We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highlight Hotel(Yalikavak)
$241
$211
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mer-Can Story Apart Hotel(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Art Suites Hotel(Yalikavak)(Great Value!)
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$428
$320
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$131
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$141
$125
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$581
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$591
$493
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (859)
Filter reviews
859 results
Traveler rating
318
179
128
92
142
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
179
128
92
142
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingbeer and soft drinkssnack barcleaned dailyhotel groundschange roomsentertainment teampoolsholidayjettymurat
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 859 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Also were moved to the Golden Age just before our holiday was due to begin from the Crystal Beach.
Arrived early hours of the 15th October and were taken to our room, in a seperate building away from the main part of the hotel. Had seperate bedrooms for the adults n kids. Also had a balcony which had a so so view, was also a lot quieter than the main hotel rooms. We were happy, not the ritz but more than acceptable.

Next morning, the staff told us we were only put there for one night and we were moved to the main hotel. Fab room, with two balconies, fab views, 2 large comfortable armchairs, clean and plenty of towels. Bit noisy compared to our first room and we were all in one large room, but we were very pleased.

Food is a bit repitive but the price we paid for our holiday would only have covered the flight and hotel room so I counted every meal and drink as being free, so no complaints. Except for one.....everytime we went to the bar to get a vodka and coke we had to get two extra cokes to water it down or we would have been drunk every day!!!!

Staff were lovely, especially to our little boy Wyatt who is a dwarf, they were fabulous with him. The lady who cleaned our room was great too, nothing was too much trouble for her, she even left us a little posy of flowers. Lovely touch.

So all in all, 10 day hol with 8 days fab weather, met some lovely people, happy happy happy.

Don't miss Hong Kong Billy or 3 Brothers, great meals.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenAge48, Manager at Golden Age Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2012

Dear Dmstan,

We hope to see you in our hotel again. Thank you for your review.


Kind regards,

Golden Age Bodrum Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were due to go to Crystal Beach but were told two weeks beforehand that the hotel had been changed. Read the trip advisor reviews on Golden Age and was absolutely dreading it but decided the best we could do was go with an open mind.
There were eight of us altogether, four adults, 13, 10, 8 and 7 year old, we had booked rooms with a separate bedrooms but this hotel did not have any so they gave us four rooms instead - my 13yr old son was well happy as he had a room to himself. The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily - so no complaints there.
The food was the same as every hotel I have been to in Turkey for the past four years - mainly chicken, fish and meatballs, huge selection of salad also desserts. Favourites were freshly cooked omelettes every morning (kids had pancakes), also the soups. Also used the snack bar around the pool at lunchtime - easier if you wanted to eat later in the afternoon.
The staff were always helpful and friendly, spent most of the evenings around the pool bar so got to know them pretty well - they do work some hours.
The downside for all of us was the animation team, even taking into account that there was only two of them there, they were dire. It wasnt until we complained to anyone and everyone that they actually made an effort, got darts in the afternoon and even a club dance. A couple of evenings were good with the Turkish Dancing and Mr Golden Age, but a couple of nights they put on dodgy copied DVD's. Also on the downside they had no ice-cream and towards the end of our 10 days they started running out of soft drinks - to be fair though they were due to close down and were kept open because of the Crystal Beach closure.
Ventured out a few times, went to Yalikavak on the market days and as it was end of the season came home with a few bargains, it was a good walk in but got the Dolmus back - only 2 lira and kids were free. Went to Turgetries on their market day and that took a few bus rides but still cheaper than an organised trip, their market was huge and the town was lovely. Also, as recommended by others on this site, went to Hong Kongs in Bodrum, certainly worth it for the food alone but you also get chance to stroll around Bodrum and they pick you up and take you back as part of the deal - worked out at £150 for the eight of us and we got a doggy bag as well. Was the other halfs birthday so Billy from Hong Kongs, who we booked through when he visited the Hotel, arranged for us to have a cake (this did cost though) - but I would recommend this to others, there are a few more restaurants who are offering the same deal.
Had the obligatory Turkish Bath within days of arriving - which is a must if you want to keep your tan for longer - this was £20 and kids went free. On our last day we got a really good deal on a massage, this was a great finish to our stay.
Also tried some of the watersports which included the Banana boat, water skiing, jet ski, donots (rubber rings) and fly fish, my favourite was the banana boat - again it didnt work out too expensive but I'm dont suppose we would have had such a great deal if it had not been the end of the season.
All in all we had a great holiday, dont listen to the really bad reviews as we all know some peoples expectations are unrealistic for the price that you pay - this was a good value holiday, a few of us had upset stomachs but for my daughter it was the gallons of orange she was drinking, the adults it was alcohol and maybe a touch of too much sun - certainly nothing to do with the food.
I'd say to anyone who is worried due to negative reviews, do what I did and go with an open mind. Whilst I probably would not return it is only because there are other destinations I wish to holiday at.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashwell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

My partner & I booked a 2 week stay at the Crystal Hotel in Gumersluk but arriving at Bodrum Airport were informed that we were now staying at the Golden Age as the Crystal had closed. Initially we were apprehensive at this but on arriving at the Golden Age we were impressed at the initial overall image. We were greeted & shown to our room which was clean & adequate. The maids made the beds & changed the towels on a daily basis, the food was plentiful with a good selection at each sitting, the staff were friendly & tended any request we made without fuss, the grounds well tended & we found no fault with this hotel whatsoever & certainly did not discover any of the faults described by previous visitors. The only downside was that the entertainment didn't start until 10pm which we thought was a touch late & the bedroom walls were very thin, however we had a very enjoyable 2 weeks at the Golden Age & would return here without question.

Ian D, Chesterfield.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanDye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We booked into the Crystal Beach Hotel which was the sister hotel to Golden Age and due to the hotel closing early we were moved to this hotel instead. When we arrived they were fortunatley expecting us - we were a little scared we would end up with nowhere to stay!

Roomwise - the room was quite basic, but we were a couple, and ended up in a triple room, so no issues with space. There was a fridge in the room as well which was handy for keeping drinks cool. We also had a sea view - if you stood on your tiptoes! We didnt want to pay the extra for a sea view, so this was a bonus for us. The bathroom had recently been done up and was really nice. As we went at the end of the season (16-23 October) it was a bit chilly at night, but we managed to get some extra blankets, and the housekeeping staff were friendly and made towel art on our bed with some flower petals from the balcony which was a nice touch. If you, like me, are a light sleeper, you will find the noise in the corridors a bit annoying, as the sound echoes down them but on the whole, we slept well.

Foodwise - Breakfast was great, there was a guy outside making omlettes, pancakes and fried eggs to order every morning which was a nice touch. Lunch and dinner tended to consist of similar things, not the greatest of hot foods. The soups were nice, and the grill outside which served some great fish on a few nights, but apart from that we stuck to the salad, which was lovely and they had a massive selection. Dessert was good too. Drinks were also available and they certainly aren't stingey with their spirit measurements!

Facility wise - the pools outside were really clean, the beach was also lovely - but not sandy mind you - and had a lovely jetty where you could watch all the fish. There is a spa where you could use the Turkish baths, two types of sauna and indoor pool inclusive of the price. The only issue was that as we were at the end of the season some things were shut down.

Our only main complaint was the hotel rep - Nico - who was useless. He assured us he would sort out our transfers for us, which he failed to do, so we had the stressful job of sorting them out ourselves. However, this isn't an issue with the hotel itself, he doesn't work for the hotel as such, but it certainly put a major dampener on the end of our holiday.

Overall we enjoyed our stay here, and we impressed with what we got, seeing as we only pay a couple of hundred pounds each for a week all-inclusive.

If you are after a week in the sun (make sure you don't go at the end of the season!) then here isn't a bad place to go for the money.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nnizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

We spent a week at this hotel as a family of 6 adults and 3 children aged between 1 & 6.

Our rooms in the main hotel I can't really moan about and were cleaned daily to a good standard. 1 of our party stayed in what we called the love shack as was more like a shed with a veranda but again it was clean. We did speak to other family's however who were really disappointed with there rooms so maybe we were lucky????

The food wasn't to our taste really, we ate out a lot and when we didn't my children basically ate chips and fruit as the food tended to be a lot of slop... People on here say that's what they eat in Turkey but I'm not so sure?????? Good selection of salad tho and always fresh bread so you can survive.

The pools were clean, the main pool had no shallow end but the kiddies pool had a slide and kept us all entertained which was good as there was a major lack of entertainment.

The kids club never opened, probably as we went at the end of the season and the evening entertainment didn't start till 10pm which was for the adults deff not the kiddies.

We made our holiday what it was, drunk way to much but the guys at the pool bar were great fun and looked after us well throughout our stay.. There was none of the 1 or 2 drinks per person, we would be given tray fulls at a time and despite the bad points about the hotel we made it a great holiday :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Looneylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews