We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meat eaters welcome, all others stay away...”

Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain - Cayton's
Reserve with OpenTable
Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain - Cayton's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 47 Restaurants in Marana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
CA
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Meat eaters welcome, all others stay away...”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I'm the one who made the dinner arrangements so I felt responsible for things going well. We were a party of meat-eaters and one vegan. I figured at these prices, it being a health-focused resort, and there being plenty of vegetable sides on the menu that their "chef" would be able to accommodate one veggie guest. Wrong. What the chef was "able to offer" was just pathetic. I am only a functional cook and even I can do better than that. And it had nothing to do with the restaurant being busy. I think there were only 4 tables occupied in addition to our party. My guest was gracious and washed his pitiful dinner down with some $100 Chardonnay. The prices are in line with resort dining (we spent much more on dinner than we did on our casita), but at these prices I expect more service from the chef.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trvldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    31
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Almost always good!”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Most meals we have had here have been good--occasionally there seems to be a problem with consistency in the quality of the food.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pamlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,690 reviews
892 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 679 helpful votes
“Good food but limited menu”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The bartenders are the best. Sit outside for an amazing sunset. The menu is limited but quite good. The ribs are excellent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, NY
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

this was our last dinner on vacation and to be honest (aren't we supposed to be) this just did not live up to what you would expect from a 5 star resort. Service was excellent but hte food was - ehhh. we had to send a side dish back to be heated when it came back the 2nd time it was still not warm - they did take it off the bill, my steak was a poor cut of beef - do not spend paying $30 for a steak but i should not be spending time trimming fat and grizzel from it

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank longisland_NYKleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular Sunset Setting”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We always take company from out of town to Cayton's, the ones we want to impress! Have never been disappointed with the service or the food. Food prices are not bad but I think wine is high. They call you by your name and are very friendly, esp. the foreign interns. The only negative is the flies in the summer when you sit on the patio, so sit inside if they are a problem.
A very special place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain - Cayton's also viewed

 

Been to Ritz-Carlton Dove Mountain - Cayton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing