but we would have appreciated much stronger input on the advisability of doing that. The scenery in the National Park is frankly quite ordinary, and disappoints coming after the gorgeous scenery and hikes we enjoyed in Chilean Patagonia (Patagonia Camp and the Australis Cruise). The narrow gauge tourist train, Train to the End of the World, is just plain silly. The only noteworthy thing about the train is the extensive audio narration regarding Ushuaia’s history as a penal colony — the implications of this are quite easy to see as you walk around town. Sadly, the commercial aspect of the town itself is an uninspiring collection of tourist focused shops and restaurants. We had two delicious crab dinners in an un-touristic place, El Viejo Marino, but in retrospect, we should have gone directly from the cruise ship to the airport and our next destination.

Second, given our interests, we could have used a little stronger input regarding the number of itinerary days spent in Santiago. We had two full days, but would have enjoyed a third full day just for museum visits. In addition, we think the late afternoon hours spent at Vinamar Casablanca winery were probably wasted on us. The winery tour was lackluster and not distinctive. The only wines presented for our tasting were non-sparkling (apparently they are best known for sparkling wines) and didn’t add anything new to our understanding or enjoyment. In hindsight, a better plan for us would have been to return to Santiago for an afternoon museum visit - there are many interesting ones! This would have rounded out our trip, and increased our enjoyment of Santiago.

Date of experience: March 2019
Thank JandTOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Say_Hueque_Argentina, Marketing at Say Hueque Argentina Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2019

Dear JandTOnTheGo,

Thanks for taking the time to share this! First, I'm happy that overall it was a positive experience and I take note of your last comments on what should be improved. In particular, I'll let Agustin know this.

I couldn't be more excited to hear about all the excursions you enjoyed, that means the world to us.

I hope you'll keep us in mind for the next time you visit South America.

Best regards,

Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

Four of us were fortunate to work with Karen Rosa at Say Hueque to create a customized trip to Patagonia including El Chalten, El Calafate, Torres del Paine, Punta Arenas and Ushuaia. We found Karen easy to work with and appreciated her quick replies. We also appreciated Say Hueque's flexibility which allowed us to design a trip that matched our preferences.

Throughout our time in Argentina and Chile we were impressed that every single organization that Say Hueque worked with did exactly what was outlined in our day by day itinerary every single time. We never had to wait for someone to show up. We never arrived somewhere unexpected. All the arrangements were handled smoothly and efficiently.

We are thankful for Karen's and Say Hueque's work. Thanks to their planning we were able to immerse ourselves in the beauty of the Patagonian landscape without needing to worry about travel details. We had a spectacular experience!

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Discover-Dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Say_Hueque_Argentina, Marketing at Say Hueque Argentina Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2019

Dear Discover-Dream,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we deeply value our client's feedbacks.

We'll let Karen know that you enjoyed working with her and we are happy to hear that your expectations were met. We take pride in organizing little details so that you can feel relaxed and comfortable, we are glad you noticed.

We hope you'll think of us when coming back to South America!

Best regards,

Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2019

Came across Say Hueque after a google search for tour companies for Patagonia. Was our first time going to Patagonia and did not have the time to self organize so decided to go with Say Hueque for a 5 day trip - 3 nights in El Chalten and 2 nights in El Calafate. I was contacted by Agustin Orso as a travel advisor and he was very helpful. Explained to him what my wife and I were looking to get out of a trip to Patagonia and after some quick back and forth and a call he tailored it perfectly. We just returned from our trip and could not be happier! Such an amazing experience!! Would definitely recommend using this company.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Jown25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Say_Hueque_Argentina, Marketing at Say Hueque Argentina Journeys, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear Jown,

Thanks for taking the time to reviewing us and for your kind words!

I'm happy to hear that the booking process ran smoothly and that you felt advised by Agustin - that's what we look for! Also great to hear that you enjoyed your trip, you know, for us helping others experience Argentina in a memorable way is crutial, so thanks for mentioning that you couldn't be happier!

I hope you decide to come back eventually, there are so many places to visit and explore.

Looking forward to seeing you again!

Kindest regards,

Cecilia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews