We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT listen to bad reviews, its great!”
Review of Mellis Hill Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mellis Hill Hotel
Ranked #95 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“DO NOT listen to bad reviews, its great!”
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Prior to our arrival we made the mistake of reading the reviews about this hotel, and were scared because as a rule we are fussy! I'm not normally one of these sad, boring people who writes reviews, but we feel the hotel has suffered an injustice by being slated and the reviews need updating! I'm currently sat on the balcony of our room in manas park and can genuinely say you will not be disappointed with what you get here! Our room is below the pool, all renovated!Everything lovely really modern and clean, with a sea view. Everything has been updated and is brand new, you can even smell the paint! The drink measures are good and the food, lovely. Our first meal was a kind of greek salad and then a turkish beef stew concoction-all really tasty! The 'dirt track' is not what you think its going to be we were expecting a seedy little path- it literally takes 1 minute until you get to a normal footpath into the town!! To all you haters out there...bore off!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank emfaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    14
    4
    10
    6
See reviews for
3
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Hotel has potential, but nees a good manager and a good shake up but you also need to be lucky enough to be allocated one of the rooms above the pool, rooms below the pool are filthy, damp, unkempt, and in really bad need of repair and decoration. There is a bad stench of sewage in these rooms. I was allocated 1 of these and was distraught although upon complaining we were moved to a much better standard room, but would place that in a basic range but it was clean only complaint was mouldy bathroom. Food is pretty much the same most days and you will find yourself eating out, place is also plaqued by wasps and hygiene standards pretty low.. wouldnt really reccomend much better holels in area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kazlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

My family & I stayed here from 10th July 2010, should have been there 14 days, we left after the collapse of Goldtrail Holidays because the hotel wanted another £860 for the 7 days we stayed! This hotel is not worth £8.60 for 14 days let alone the £2214.50 we actually paid!
Staff were rude, meals were disgusting & cold, rooms were dirty, no cleaners at all came during our stay & we had no loo roll until we bought our own!
Its approx 1 mile to the beach down a dusty mud track with no lighting to get back at night so you had no choice but to pay 8 - 10 TL for a taxi home! No entertainment what so ever, you had to go out (OR GO MAD LISTENING TO THE SAME CD OVER & OVER AGAIN!!!). We have been to Turkey 3 times now & this was just a nightmare from start to finish!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angie_briggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2010

On arrival we were greeted by Jon and taken to our room on the ground floor above the pool. It is very basic to say the least. The bed was very comfortable, and the room was clean and adequate. Breakfast very enjoyable very turkish if you wanted tea bags you only had to ask but we took our own. Freshly crushed orange juice was also available but again you had to ask. The staff were always friendly and helpful and if you wanted the music turning down they would turn it down. If it was there we asked for it and if we wanted something we asked for it. Other holidaymakers also took our lead. The pool was deep and unsuitable for non swimmers but the sun bathing area was fine as was the bar. Many a good evening was spent around the bar and many good friends made.
The trips were excellent the canyon and Thlos especially. We throughly enjoyed the holiday after a hesitant start loved meeting everyone there especially, Lisa and Adrian, Joe and Chris and the young Irish couple also the owners and staff and especially Sunshine. Turkish evening a must. Accept the cockrell crowing and the Iman calling in the early hours as this is the real Turkey. We will certainly be going again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicjanyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed at this Hotel for the first week in October on what was our first visit to Turkey.
We were located on the top floor overlooking the pool and breakfast area and despite a problem in our first room, after being moved we enjoyed a lovely stay. I have read comments about the swimming pool since returning home and as we both swam in it each day( as did numerous other people ) found it to be both clean and well maintained.
We were made welcome by the staff and the breakfast was enjoyable.
The walk both to and from town was invigorating but is not for people with mobility problems or one too many nightcaps!
If you are looking for good views, outside the noise of town, paying budget prices then this ticks the right boxes.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolIanMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Englishman abroad
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

The Mellis Hill Hotel is a strange place to describe because it has quite a bit to recommend it but it also has quite a bit to put you off going there, I must say that if you have any kind of mobility problem this hotel is definitely not for you.
The main reason to recommend it is its isolation and its basic facilities, perversely the main reason not to recommend it is also its isolation and its basic facilities, it all depends what you want from your holiday.
The Mellis Hill Hotel is set in the quiet(ish) foothills above the resort of Oludeniz about 300 yards from the busy main road and is accessed from the road by a very steep dirt track, the area round and about the hotel is all rough ground with a small rough gravel courtyard, do not be surprised if your transfer coach drops you off at the side of the road and expects you to make your own way to the hotel.
The hotel itself is set on two levels with some rooms above the pool area and some rooms below (under) the pool area, all rooms except six are only accessible via steps and all have a sea view (the sea is about a mile away but hey it’s a sea view) All dining is alfresco, breakfast (self service) is served under a pergola covered in grape vines, other meals (from a limited menu) are served on the terrace next to the bar, whilst this, indeed, sounds very quaint it means that you are subject to the vagaries of the weather and the local biting insects, your food gets cold very quickly and you are subjected to the very loud music the staff insist on playing all of the time, making conversation virtually impossible.
Breakfast consists of 2 kinds of cheese, tomato, green and black olives, cucumber, hard boiled egg, melon, bread, butter and jam with a choice of either tea (made in an urn), which is very strong or the local instant coffee which you make yourself, but beware this is very strong coffee powder here. Normally it is self service but on our last 2 days it came plated up and was the most unappetising concoction I have ever seen.
The pool area and terrace at first glance look very nice but on closer inspection are shabby to say the least, with worn out sun loungers and equally worn out tables and parasols being the norm; the floor around the pool area could do with a good clean, the pool is very deep along the whole length and breadth apart from the semi-circular end where there are steps, even this is too deep (in my opinion) for children as there are no barriers between this and the main body of the swimming pool.
The hotel rooms are very, very basic; furnishings consist of a bed and a wardrobe, there is air con but that is payable locally, the en suite bathroom comprises a lavatory, a hand basin and a corner shower cubicle, I must tell you that the plumbing for the shower is suspect to say the least with a mere trickle at the shower end and an inability to drain the water quickly enough at the plughole end.
The room wasn’t cleaned unless we asked and the supply of clean towels was the same. The rooms have a small balcony with two chairs.
Do not be, at all, surprised to be woken in the wee small hours every day by either, dogs barking, cocks crowing or the local imam calling the faithful to prayer at 110 decibels (at 5am) or occasionally all of these at the same time! But you will get used to that!
The path down to Oludeniz is about half a mile long, very rough and very steep and when the sun goes down very dark. If you plan on visiting Oludeniz in the evening I would suggest that you take a good torch and spare batteries with you. (Yes really!) The alternative is to use the local dolmus or taxi service, the dolmus will cost a couple of lira and the taxi will cost 10 lira.
The staff; well what can I say? They seemed reasonably helpful if more than a little odd at times, maybe they were a little stir crazy, who knows?
Security is virtually non existent, I was horrified to learn that our passports had been kept in the top drawer of the office desk and it wasn’t even locked! There is a travellers (Gypsy) camp alongside the track to Oludeniz and whilst there are safety deposit boxes in the ’reception’ area if you use them be careful, the staff were rubbernecking every time I went to take some money out. Knowing what I know now I would probably only take my debit card with me as there are lots of ATM’s in Oludeniz.
The main problem with this hotel is that it is badly in need of some decent organisation, some strong discipline and a little bit of money spending on it.
When the music was turned off it was a lovely peaceful spot to catch the sun and relax with a good book, sadly these occasions were few and far between.
Would we stay here again? Yes, I think we would but I certainly wouldn’t recommend it to families, especially those with small children

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardinalSin666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

My boyfriend and I have just returned from the Mellis Hill Hotel and we loved it! We were met at 1am by Bayram who made sure we settled in well. From thereonin everything was brilliant, the room, the food, the views, the guests and the staff. Of course you get little niggles with everything but nothing to suggest this was only a 2 star hotel. Like others, we were happy to stay at the hotel on many occasions to enjoy the views, food and the crack with other guests and the staff. As it was getting cooler in the evenings the lads even set up a bonfire in the evenings, how cool! My only negative point really is that by the end of the season the pool looked a tad grubby.
We'll definitely be returning, thank you for a great holiday.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skully70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotels Lykia
Liberty Hotels Lykia
#18 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,417 reviews
0.0 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#16 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,462 reviews
0.0 mi away
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
SENTIDO Lykia Resort & Spa
#4 of 102 in Oludeniz
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#77 of 102 in Oludeniz
89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#68 of 102 in Oludeniz
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mellis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mellis Hill Hotel

Property: Mellis Hill Hotel
Address: Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Number of rooms: 38
Also Known As:
Hotel Mellis Hill
Mellis Hill Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing