We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great holiday”
Review of Malibu Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malibu Apartments
Ranked #92 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a great holiday”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we arrived our room was ready and the family were all very welcoming our room was adequate and we had a room each which was bright and airy. We found out that people before us had had problems in the previous few weeks due to over booking and some had been in the attic their whole stay. We however speak as we find and we had a great time. We did eat there a few times and the food was basic but nice and the portions were huge.
For us the people that we met made our holiday and many villa owners came to visit the bar of an evening and it was quite social. The location is fantastic and the shops, restuarants and markets were amazing.
I would definately recommend the Malibu but maybe to avoid issues as previous people go slightly out of season like we did. We went to Billy's beach while there and if you ask Metin he can book a free bus for you to the lagoon which is great for kids or poor swimmers as its like a millpond.

Room Tip: We had room number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    5
    4
    8
See reviews for
9
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

When arriving at this hotel, we were promised a double room with a garden view! To mine and my partners dismay, we were placed in a vile attic room! I then read my itinery which stated nothing about an attic room. I spoke to Metin and he totally dismissed my concerns. Me and my partner kept banging our heads on the wooden ceiling as it was so low. Metin was very rude and I felt like because we did not spend much time at the hotel, we wanted to explore, he did not value us or our concers. He loved the people spending money on Efes beer and wine. I do not want to take away from the lovely family feel of these apartments. Mama is so lovely and so is the father and older brother. The cleaners do a fantastic job and the rooms although annoying as we were dumped in the attic, were remarkably clean and fresh. I would advise people to stay here as the location is great- away form the hustle and bustle but close enough to explore Fethiye, Ovacik, Hisaranou and Olu Deniz. My only advice would be to avoid the attic rooms as they are seriouslt ridiculous! And also be prepared for rude Metin! It is a shame because I have a big family and would have reccommended this hotel to them, but how Metin made us feel, I do not think I would. The pool is clean and overall we would rate this hotel a 5/6. I would have rated higher, if my complaint was taken seriously and we were moved from the Attic room! I would say more elderly couples stay here and it really does have a nice feel to it. The food I would suggest you to explore, as it was not really up to scratch in my eyes...Hope this has helped.

Room Tip: Avoid attic rooms at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wholeheartedly agree with " the good, the bad and the ugly " and " Beware ". I can't add much more than has already been said, except we met really lovely people who helped make our holiday enjoyable under very trying circumstances. Will certainly never visit Malibu again .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

Cannock
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The good..the position of the Malibu apartments although uphill do afford beautiful views and from our room we had amazing views of the sun setting. The room was basic but was reasonably clean albeit spare pillow had a dirty pillowcase and beds were very hard.The pool area was clean and pretty and in lovely surroundings. We ate at the pool side restaurant a couple of times and food was good.however we were charged different prices according to I think how Metin felt..often more than menu price.Mama was lovely as we're the maids and I can understand the good comments because Metin could be charm personified when he wanted to be. Plus we met some truly lovely people there which afforded us some laughter at the Fawlty towers.The bad is all and more what was said in review by robandacat.andAdz A To my knowledge and I was there 3weeks few of the complaints were dealt with. We asked for crockery but never got any...How hard is it to take crockery from the restaurant and give it to us Or put a light bulb in a lounge which was a necessity. We didn't even bother to mention about the handle dropping off the door to the balcony and not locking.We saw a constant stream of people come and leave as they were put in the awful attic rooms/ dog kennels. One couple had said it was their honeymoon and still got placed there. They had to move hotel and then fight not to be charged more. The ugly..the promises and the lies.Metin would continually make promises 're repairs etc but never do anything about them. He would ignore you if you dared to complain that something was wrong. However if you were staying at the outside villas or were spending money there he would turn on the charm...To me sincerity is caring about people's needs and dealing with them not the false charm he used when money was involved . One would have thought he would have cared for those who had paid to stay there.but he was permanently attached to his phone or laptop doing other things.. You could sit by the pool and watch the two sides of Metin work. So if you had no complaints and spent money there you would be happy otherwise you saw the other Metin at work.and got ignored .lied to and basically left to remedy any fault yourself. Could be great place under new management.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We arrived at Malibu at approximately 10.30pm. Metin (also known as Michael) was there. We don't think he was expecting us as he kept checking our booking confirmation on his laptop. He then told us our apartment wouldn't be ready until the following day and that he'd put us in the attic room for the night. We didn't argue as we were half way up a mountain in the dark late at night and didn't have anywhere else to go. Metin gave no apology and offered no compensation. As far as he was concerned that was the way it was going to be. Some training on customer service skills wouldn't go amiss.
The room he took us to can only be described as festering. It was grubby and the drains absolutely stank. Because the room was in the attic we kept hitting our heads on the ceilings (both the entrance door and the bathroom doors had been sawn off at right angles so they closed). The bathroom door hit the sink every time you opened it and you'd have to be a contortionist to manage a shower in there. There were no towels and no loo roll which is another indication that Metin wasn't expecting any arrivals that evening. The sheets were stained so we slept on the bed cover. Metin did put the aircon on for us, which gave some respite from the drains, but we woke up in the night cold and switched it off. In the morning when we woke up near suffocated with the heat and the smell we couldn't switch it back on again as there was no remote control or buttons that we could find on the machine. There was a set of drawers in the room with no knobs on, just the sharp screws sticking out and a wardrobe that was falling apart with one coat hanger.
The next morning we spoke to a couple of very friendly ladies at breakfast who asked when we'd arrived and which room we were in. When we told them we hadn't actually been allocated our room as yet, despite arriving the night before they said "Oh no you're not in the attic are you?!" and went on to tell us that they'd been put up there for 4 nights until their apartment was available. They said that as compensation Metin had agreed they could have free breakfasts but when they moved they were charged for the breakfasts because they'd had full English breakfasts instead of Turkish breakfasts. This wasn't clarified with them at the time and in the breakfast menu a full English is actually cheaper then Turkish. Our hears sank at this news. The ladies went on to tell us that there was a couple in their 70's that had been waiting a couple of weeks for a room and had had to rent a villa further up the hill. We found out later from another person we spoke to that this couple had actually been promised our apartment and on the day we arrived Metin had told them he'd received a last minute booking and put them off again. We booked at least a month before we arrived and we don't think he was expecting us, so we hope there wasn't a 3rd couple that lost out as well!
Luckily for us we did actually get our apartment on the day after we arrived so we only suffered 1 night in the festering attic. But until we actually got the keys at 3pm we fretted and were geared up for a real fight if necessary... Not how you want to spend the first day of your well-earned holiday...
The apartment was basic but ok so we can't really complain about it. We'd booked a budget hotel so we weren't expecting The Ritz. It was much cleaner than the attic, had a small balcony and served its purpose. The drains smelt a bit at times but nowhere near as bad as in the attic.
The location of the hotel is really nice. It's up in the mountains with lovely views and the pool area is lovely, with about 14 sun loungers. The pool is a good size and is very clean and well kept.
Because it's so small and quiet you can't help but get chatting to you neighbours and we met some really lovely people. None of them however had a good word to say about Metin. One couple had spent their whole holiday asking for crockery as they were self catering and only had one cup between them. The crockery never arrived so they ended up borrowing stuff off another neighbour. Others had no light bulb in their lounge and despite asking several times it still hadn't been replaced when we left.
Throughout our holiday we heard more and more horror stories about Malibu apartments. Apparently while we were there a couple had turned up in the early hours of the morning and there had been no-one to meet them and of course no apartments available. Prior to our arrival a couple were forced to rent accommodation elsewhere and had problems getting compensation from Metin to pay for this. Whilst we were out on our last night 2 couples turned up and there was no accommodation either of them.
I'm sure the horrors that we heard are just the tip of the iceberg, and it's a real pity because the place itself could be great with a decent manager and a bit more time and money spent on the rooms. Metin is cutting his own throat and that of his family by turning the place into a shambles. We made it our mission to spend as little money as possible at his bar/restaurant because of the way we were treated upon our arrival. We love a good nosh and a good drink as for us that's what holidays are all about. But we took our custom elsewhere so he lost an awful lot of money out of us (much more than he made from the apartment). Others we spoke to had done the same, some even taking their own drinks down to the pool area. Although we don't blame them for that as on the few occasions that we did have a beer there it was always warm, which is not what you want when it's 38 degrees! Another criticism of the bar would be the music. We've got nothing against Lionel Ritchie but every day for hours on end is a bit much. One evening (whilst sitting on our balcony drinking our own ice cold beer and eating our own snacks) we had to suffer his dulcet tones for 5 hours non stop, which I'm sure even his greatest fans would agree is overkill.
So, would we go back there? NOT A CHANCE! But not because of the place. It could have been absolutely fantastic had it been managed differently.
You may go there and get a fully equipped and fully working apartment straight away, and absolutely love it. We would never take that risk again. Just because you have a piece of paper from Travel Republic or Booking.com confirming your apartment is bought and paid for doesn't mean a thing. If you want to take that risk I'd advise having extra cash with you in case you end up paying to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank robandacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Just arrived back from MALIBU had a fab time.Arrived early hours Mickey was there to welcome us. Rooms were lovely and clean and nothing to much trouble you only had to ask, all the family were lovely and friendly even met the grandchildren. Lovely and peaceful by the pool if you wanted to chill out and english music playing in the backround. Also the pool area very clean. We would walk down the hill to Hisaronu for night life and taxi back up about 10 TL thats about £3 .Plenty to do and see definatly going back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After reading all the good reviews about JOSEPH and MALIBU we decided to book here as it seemed quite reasonably priced.. what a mistake that turned out to be! We were transported from the airport and arrived at Malibu at around 1am, we were quite a large group - 11, and we had booked 4 rooms. When we arrived, we were told they only had 3 rooms and they would arrange the 4th room the next day(???) We argued but eventually agreed once we were told that they would move some extra beds into our rooms so that we all at least has somewhere to sleep. Whilst I was waiting for the bed, a 15 year old kid walked into our room, threw a mattress on the floor and said here you go.. and promptly left. I wish I was joking..

The rooms are small, the beds (if you are lucky to get one) feel as though they have taken a absolute pounding. Not one of us managed to get any sleep that first night, thankfully we were moved somewhere else the following day so we had a great time in Turkey but I wouldn't go near this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.8 mi away
Eftelya Apart Hotel
Eftelya Apart Hotel
#82 of 102 in Oludeniz
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Park Artemisia Club
Royal Park Artemisia Club
#97 of 102 in Oludeniz
138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Leytur Hotel
Leytur Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Tolay Hotel
Tolay Hotel
#53 of 102 in Oludeniz
371 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
Celay Hotel
Celay Hotel
#1 of 10 in Hisaronu
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malibu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malibu Apartments

Property: Malibu Apartments
Address: Ovacik Mah. Yenikoy Cad. No:4, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malibu Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Also Known As:
Malibu Apartments Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing