We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly memorable day”
Review of AsadoAdventure

AsadoAdventure
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The idea is to participate in creating a typical weekend family asado (local bbq) that Argentina is famous for, but for foreign visitors to Buenos Aires. Your guide would take your small semi-private group to the butcher shop, the bakery, and the wine store, all the while walking the cobblestone streets of either Palermo Viejo or San Telmo, just like a local family would do. You then go back to a large private home (not a restaurant) and help prepare the asado. It is a first-hand experience of learning how to prep the meat, create the salad, build the fire with charcoal and wood, and all the while learning about the neighborhood (guests might want to jot down the different shops visited for some shopping later). The tour is an experience where guests can learn about asado customs, and learn more information about the city in a very relaxed atmosphere. And you would be eating a fantastic asado guided by the very capable hands of a master parrillero (local grill master).
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed June 15, 2016

We contacted Frank while in transit from New Zealand and found him extremely professional and accommodating, arranging our food adventure at short notice. Frank and his guide Ivan cohosted the event in Franks stunning converted warehouse home. The preceding walking tour around Palermo with Ivan to purchase the lunch ingredients was informative and well structured. In particular the visit to "Dr Beer and Mr Wine" to collect a wine to drink with lunch was wonderful with owner Dego very
passionate and knowledgeable on local wine, with no attempt or expectation of hawking his products which is refreshing (even though we couldn't help buying at his reasonable prices)
The lunch dishes were all delicious and grilled to perfection and served by Max the amicable grill master. We dined with Frank and Ivan and found them relaxing and entertaining. The format of the tour was excellent and we felt it was good value and will be recommending it to all our friends planning visits to Buenos Aires.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank A, Owner at AsadoAdventure, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Dear Trevor,

It was our pleasure hosting you and your wife. I hope you had a great vacation overall and that you are enjoying your Argentine wine back home. I will share your praise with the rest of the team. Any friends of yours are welcomed to our home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"asado"
in 17 reviews
"chef cook"
in 2 reviews
"street art"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 2 reviews
"visiting buenos aires"
in 2 reviews
"walking tour"
in 2 reviews
"fernet"
in 3 reviews
"mauro"
in 2 reviews
"customs"
in 3 reviews
"mate"
in 4 reviews
"neighborhood"
in 6 reviews
"culture"
in 4 reviews
"information"
in 2 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 53 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2016

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

From the begging, Frank, the owner of this fantastic home welcome us at Palermos Soho`s heart in his lovely home. He was very charming and delighted us with perfect hospitality. From the explanation of Fernet, (thanks to Agustin, great knowledge), the presentation of the tapas appetizers, the salads, (loved the way they explain us how to cut the mango) great selection of wines, awesome steak, the "mate quemado", really liked this way of having it and the classic dessert, absolutelly everything was perfect!!! Everyone treated us like family and specially Frank. Than you so much for such a great experience. If you are coming from abroad, do not hesitate and try this out. Great job everyone!!!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Marcos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank A, Owner at AsadoAdventure, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear Marcos P,

Thank you for your review and for the very nice comments. I will make sure to share your words with Agustin, your guide, who will greatly appreciate them as well. We also enjoyed your company and we are glad that you enjoyed the tour and the food. You are welcomed back here anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Date of experience: May 2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2016

A fantastic day where we first were shown the surroundings, getting the ingredients for the day, were shown the traditional cuts by the local butcher, then back to the house where we learned how to make a traditional "Fernet and Coke" (the Argentine national drink). We were welcomed in to the host's garden and showed everything you need to know about the traditional Argentine asado; how to make it, what to have with it, how to light the fire the traditional way etc The "asador" was an absolute professional and was a pleasure to watch his grill technique turn our selected cuts into one the best asado we have ever tasted.

The "mate quemado" was a unique and delicious variation that we had never experienced anything like before. Thank you to the AsadoAdventure team for an unforgettable day!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank cianasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank A, Owner at AsadoAdventure, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear cianasse, Thank you for the kind words and for choosing to tour with AsadoAdventure. We also enjoyed your company and we are so glad that we were able to show you some new things regarding the asado and the mate. You are welcomed back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AsadoAdventure also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to AsadoAdventure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing