We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Filth and Smell of Smoke Prevailed in this Non-smoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Marana
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Marana
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Filth and Smell of Smoke Prevailed in this Non-smoking room”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Worst hotel stay in my 25 years of business travel. Required to sign a statement that we would not smoke in the room, but apparently everyone else smoked in there. The windows were covered with very dirty little kid hand prints. Went to my father's funeral with the kids and I smelling like we spent the night in an ashtray.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marana, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. Our condolences go out to you and your family. We apologize for the subpar condition of the room. We have taken measures to make sure that this does not happen to another guest. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to serve you and your families lodging needs when visiting Tucson.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    31
    6
    12
See reviews for
39
37
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed there this past weekend, it was great. Gina at the front desk was very accommodating and has a wonderful upbeat personality, and is very helpful. The room was great, the beds and pillows quite wonderful, breakfast in the morning was very good value as a part of the room cost. Opted to stay in a suite to have the extra space, Although there was just two of us. We were very pleased with out stay and would return. We felt welcomed, that they wanted our business and would like to have us return. The room was in excellent condition.

Room Tip: There are several places at this one location. I really don't think it makes much difference wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobJPalmSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marana, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. Gina is a wonderful asset to our establishment. All of our staff members go above and beyond to ensure that all our guest feel as if they are at home. Upon your return you will be able to enjoy our expanded breakfast menu. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed here because we had had such a good experience at the HIE in Ozona, TX. It was pretty disappointing, not nearly as nice and starting to look a little shopworn. The carpet in the elevator was filthy and the one in our room was none too clean either. It was vacuumed, but needed shampooing.The bathroom floor had a few badly cracked tiles. The man at the front desk, however, was very nice and accommodating so our check-in experience was fine but that is the only positive thing I can say. Also, be warned that it is near the railroad tracks. You sure won't need an alarm clock in the morning! We are glad that we only had to stay one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46marce46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marana, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay. We are in the process of replacing the carpets and adding tile to the elevators. There is now an ordinance preventing the train to blow it's whistle during certain hours. Upon your return visit please speak with a front desk agent so they may provide you with a set of complimentary ear plugs. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve your lodging needs in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed there few weeks ago with my co workers. We had an issue there with one of my co workers Mac Book and Camera was stolen out of his room. Also camera was reported missing later that day. One of my co workers also said that most of the doors on that floor was open. So if you don't have anything you want stolen make sure you take it with you. FYI There is a way to find out who has went into your room so if the GM said its not possible they are wrong. Before we left there another co worker said the GM Larry knocked on his door since his door was cracked open a little strange though seeing if someone was in the room. First holiday inn that the GM lives there and is on the third floor. So Beware of this place thumbs down from me even though it was t my stuff stolen it was a bad experience for my group.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Marana, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Michael H,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Marana.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marana hotels

illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed here 2 nights. The room was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel. Staff members were helpful-on the 2nd night I called down for an extra pillow and one was delivered to my door promptly. The wifi was quick and reliable.

The breakfast was typical continental breakfast-love those cinnamon rolls! We could hear the train, but that's not HI's fault-any hotel in the area would have the same issue, as all the hotels are clumped together.

We checked out, drove an hour, then realized we left (expensive) stuff in one drawer. We called and when we returned an hour later, all our items were safe and secure. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colette424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed in a suite for a wedding and none of us had anything to complain about with this hotel. The breakfast was in a nice location with an almost separate and nearby location for lounging and watching TV. It was very clean and the staff helped us with all our concerns and were very friendly. Great hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raysters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I usually come to Tucson once a year for Christmas, and this time I stayed a little further away at this Holiday Inn Express. The check-in staff were great, and the room was [mostly] clean. The only issue is that the housekeeping staff missed the last guest's coffee filter packet (though the carafe was cleaned). I only stayed the night, but the bed was clean, comfortable, and the options of soft or firm pillows is a nice touch. The WiFi was also surprisingly good.

Best feature ... Finally, a mainstream hotel that gives you real HDTV on a flatscreen TV! Flatscreens are becoming the norm now; but so few hotels have upgraded the video infrastructure to HD. Kudos!

Room Tip: Third floor. I faced North, and there was some noise still. nothing major though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirtyblueshirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marana
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Tucson/Marana
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites NW Tucson Marana
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#76 of 130 in Tucson
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Gold Poppy Inn
4.3 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
779 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Dove Mountain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Marana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Marana

Property: Holiday Inn Express Marana
Address: 8373 N Cracker Barrel Rd, Marana, AZ 85743-8570
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Marana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Marana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Marana 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel at Marana, Arizona! Our hotel has 83 rooms on three floors, interior corridors and elevator service. We offer suites with whirlpool. We have an outdoor pool and fitness center to add to your stay. The hotel offers a complimentary continental breakfast for our guests each morning. There are restaurants within walking distance. Our meeting space will accommodate up to 40 people for your business meeting or social function. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Marana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Marana Hotel Marana
Holiday Inn Marana
Marana Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing