We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for short break with BBQ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good for short break with BBQ”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was nice and peaceful, good for a group BBQ.
Maintenance is not really upto the mark but overall it was a nice experience.
Ibtisam, front office personnel was so rude and no manners at all. She was absolutely unprofessional and inspire of being their mistake not even a single sorry from her but only excuses in a critics icing manner.
Our whole mood was spoiled bcos of her.
The most annoying n rudest person ever met in earth.

Apart from her everything was good n had a good time.
Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laringcan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    11
    8
    12
See reviews for
29
5
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

If you are in one of the beach facing rooms all you need is to get up in the morning as the sun rises just walk on the beach or the waters that touch your feet.and u can just chill the whole day listening to the tides.when the evening s about to set you can burn the coal for bbq and have a nice n warm evening with some light music .its a good place to spend quality time .jp miles 151861522

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacinta2682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajman, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we had a family stay in palma beach ,the place is not clean at all, you see cats and crows all around, the room service also equally bad ,the refrigerator inside the rooms are old and was making huge sound, the door locks are not really good, when we turn on the air conditioning, there was leak, and the complimentary breakfast..was teribble....

Room Tip: go for the beach view rooms.. we got pool face that was bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rit_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Umm Al Quwain hotels

London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I'd give it minus if the site allowed.

I stayed at Palma Resort Thursday night (19th September) and i am still reeling from the shock of how bad it was. My cousins went there 2 years ago and said it was really good then and hence a repeat trip.

On reaching we dashed to the pool as it has 24 hour. there was no chlorine in the pool and water was salty making me wonder how many people had used it as a bathroom instead.

We didnt last too long in it and retired to our rooms. the crowd was not very good, huge large noise groups always by the pool.

we ordered room service to eat on the porch that faces the extremely smelly creek (which Palma advertises as private beach) in half an hour the table was filled with ants feasting on our food.

bathroom was clean but by morning they had shut off the water, my cousins said they did this last time too. However one call to the reception sorted it out. Rooms are spacious and clean.

The ambience of the resort, if one can call it that since ppl only 'resort' to it for the rates and that they dont mind large groups sleeping in one room, is one of a place in ruins and not pharos and pyramids as they attempt with a dash of Greek figures in places. One may be as liberal to call it quirky.

What has stayed with me all weekend though is the really disgusting pool and the ill kept facilities.
I later found out for the same rate one couldve stayed at the Baracuda which is the best beach resort in UAQ

Room Tip: If you absolutely must then choose the pool side room or villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tarana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We went there in the weekend, I have to say we really enjoyed, we had Shisha on the terrace then we went for bowling and billiard. The hotel is very good for couple and groups. The breakfast was decent
Overall was good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amirsabry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

me and my family had a great 2 days stay at Palma and we did enjoy their new Bowling and sports club , their rooms are huge , also the free hot breakfast they offer was great and YES WIFI is free and working......LOL

Room Tip: Villa with indoor swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We decided to stay in Umm Al Qawain after driving up here to watch the last Solo Races of the 2012-2013 season. The usual hostelry, Barracuda Resort was full, so a quick search on Tripadvisor turned up the Palma Beach.

There were a number of mixed reviews, but I thought "It's only for one night, so we'll give it a go".

The hotel is kinda quirky, with a mock Pharaonic theme, We expected it to be quiet so close to the summer, but it was absolutely packed, mainly with local and TCN families.

The room was big, clean, nicely furnished, and with a balcony overlooking the beach and the bay.

There were lots of people on the beach using the individual barbecues, some of them leaving plenty of evidence of their parties, but withing 30 minutes of the party finishing, hotel staff were busy picking up rubbish and raking the sand-and they repeated this at 6am next morning.

The pool, which has a mini-waterpark type slide/tunnel/waterfall, was packed too, and a bit lacking in seats and beds.

Dinner was at the outdoor coffee shop, overlooking the water, and again was packed, but staff managed to find us a table. The food was mainly arabic, or with an arabic twist, but Beo loved the Seafood Mixed Grill. Prices were very reasonable.

Morning coffee from room service arrived within 5 minutes of ordering-better than many much more expensive and 'famous' places I've stayed.

We enjoyed the stay, but if you are a 5 Star person, without kids-not the place for you (at least at the weekend).

Price very good (AED 799 for a large second floor room with balcony and including breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umm Al Quwain
1.5 mi away
Flamingo by Bin Majid
Flamingo by Bin Majid
#7 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
143 reviews
2.0 mi away
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
#6 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
36 reviews
13.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
4.8 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence UAQ
Hotel Royal Residence UAQ
#5 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Palma Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Sheikh Ahmed Bin Rashid Al Mualla St | Al Mualla Road, Umm Al Quwain 1279, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Umm Al Quwain > Umm Al Quwain
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place with the Ancient Egyptian concept blend with the modern and luxurious facilities to give you the unique experience. A perfect destination for relaxation, business, corporate functions, weddings, parties and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palma Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Beach Hotel Umm Al Quwain
Palma Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing