We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where the locals eat”
Review of El Obrero

El Obrero
Ranked #101 of 4,854 Restaurants in Buenos Aires
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: La Boca
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
110 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“where the locals eat”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

we had lunch here and it was extremely crowded with the local people. The food was excellent, protioins were large, price was very reasonable, and the waiter was very attentive. What else does one need to have a memorable and excellent lunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carlton96816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    481
    368
    111
    32
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“La Boca”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is the place to go when you visit La Boca. I would choose it above the cafes in the old central area.. It has a much more honest neighborhood feel to it. It appears to have mostly a local clientele that are "regulars". The food was not the best we had in BsAs, but it was certainly good and well priced. We were there for lunch and it was packed! I loved the atmosphere and the good natured servers. In addition to beef they serve excellent fish and Italian food. I recommend the restaurant as a good look at a slice of life not all tourists get to see.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eephour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darfur, Sudan via Charlotte, NC, USA
Level Contributor
164 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Get Stuffed!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The menu (carte) and on the wall is extensive. Steak, yes. But SO much more than steak! And almost everything is GREAT! And it LOOKS great! You spend a lot of time ogling everyone else's plates, and wishing that you'd order that too!You just want to eat everything. The only thing we had that we didn't lille was the lamb intestines. The waiter patiently took them away and told us that he didn't think we'd like it, but he brought it anyway just so that we could try it. (Of course, they didn't charge us for it.)
The restaurant is homey, yet large. And it's like a neighbourhood eatery. You just KNOW that so many of the people are regulars. And surprisingly, they're not fat! (I guess if you can go every day/week, you don't have to try everything on the menu in one visit.) But the waitstaff was warm and witty and treated us like regulars also and were free with the recommendations. Locals at tables would offer you samples of their food if they caught you staring too much. Real down to earth place.
It's in La Boca, but not in the La Caminita area, so there's really nothing around, and it's a bit of a trek to get to a main street to find a taxi. This minor setback was worth the meal - we needed to trek anyway!!!
Overall, it was one of the best meals we had in BsAs
Tip: It's not a language problem - the bar has gin but no vodka - go figure!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amnesty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Dining Must”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Literally off the beaten track, El Obrero is our favorite restaurant to visit in BA. The steaks and other dishes are outstanding, especially the provoletta. It is a favorite among locals and maintains that neighborhood, workers ambiance. It is best to order multiple dishes to share and you will leave filled and satisfied. Most cab drivers do not know the location, but if you can find it, the trip is well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You can´t miss this in BA”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I have no complaints about the food during my staying in Argentina but are some places that I won´t forget such as Obrero. We were welcomed by one of the owners, very nice, gentle and proud person. He must to be because obrero it´s something you must to be proud of. The service was delightful and the food - Bife de Chorizo and a grilled Salmon - were magnificient. Try the desserts too! Here you will breath argentinian food in the essence with very friendly prices.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TiagoEO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Obrero also viewed

Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
Buenos Aires, Capital Federal District
 

Been to El Obrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing