We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“S***hole”
Review of Hotel Samdan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Samdan
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Yalikavak
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“S***hole”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Awfull food, Not much selection and had flies all over it, only had about 20 sun loungers around the pool for about 90 guests so they were always reserved. The few times we actually ate in this hotel we were unwell. Felt sorry for the staff as they were really friendly and had to deal with constant complaints from many guests. Hotel itself was basic and not the cleanest but was very pretty. Chose this hotel as it was sold to us as a nice quiet getaway but constant loud music was played form the bar way after they stopped serving drinks. Also chose to have all inclusive as the position of the hotel was about a half hour mini bus trip from bodrum but because the food was so bad we chose to do this trip everyday so we could eat some good clean food.
Also the shower didn't hardly ever have hot water and when it did it was barely a dribble and there was a plug socket hanging out of the wall, only one tiny bulb worked in the bathroom so had to shower in the dark. Spend slightly more and you could get a way better hotel! Anyone who is satisfied with this hotel has no standards what do ever!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lewio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    15
    19
    36
See reviews for
17
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I've just come back from a week all inclusive at the samdan and it was a total waste of money! we ended up eating out after realizing that the food they serve up is put out time and time again. Most of the guests including myself ended up with really dodgy guts. The reps here will rob you of your money, DO NOT book your excursions with them no matter how friendly they seem! Our Reps were called Erkan and Kadir! They will charge you double, sometimes more & most of us were all charged different prices for the same trip. You will get them all in the town of Yalikavak which is roughly a 10/15 minute walk away. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the trip to Dalayman to see the turtles. It is a 12 hour round trip and you get dumped on the beach for just 1 hour and will be lucky if you see even 1 turtle! Also if you book a trip and then can't go because you are ill, like I was and a couple of others they will promise you your money back but then don't turn up to give it you after making you waste a day waiting around for them!A total of 400 Lira was owed in the end because he kept fobbing us off with excuses as to why he couldn't come to the hotel so please be aware if you do decide to stay here!! The reps are not to be trusted! One of them even sexually harrassed a girl staying at the hotel & it took most of the day for him to get the message after being asked by several ppl to leave her alone!! I would definintely NOT stay here again, the rooms are basic which was ok but the bathrooms were not clean, the shower didn't work & it smelt like a sewage system and when we asked for clean towels after the 1st day we were told towel changes are every 3 days, it took them 5 days to change our towels and bed sheets!! we had to buy new towels from the nearby market. I know ppl will say you get what you pay for but at the end of the day, no matter how much has been paid you are spending your hard earned cash on what should be a relaxing holiday. a bit of respect, cleanliness and well cooked food should be paramount!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel or go self catering at a nearby villa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissQueenieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Yalikavak hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband last year, and am shocked that this place is still in operation, if you have booked this and cannot change take your camera and collect evidence of the poor condition. Myself and some ther people that stayed here last year did and fought with our travel providers and we all got some compensation. There is a template letter on the Internet that you can download and use, failing that you can speak to your credit card company that will take on your claim after all you are not getting what you paid for under the Mis description Act. Don't forget to get some complaint forms from the rep. I honestly know from first hand experience of this place and it is as bad as they say. I do feel sorry for all those that have paid for this place that have worked hard for and get this dump. Like I said quite a few of us got up to £150 refunded. The more money they have to refund the more somebody will stand up and take notice that this place needs intervention.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarn33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Staff excellent, facilites clean and fresh towels and linen on daily basis. Food choice was varied, tasty and fresh. Great holiday would love to return for more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We have just came back from there, it is a shame because the views and the hotel do look nice,, i had a bug in my food, there what looked like blood on the supposedly clean sheets, and the shower nearly set on fire while i was in it. We read the reviews after we booked it, and thought it cannot be that bad!!! after the fourth day we just wanted back, we was party of 4 and we wanted a cheap holiday, i can honestly say, i will save that bit more money and avoid a disaster. The Turkish holiday makers on the site was arrogant, and rude, and that alone is enough to make me not go there ever again, and that was the general feeling of all the brits that was there, the workers are great and tried to solve any problem you went with, but it did take them 6 days to get the shower sorted, we had cold showers for them days and then we was fighting to get the water coming through, the bathroom stunk of sewerage the hole week and the hotter the weather got the stronger the smell. We tried to make the most of nightmare, but by the last day we had had enough. While we was there, there was at least two people taken to hospital for sickness and poops. With the recession and the way money is tight, it is easy enough to cut corners and get a holiday that meets the purse strings, just try and avoid doing it with this one, it really isnt worth it. We got there at 2.05 am to be told that the 2 rooms we had booked and paid for, we couldnt have because the booking had been messed up with the company and we ended up with a family room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teresa l L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Here we go a honest trip advisor Review on the samdan hotel:
Got to the hotel at 03.30 early morning after a transfer from hell two hours travelling time from the airport turkey roads not good plus driver didn't know were the hotel was had to stop few times to ask taxi drivers the way .Was met by a very friendly man at check in this only took few minutes photo copy of passport & one form to fill in: I was very lucky with my room had a family room (306) 1st floor with own terrace! As the 40 double & twin rooms have all shared (walkways) terraces:The room: Basic one room with king size bed & other room with twin beds & a little shower room (no bath) Had dirty sheet on bed So that had to be change:Was lucky again with (mini Bar) no room has mini bar just an empty fridge if you are lucky a lot of the rooms don't have a fridge,I did have a TV that wasn't plug in so had to move an old chest of draws out of the way & know now why the TV wasn't plug in, only electric shock while trying to plug it in So left that alone:The A/C worked great but yet again few of the other guess didn't have A/C: Two guess had to stay in staff accommodation as hotel over booked & that was just awful as the guess did show me her room & I was horror-stricken:The food Was basic yet again with nothing covered & same food all week what was left over after a meal it was used again did lost a little weight:The pool Nightmare no sun beds 20 in total & people were leaving towels on early in morning (alarm clocks going of at 4.00 to put towels on sunbeds) Fights between English & Turkish guesses.Don't waste your time complaining to the so called manager (owner) as he is too busy socialising with his Turkish friends & drinking all-day:Yes owners dogs walking around hotel & barking all night long & one day a little dog walked in to hotel & staff started beating it upset a lot of English guesses & a lovely couple looked after her for the week,The pool area could do with a very good clean, Child's pool yet again dirty,The pool bar great if you were Turkish free cocktails & got serve 1st, English had to paid for cocktails,The music went on from morning till after mid night & it was loud & some of the songs I hear were awful & I mean awful (Very Very rude) some thing from a dirty porno film just glad I didn't have my children with me on this holiday as I would of left hotel & gone some were else,There are no so called beach's near hotel one called sunset beach were there is a jetty & no sand:One little shop few minute walk away but nothing around hotel:Taxi drivers will rip you off:Please do not book any trips via reps that come to hotel as yet again you will get rip of & no trips like many English guesses did :I did all the cleaning of my room all-week as it was cleaned better! I would not stay at this hotel ever again there are a lot better 3stars hotels about plus the area (not much to do)walk around harbour & local village for shopping:I was glad to leave & get home for a rest:
I think if the owners stopped drinking all day maybe his staff would respect the hotel & guesses more as it could be a nice hotel if some money was spent on it:

Room Tip: Try & get a family room only 8 of them, the double & twin rooms are very small:
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kittycatandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I can't believe the Turkish authorities allow this hotel to operate. The food is uneatable, the rooms are filthy, and the pool is a mud bath. I would rather sleep in mthe car.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotter252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Yalikavak hotels
0.9 mi away
Kivanc Suites Yalikavak
Kivanc Suites Yalikavak
#23 of 35 in Yalikavak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mer-Can Story Apart Hotel
Mer-Can Story Apart Hotel
#8 of 35 in Yalikavak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.8 mi away
Spektr Hotel Bodrum
Spektr Hotel Bodrum
#2 of 35 in Yalikavak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Avantgarde Yalikavak Hotel
Avantgarde Yalikavak Hotel
#11 of 35 in Yalikavak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sirene Luxury Hotel Bodrum
Sirene Luxury Hotel Bodrum
#7 of 35 in Yalikavak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
1.0 mi away
Elite Hotel Bodrum
Elite Hotel Bodrum
#20 of 35 in Yalikavak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Samdan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Samdan

Property: Hotel Samdan
Address: Merkez Mah. Omer Lutfu Cad. No: 87, Yalikavak, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Yalikavak
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 35 Hotels in Yalikavak
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Samdan 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Samdan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing