We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total waste of money - Avoid it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palma Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very unprofessional staff, careless, totally ignored requests submitted along with booking done 3 weeks before arrival date, they didn't care to call clarifying status if our request which was simply to put our 3 booked rooms next to each other to keep kids nearby, they just put us in 3 rooms far from each other, sea view on corner ground floor room was blocked, room changed after argument, most importantly this is not a beach hotel and should not be categorized as one, water is still shore of creek not open sea at all, dirty beach not good for swimming, swimming pool water is no heated and not cleaned, important note: no rescuer at swimming pool at all. No play area, no activities, rooms where rented to group of noisy teens next to our rooms, couldn't sleep due to noise of drunk teens, hotel admin interfered very late after so many complains from surrounding rooms, dirty towels, and when we request for 4 extra towels we've been told we can only get 2, no towels at swimming pool by the way, so must take own towels from room to use, old dated furniture rooms full of ants, and in general building poorly maintained. In short and vey honestly it's worse so called beach hotel i've ever been. Mattresses laid on floor because the were no extra beds as requested but those were charged 99 dhs per night!! In short: total waste of money, not recommended at all for families, or romantic holidays. Not a Beach hotel.

Room Tip: Take sea view top floor rooms if you don't stairs. It's less worse than ground ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Basel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 82 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Palma Beach Resort and Spa is quite frankly the worst hotel we have had the misfortune to experience in a number of years. My husband booked this shoddy excuse for a hotel as a short weekend break (without checking the reviews). From the moment you drive through the gates the place screams 'tired!' Following a very strange check-in routine we were told to 'relax in the cafe' until our room was ready. The cafe can only be described as a glorified 'greasy spoon' with shisha. We made or way out on to the decking which might have been quite pleasant if we could have ignored the stained cushions, the slightly 'filmy' table tops and the time it took to acquire a menu from a woman who looked like she'd lost the will to live.

The menu was the usual cardiac-arrest fayre and after being served water in suspect looking glasses and ordering the cheapest lunch we've ever had in the UAE.(.I ordered a 'salad' with hummus and was presented with a bowl of hummus and bread wrapped in a plastic bag). The waitress seemed completely impervious and after inspecting the pool area and the other 'facilities' we felt we had experienced enough uncleanliness and filth for one weekend.

My husband went to check-out fully aware that we would lose our money and whilst he was doing this there were two other guests trying to sell their rooms. We felt terribly sorry for the receptionist as we can't imagine this was the first time she'd had to deal with disgruntled guests. Although we lost AED1200, one couldn't have paid us to stay there.

Avoid at all costs.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cati72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We enjoyed a brief stay at this hotel. We enjoyed the location and the friendly staff. Definitely a family hotel with lots of facilities for children and BBQs. The rooms are very large and well equipped many with views right over the beach. There is also a floating restaurant. The hotel does not serve alcohol so you need to stock up.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Smatty68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Probably one of the best budget getaways for family in UAE.

They have the best facility because of the open ambiance in the area. They don't usually check group guests coming in, that maybe one of the reasons while this hotel is always jampacked of tourist/guest all year round.

They have a pool and beach to choose from, they have an open bbq area so everyone can enjoy a real swimming with barbaque on the side.

Thumbs up guys!

Room Tip: pool side and beach side is both the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat_ilagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Agree with lot of reviews posted regarding the poor service, lack of cleanliness and uncaring staff.
Four Star Property (????), five star rates, - BUT ZERO STAR SERVICES AND CLEANILINESS.
We went in January 2013 to celebrate our wedding anniversary, but had to cancel our stay due to unprofessional staff- right from Housekeeping to Reception to Front Desk Supervisor, they have no idea about customer service.
The place looks dull, old and not maintained at all.
Our small private garden and barbeque area was littered with filth- sausages and food stuff lying around (photograph attached)- flies and crows were having a field day. Pool was dirty with insects floating in the water. Repeated complaints to the housekeeping and Reception were not helpful.
TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME. Believe me friends, I am not usually the complaining kinds, BUT this place is not worth it at all.
Location and barbeque is good, but rest ???
Go only if you can accept filthy gardens, insects and dirt in the pool, and unprofessional staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Amit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very good stay and breakfast facilities.. Good for large groups and ideal for barbeques.
They were helpful in providing ice, buckets and extras like sheets, pillow and towels.
The chalets are large and spacious and overlooking the lagoon so really scenic and nice pits which are very accessible.also each chalet has parking right up to the room so no need to lug items along.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VKavasseri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Palma beach resort a good escape for big groups - you can rent the 2 br villa that costs 3400dhs and accommodates 10adults (kids not counted & however, the 2 br in reality can accommodate 20 adults ;) and no one really checks) you can also rent a 3br for 4400dhs & follow the above pattern ;)

if you have missed out on any supplies - there’s a mini mart that you can shop at and the prices r reasonable or you could take a 5 minute drive to a LULU super market. However, the best thing to do is cook your own food and bring it as a fridge is also provided in the villa. Barbecue pits are right in front of your room / villa.

TIP - you can also carry a micro oven & electric kettle along. if you’re going in a big group make sure to carry ur bedding along as extra bedding rental costs:

single mattress - 80dhs
pillow - 6dhs
blanket - 32dhs

So go prepared :D make sure to read the rules right behind the front door.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenise211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umm Al Quwain
1.5 mi away
Bin Majid Flamingo
Bin Majid Flamingo
#6 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
153 reviews
2.1 mi away
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
Umm Al Quwain Beach Hotel
#3 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
69 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl Hotel
Pearl Hotel
#2 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
Hotel Royal Residence Branch
#7 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
36 reviews
19.8 mi away
Jannah Resort & Villas
Jannah Resort & Villas
#10 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
80 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Royal Residence UAQ
Hotel Royal Residence UAQ
#5 of 7 in Umm Al Quwain
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Sheikh Ahmed Bin Rashid Al Mualla St | Al Mualla Road, Umm Al Quwain 1279, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Umm Al Quwain > Umm Al Quwain
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Umm Al Quwain
Price Range: $85 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palma Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palma Beach Resort & Spa is established since 1995, it is built with Ancient Egyptian blend with classy, first class facilities and amenities to give pleasure, tranquility and luxury to our guest. A beautiful place in the desert designs elegantly and offers all the modern comforts and conveniences that our guest will surely enjoy. Palma Beach Resort comprises a luxurious Deluxe, Suites, and Villas with spacious, comfortable, warmly designed quality accommodations, each fully equipped with all modern conveniences you may wish for. Palma Beach Resort & Spa is best for business, pleasure and perfect get away destination. Palma Beach Resort & Spa is situated on the shore of Arabian Sea in the Emirates of Umm Al-Quwain and one of the most luxurious and preferred beach front resorts in Northern part of UAE. Palma Beach Resort & Spa is located just about 28 kms from Sharjah airport and 41 kms from Dubai airport two major cities in UAE. Dream land is just 6 kms away from our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palma Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palma Beach Resort And Spa
Palma Beach Hotel Umm Al Quwain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing