We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morgul Antik Restaurant - CLOSED

Morgul Antik Restaurant
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Food ok, i wouldnt call this a restaurant at all though...more like a street cafe. The staff are poor and the owner woman who sits at the till looks as misable as sin.
Food was ok, but thats all i could say for this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mb1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    5
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Very friendly, excellent food, great place to have a nice cold strongbow. while watching the world go by. They even have a lovely garden area where you can sit and relax.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwigham2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Morgul Antik”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having visited the Morgul several times over the last couple of years I don't understand the negative comments.We've had English breakfast,Turkish breakfast, calamari (perfectly cooked),fish & chips, kofte, curries and the slow cooked lamb. All were delicious and reasonably priced.OK there are more pleasantly located places but the Morgul is ideal for people watching.We have also dined in some of the restaurants along the seafront where they pack you in like sardines and have endured some truly terrible food for far more money than the Morgul are charging (the onion bhajis and curry at le cafe springs to mind).As for the personal attacks on the "English lady", well she showed us the gardens at the rear as well as introducing us to her dogs, and was always warm and inviting, as were the staff.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank menace59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Curry in Yalikavak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

As British Asians.curry and Indian food in general is our staple diet and I recently stayed in a hotel in Yalikavak on a all Inclusive basis.After the 3rd day I was having curry withdrawal symptoms and I came across this wonderful basic but very friendly family run restaurant.I asked for an authentic Indian curry and we got one at this place.The staff were courteous,polite and very attentive.Naturally, the indian food lacks variety but then this probably due to people not asking for different dishes.They even offered facilities for us to have midday siesta after lunch ! We found the owner Ibrahim the very friendly but respecting our mealtime privacy too.We will definately return and this time with the family and I might even ask for onion bhaji's next time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidlandsBwana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ugh again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Having read the previous review titled "ugh" I have to completely agree with everything said! The staff are great salesmen but once you commit yourselves they are not interested in anything other than the highest possible bill. The English lady truly does not move away from the till and the food is poor quality. We once fell for the "fantastic curry night" as allegedly the owner had spent the winter working in a UK curry house, but it was truly awful. The puddings also came out still frozen and no-one asked why we hadn't eaten any of them.
We rent out an apartment in Yalikavak and advise all guests to give it a wide berth!! Suggest you spend your money more wisely in some of the other fabulous restaurants in Yalikavak.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morgul Antik Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing