We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:30 AM - 3:30 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience AsadoAdventure
from $75.00
More Info
from $130.00
More Info
from $60.00
More Info
from $19.00
More Info
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
124
6
0
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
124
6
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asado fernet chimichurri palermo argentina art ba
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
117 - 122 of 131 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2016

From the begging, Frank, the owner of this fantastic home welcome us at Palermos Soho`s heart in his lovely home. He was very charming and delighted us with perfect hospitality. From the explanation of Fernet, (thanks to Agustin, great knowledge), the presentation of the tapas appetizers, the salads, (loved the way they explain us how to cut the mango) great selection of wines, awesome steak, the "mate quemado", really liked this way of having it and the classic dessert, absolutelly everything was perfect!!! Everyone treated us like family and specially Frank. Than you so much for such a great experience. If you are coming from abroad, do not hesitate and try this out. Great job everyone!!!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank Marcos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank A, Owner at AsadoAdventure, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

Dear Marcos P,

Thank you for your review and for the very nice comments. I will make sure to share your words with Agustin, your guide, who will greatly appreciate them as well. We also enjoyed your company and we are glad that you enjoyed the tour and the food. You are welcomed back here anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2016

When I emailed a friend of a friend who lives in Buenos Aires for recommendations on what to do, top on her list was "get invited to an asado". I figured this would be impossible as neither my husband nor I would have enough time to charm a porteño into letting us into their home for a grand lunch. Fortuitously I came across Asado Adventure in a Facebook group. A new company, the premise of Asado Adventure is to allow visitors to partake in this intimate Argentinian tradition while also learning about its history and customs.

It was a truly special experience... We spent the day with Augustin, our guide, and Frank, the founder. We started the "adventure" with learning how to light the barbecue (yes, there is a custom for this as well!), meeting our Asador (grill master) who would laborious tend the grill while we were out shopping, and learning how to make Argentinian chimichurri. We then hit the streets of Palermo for a small shopping and mini-cultural tour. Frank and Augustin described the evolution of the area from a rough, working class neighborhood to the boutique barrio it is today; and spoke about the immigrant communities who now call Palermo home. We saw the good and bad of the graffiti (art) scene, stopped by a butcher for a fresh cut of meat and even passed through a knife shop where we spoke to the craftsman to learn a bit about hand crafted Argentinian knives traditionally used for asados.

Then came the meal... While we were out and about the Asador was preparing the meal for us in a beautiful Palermo home. We had the option to eat outside in the garden but opted to dine indoors due to the weather. We tried everything. Don't ask... Just try!! Prior to the meal we had the unofficial national drink (Fernet and Coca Cola) and plenty of Malbec and craft Argentine beer during. Another treat was learning about the culture of mate in Argentina and sharing one after dessert. I think my husband will forever remember the grill. For me, the whole experience was truly outstanding.

Un aplauso para el Asador and Asado Adventure!

Date of experience: May 2016
1  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2016

A fantastic day where we first were shown the surroundings, getting the ingredients for the day, were shown the traditional cuts by the local butcher, then back to the house where we learned how to make a traditional "Fernet and Coke" (the Argentine national drink). We were welcomed in to the host's garden and showed everything you need to know about the traditional Argentine asado; how to make it, what to have with it, how to light the fire the traditional way etc The "asador" was an absolute professional and was a pleasure to watch his grill technique turn our selected cuts into one the best asado we have ever tasted.

The "mate quemado" was a unique and delicious variation that we had never experienced anything like before. Thank you to the AsadoAdventure team for an unforgettable day!

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank cianasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank A, Owner at AsadoAdventure, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear cianasse, Thank you for the kind words and for choosing to tour with AsadoAdventure. We also enjoyed your company and we are so glad that we were able to show you some new things regarding the asado and the mate. You are welcomed back anytime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016

My friend and I booked an Asado adventure because we wanted to experience local food in a genuine home environment rather than a restaurant. We were not disappointed.
The host's home is beautiful and worth visiting for that alone. He was very welcoming to us. Our guide on the shopping tour (a local man ) was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The cook was also an Argentine man and cooked our grill to perfection. We were treated to mate and other local delicacies. We enjoyed the company and the feeling of eating as a family would in Argentina.
We would thoroughly recommend this tour

Date of experience: April 2016
2  Thank Greg A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

The experience is fantastic as you get to experience a true Argentine Asado as a local in a welcoming family home. The tour is beautifully set up and the meal gives you a full range of Argentine customs and food. The tour of Palermo shows of the local history and flair while providing an insider's view into everyday life of a Porteño as they would go about their shopping to create the perfect asado in their home for their family and friends. Highly recommended for people who want to experience a true Argentine Asado that you would never get in a restaurant.

Date of experience: January 2016
1  Thank blmurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews