We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem!”
Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Greenland
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed at the Greenland for 11 nights from 1 October. The hotel is situated in Ovacik which is a quiet location but within easy reach of Olu Deniz and Fetiyhe. The surroundings are breathtaking!

The accommodation was of an excellent standard (we stayed in the deluxe rooms at the top part of the hotel). Massive comfortable bed, large plasma TV, balcony overlooking the pool and a well appointed bathroom with a bathtub for the kids. The maid service was excellent, spotless hotel! The downside was the rooms were not cleaned until the late afternoon, which did interfere with the kid’s afternoon nap. After I mentioned this to the maid, she then came in the morning.

The food was all open buffet. We found it to be fresh, varied and delicious! My husband who is a notoriously fussy eater has never enjoyed his food so much! They truly had something for everyone. It was nice to see some traditional Turkish dishes too. The deserts were out of this world! So good that I would sneak a plate of the baklava to my room to enjoy once the kids were asleep. There wasn't a specific children’s menu, but plenty on offer to suit all. My boy ate chips, chips and more chips (but that's just toddlers being toddlers). The restaurant staff are very friendly and genuinely love kids!

The alcoholic drinks were of good quality. There are tea/coffee machines, water and various cordial drinks around the hotel so you can always help yourself.

We used the dolmus a few times to get into Hisaronu and Fetiyhe and found them to be very cheap, comfortable and regular (Note – there is no such thing as a bus stop in Turkey)

We didn’t use any of the entertainment as we were confined to our room after dark with the kids so can’t comment on it!

The hotel is spotless with very nicely kept grounds. They have hammocks scattered about, and there are chickens and tortoises roaming around! You can always find a quiet spot to be alone!

We’ll be back for sure!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TurkLokum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,658)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,419 - 1,425 of 1,658 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

we arrived at the Greenland very early morning 12/10/09 for a 7 night stay. the reception staff was very helpful and checking in was quick and easy, we was soon shown to our room (127) which was on the small size but had everything we needed. a few things we notice about this room that might bother other people is that every morning when people above you have a shower or use the toilet you hear the water going through the drains, this room is close to the night time entertainment so it can get loud with people going to there rooms and music so people that like an early night ask for a quiet room. breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner were very nice, there was always something different and plenty to choose from. drinks on offer were ok but in my opinion they was watered down. the bar staff were to interested in throwing ice cubes at other staff or guest than serving drinks at times which sometimes led to getting drinks you didn't order. the bar at the top part of the hotel complex seemed a lot better drinks and service and the pool was quiet. the main pool was very cold and took a few attempts to get in. on the odd occasion around the main pool you'd get a smell of sewerage but it wasn't for long also the bar staff at night was using green mats behind the bar for spilling drinks on, these mats where then used around the pool in the day which attracted bees and wasps. yes the hotel is out the way from the towns and busy areas but a short taxi/dolmus ride or a 45 minute walk to hisaronu. we did notice on the evening meal that people were queueing to get into the restaurant that served food for TWO hours, we waited and hour and there was no problem finding a table or queueing for food. the entertainment staff wasn't really interested during the day but became a bit more active in the evening I would say yes its a bit like butlins at time with the music man, ymca, birdy song every night for the kids but then it wasn't to bad the holiday is what you make of it! the breackdancers was very good and the Mr Greenland contest was brilliant. overall had a good holiday enjoyed the food, drinks, and evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yellowbelly81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Not long returned from what my wife and I thought was an excellent, good value for money, 2 week break. Whilst having a few reservations about the entertainment staff and their attitude to some customers, much of what was laid on, from outside was really very good and of a high standard. Particularly enjoyed the acrobatic dancers, belly dancers and the turkish music evening. The internal entertainment was not so good and i felt sorry for any children there as it was the same every night. I can now sing Music Man in my sleep!. Our room was bigger than we expected and more than adequate for 2 weeks stay. The only downside was that it didn't get cleaned until late in the afternoon which created difficulties with a siesta. Maid service was excellent though. The food we thought was superb and very plentiful, too plentiful as I was unable to eat the afternoon snack at all, which was more like a meal. We enjoy eating other countries cuisine and the effort and care that went into what was served was excellent. The waiters we found friendly and attentive, sometimes too much so, when they were clearing cups and glasses before you had finished. The bar staff, in the evening, were excellent and once they knew what you drank would produce it without waiting to be asked. It is a little bit away from the livlier places but a good dolmus service allows you to get to Hisaronu, Olu Deniz or Fethiye very easily and cheaply. The hotel offer a free return minibus service to Olu Deniz daily. We did not take any of the excursions on offer as we have done them all before and did not wish to repat any. We enjoyed this holiday so much that we have booked to return next year and we are both looking forward to returning to a place that we thought was exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurribear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2009

first of all i will give the positives,the food was good,maids very pleasant and hard working,top pool very clean with friendly staff now for the changes.
i will start with the worst first ENTERTAINMENT WHAT ENTERTAINMENT
tanner and sarah could not be bothered at all,the poor children waited for some fun only to be halfheartedly dragged up to piano man with a gum chewing sarah thats if she could drag herself away from her ciggys.tanner swanned about i am sure he was thinking everybody would be happy just watching him best entertainment was break dancers and acrobatic dancers which hats off were good.
the waiters were cold and unresponsive but i am not sure it was their fault as one tried to make a fus of us and was quickly whisked away by the resturant manager
around the seated area at the bottom pool was very badly maintained with floor edging unscrewed and quite dangerous.
i know it is near the end of season but come on you only work six months,we worked a year to pay for this
the differance between this year and last was enormous and dont completely spoil a good thing because you will never get it back people that have come every year said they were trying somewhere else next year.SORT IT OUT

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitstoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I've just come back from a 7 night stay at this hotel and really don't have anything other than positive comments. Firstly let's be honest, the hotel is classed as a 4-star but given the price for 1 week all-inclusive you can't expect it to be on a par with the sort of 4-star hotels that charge 2 or 3 times the price. I arrived at the hotel at 3.30am and the night porter was helpful and courteous, check in was really speedy so i was able to get straight to my room and get some much needed sleep. I've read some reports that mention insects and damp in the rooms but my room was perfectly clean, dry and i didn't see any insects. The hotel only has one restaurant which is buffet style although i understand that they're planning to open a second restaurant next year? Some reviews on here have criticised the food but realistically the hotel is trying to cater for 300+ guests so you can't expect haute cuisine. Breakfast has a mixture of fruits and yoghurts, pastries, breads, pancakes, omelettes (cooked to order) and more traditional cooked breakfast. Lunch was probably my favourite meal of the day with a wide range of salad as well as hot food. At night they did include more traditional Turkish foods which i was pleased to see given that we were in Turkey!!! For the less adventurous diners there is a mid afternoon snack bar serving chips, pizza's and burgers! Drinks wise i did find the selection fairly limited but i would think most people could find a drink they like. Due to the time of year the hotel was relatively quiet so the entertainment team probably didn't have a great deal to do however the usual array of Karaoke, Bingo and Miss Greenland competitions were held in the main bar in the evenings. I decided to spend my evenings relaxing in the more chilled out bar above the "top pool" where the 2 lads behind the bar were fantastic. The hotel itself is situation just off the main road so it'll take a couple of minutes to get to the Dolmus (local bus) but once there you can travel to Fethiye or Olu Deniz and Hisaronu to sample more Turkish delights!! All in all, if you're looking for a first class destination or a honeymoon destination then you perhaps wouldn't enjoy the Greenland (unless you book one of their delux rooms with jacuzzi baths etc) but if you want a cheap holiday in a delightful part of Turkey then you can't really get better than the Greenland.

Stayed: October 2009
Thank Kazzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Best thing about this hotel was the cleaners, lovely, friendly and hard working. Reception staff could not care less - my husband ill during stay and I got the impression they found this amusing. Horrible room - did not get any natural light, could not get anything dry. Doors banging consistanly all night make sleep impossible, as do inconsiderate late night returners. I do realise that people are on holiday but some consideration for others never goes amiss. Your best chance of sleep is between the hours of 3-5am. Don't bother to stay at this hotel unless you upgrade to a deluxe room. Cannot comment on entertainment as Miss Greenland competition and bingo really not our scene. I am at a loss as to all the positive comments about the food, perhaps we had a really bad week. I will say yes, there was plenty of it, and the breakfast was generally good - but then I just had museli, yoghurt and honey. We did not like the hotel, so went out everyday, so again cannot comment on mid day snacks. Evening meals truly vile - overcooked rice - chicken, veg inedible - and queues a mile long for food simply not worth the wait, ended up just eating soup and fruit - my husband lost 9lbs and I lost 4lbs so maybe if you want to save money go to Greenland instead of Weight Watchers. Seriously we are not fussy but it was bad - there was a good selection of sweets if you have a sweet tooth. On a positive side the grounds are lovely and beautifully kept - but I really cannot think of anything else positive to say. Do go to Turkey, beautiful scenery, friendly people, great shopping, fantastic weather, I could go on but our advise would be to choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosie094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I travelled with my partner on 21st Sept for 10 days and had a lovely holiday, food was great, varied always something you could eat, breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, boiled eggs, cold meats, fried eggs done for you while you waited, omlettes again done for you fresh with various fillings and pancakes which were pretty good i must say, for lunch you could have salad, cold meats, cheese, chicken, rice, chips and home made soup which was lovely and tasty, and evening meal was again salad, chips, mash, croquettes, rice, and each night was different we had chicken, lamb, steak, fish and again soup so you never went hungry and as for the cakes they were so nice, so when people say the food is terrible they must be eating somewhere else, the staff in restaurant, bar, reception were all friendly and always spoke to you and asked how you were and the cleaning staff were lovely never stopped. The only thing which could do with improving is the entertainment but if its not what you want you can always go into town as there is plenty going on down there. I would recomment a night at the talk of the town in hisaronu, it is a drag act consisting of 3 men and a compere who all do a brilliant job and they are english, the only thing i would advise is not to get a seat near the front as you will get picked on but all in good fun, it costs £20 and you get food & first drink included. The weather was brilliant had 10 days of sunshine so no complaints there. Boat trips are cheap around £7 and you get food included and are out allday. Me and my partner paid £495 each for 10 days all inclusive which i thought was great value for money and would definately return to greenland

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiliey65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
3.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,590 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
641 reviews
3.4 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
614 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Address: Oludeniz Mah. Sk.3 No: 3, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#15 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#34 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $48 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenland 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing