We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it :)))”
Review of Hotel Greenland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Greenland
Ranked #15 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This was our Fourth Stay. Once again had a great relaxing time, Although the staff turn over is high every year the quality they provide makes the holiday complete. The Waiter, Adam is a real star to say they work 14/15 hours a day for 6 Months they are a cheerful bunch.

The food standard is still very good. I often found myself going down the line of "Tins" see some chicken choose that with some rice and think good...then a little further find a nice stew at the end, look at the plate and think "Okay..Chicken Rice...and stew" perhaps a little menu card at the start of the line so you can plan what to pick :) or even on the tables, so so you don't have to mixing your food :D

The top pool was lovely although needed to be up a little earlier for the place you really want :) There did seem plenty of room at the bottom pool. of course it was a little quieter with it been towards the end of September.

Speaking of the pools..one thing that are needed are NEW PARASOL HOLDERS, many of them did not grip the parasol and most parasols had a few holes in them and looked a little tatty,

In my last review last year wrote in regard to the hill between the bottom and top pools ---- "..haha. just had to take it slow, a small bench half way up would be nice..just for a little rest :D" I am pleased to say they have benches on the way up both on the main path and the one on the back "forest" path -- Well Done Hotel Greenland

The Nightly entertainment was okay, but towards the end of the 2 weeks we found ourselves after Dinner staying above the Tipsy Turtle bar near the reception or towards the back of the swimming pool near the pool bar having a coffee or drink or just going to the top pool bar as we had seen most or similar acts/programme for the past 4 years, after saying that it wouldn't stop us returning :) and the team work very hard.

The superior rooms are worth that little more, They seem a lot quieter, not as much shouting and banging doors, as we had spent a afternoon in the standard room as a late checkout in block 5 room 515 the chatter outside from the cleaners and moving of furniture due to the paper thin walls and doors the sound just travelled around and to have a sleep was difficult as I am a light sleeper. So its a personal choice. But the standard rooms themselves were fine and if I wasn't such a light sleeper I wouldn't have a problem at all.

I haven't mentioned too many good points as I would be here all night to fill the review the easy way would be to say. We hope to return next year as WE love the place, perfect place, perfect scenery, Perfect location (for us) Perfect resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baroslfc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,628)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Greenland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel Greenland has fantastic friendly staff who are always more than happy to help. The food was the best I have ever had abroad and there was always a large selection of choice with us never being stuck for what to have. We did not spend a lot of time outside the hotel resort, however the time we did spend was always enjoyable. Olu Deniz beach and the Blue Lagoon are very nice and the market at Fethiye is a decent day out. Food prices were all very very reasonable so no complaints there. Overall a great holiday. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

as we always check trip advisor reviews before we finally book our holiday this hotel came as a big shock to us, the reviews of this hotel were good so we decided to book a week,
the food was canteen quality not saying that all canteens are poor but you get the drift,not a great choice, very poor quality, the alchoholic drinks let me just say, rather watery if you ask me, if you like a quality drink you have to pay i'm afraid!,
one occasion a small child was sick on the cakes and they just wiped the sick off the plate and left it on display!! come on what is that about?entertainment is by holidaymakers basically making a fool of themselves,if you go you better take extra cash you will be in town looking for nice food, oh, and that is a bus ride away,
the only good points are that it is spotless and the maids do a great job,
sorry greenland but i won't be back, first choice need to have a look at the star rating of this place, buyer beware!,!!,
i have been as truthful as i could be on this hotel, please investigate further before you book,,

Room Tip: upgrade !, before you go,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We`ve just returned this morning from the Greenland and we had a relaxing holiday. The staff are good, the food is good but sometimes barely warm and our room was nice. No complaints from us but just a few suggestions to make a good stay even better.
I felt the 55lira charge for use of the room safe was a bit excessive. Previous stays in Turkey have offered these as part of the room and free of charge.
The food was good but was often barely warm and much as the desserts looked lovely it would have been nice to have the choice of simple ice cream. yet again other hotels we`ve stayed at in Turkey just have ice cream in a freezer for you to help yourself at meal times.
There is tea and coffee in the dining room at breakfast but not at lunchtime or dinner. I know there are machines situated near the bar, outside reception and near the pool but it would be nice to enjoy a cuppa with or after a meal. They have teabags near the machines but no milk but the heat would probably curdle it anyway so maybe powdered milk could be offered at the drinks stations for those of us who don`t like black tea.
The room was nice enough ( we paid for a superior ) but the pillows were awful and the room lacked a bin. There was a small bin in the bathroom but not in the bedroom so we ended up using carrier bags for disposing of teabags, newspapers, empty packets etc
We stayed near the top pool but the water was always too cold to swim. I realise Turkey is hot but the pool had constant freezing cold water filtering in to it and barely half a dozen people used it because of this. Just a few degrees warmer would make it comfortable and more people would use it.
The top bar was very quiet which we liked but the tables and chairs are well past their best, badly stained tables and hard chairs. Investing in new furniture would not only make it more comfortable but would also look more inviting.
The staff were all great, not one complaint about any we met.
Overall we had a lovely holiday

Room Tip: If you want peace then stay in a room near the top pool where its much quieter
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viennaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

once again had amazing time at the greenland hotel. so relaxing, staff very friendly again. food just as nice. a very welcoming hotel.has the best of both worlds at this hotel one pool lots going on or the top pool for thoose who just want peace and quiet. booked already for next year. cannot wait.

Room Tip: all the rooms to me are excellent been in the standard everytime, not worth paying extra for superio...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank amanda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Greenland Hotel, Ovacik, Turkey

We are a well traveled English couple in our early 50's and have traveled all over the world in the last 26 years staying in 2* accommodation to 6*. This is an objective review of the Greenland Hotel in Ovacik, Turkey from the 9th September 2012 for 14 nights.

We traveled from Gatwick with First Choice holidays. The bookin was very slow indeed at Gatwick and it took us an hour to wave good buy to our luggage. The flight was cramped and beware if you are pre-booking seats the configuration is 3 x 3 but the rows are not aligned. So if 4 of you are traveling and you book for example seats 21 A, B, C, D and expect the seats to be in a line across the cabin you will find that 21 D is actually one row closer to the front of the aircraft; the online seating plan will not show this.

The transfer from the airport to the hotel took about an hour by coach and was uneventful.

On arrival the check in was quick and efficient.

The hotel is located a little out of the way and unless you want a walk you will need to take a taxi or bus to get anywhere; these are not very expensive. We recommend taking the bus into the towns and getting a taxi back. As many others have said the hotel is located on quite a steep hill side; not recommended if you have any health issues related to walking or average fitness levels. We had no problems with the hill(s) and it probably was good for us walking to the top of the hotel to block number 7 that our room was in, above the quiet pool.

Our room was a superior family room, very nice with a good amount of space. The room located in block 7 consisted of a bedroom, living room and bathroom. The living room converts to a second bedroom by using the 2 settees as beds. It is worth noting that the only storage space for clothing is in the actual bedroom. The room has no tea / coffee making or ironing facilities. Both rooms had flat screen TV's. The bathroom was a reasonable size and nice with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer. The air conditioning, in both rooms, worked very well. The room had a fridge that was stocked with 2 small bottles of water. No other refreshments were provided via the fridge by the hotel. The room had a safe that you had to pay to use; this was a little annoying as we feel that a security feature should be free of charge.

Other family members came with us on this trip, 9 of us in total, and they stayed in a superior room and a standard room. Both of these rooms were very pleasant, as was ours, but you do get what you pay for and we would recommend certainly upgrading from the standard room as it was quite small, although we have to stress very nice. Regardless of the room type you opt for you should ask for upper floors as you may find that your view from the small balcony is of one of the walls that are in the grounds.

We have to say at this point that the food is not top notch but it is in line with what you paid for; the food is indeed quite adequate. Salads are excellent if a little repetitive. The main cooked food is limited each meal time. To be honest we really do not always eat as good as this at home, so unless you are a very fussy eater you will certainly find food to your liking every day.

The drinks are okay but once again not top notch and you get what you have paid for. We always found something to drink...

The 2 pools are nice and clean. The bottom pool is more fun based with music, food, games & the water slide. It's not overpowering at all, however if you do find it so then the top pool is the quiet one. The top pool is just a chill out zone. Both pools are of a good size and had plenty of sun beds when we were there in September. Both pool areas have separate, but small, children's pools. Unfortunately both of the large pools do not have a shallow end so children need to be able to swim well if they are going to use these without constant adult supervision. The hotel provide free pool towels (deposit required).

Wifi. Now you should know that this is a pet hate of mine. I feel that it is quite ridiculous in this day and age to be asked to pay for this service. It is my opinion that wifi access should be free in almost all circumstances, it's a vital business / leisure tool for life in the 21st century and to charge for it when a facility is in place in a given location is just a ripoff. I am please to inform you that this service was offered free of charge at this hotel, so well done to the hotel for this. However, I have to say that the wifi is a little glitchy at times fading in and out.

In conclusion. We can concur with so many of the other reviews, both the ones liking the hotel but also the not so favourable ones. Most of the guests are normal English people ranging in age from children to grand parents. In our opinion this is a very nice hotel, well run with friendly helpful staff but unfortunately not really 4*. We feel that this is a very good 3* establishment that is aspiring to be 4*. Once you understand this any little dissatisfactions you may have can be put into perspective. We are sure that you will have a nice time as long as you are not expecting a " Proper" 4* hotel. We really have no complaints so please do book this hotel if you like the sound of it and are looking for a good inexpensive relaxing pool based holiday.

Well done to all the staff at the hotel we certainly had a nice holiday, thank you very much :-)

For the guests:

Top tip 1. The Turkish bath experience offered by Joseph, normally to be found at the bottom of the steps by the slide, is well worth it.

Top tip 2. Help Beach Bar in Olu Deniz has live music Friday and Saturday from about 22:00. It's a good place to eat, drink and listen to a good band.

Top tip 3. Ask for an upper floor when booking.

For the hotel management to enable the hotel to be closer to the 4*s you are looking for:

Top tip 1. Rooms need tea / coffee making facilities as well as an iron.

Top tip 2. Ice cream for the children would be a big plus.

Top tip 3. The room above the top pool bar could be used as a Turkish restaurant and guests could book tables as an alternative to the main restaurant.

Top tip 4. Safe needs to be free of charge.

Top tip 5. Pool towels could do with replacing as many are looking very tired.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
10  Thank MPA-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Can't praise this hotel enough, its beyond words and has to be visited...it's a must! From the wonderful friendly staff to the accommodation, everything makes for a fantastic holiday.
We never had anything to complain about in the two weeks we were there.
The staff really make this hotel what it is and they would do absolutely anything for you, plus you don't feel uncomfortable with any of the male staff as they don't harrass the females or perve over them.
I normally write in my reviews about the details of this and that, but in a way i want to keep this place all to myself as i don't want it to be fully booked when i book for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siobhanceline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
3.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#16 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,536 reviews
3.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
484 reviews
3.4 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
612 reviews
3.6 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,860 reviews
0.9 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenland

Address: Oludeniz Mah. Sk.3 No: 3, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#17 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#34 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $45 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenland 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Greenland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greenland Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing