We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 star price...............5 star treatment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balkaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balkaya Hotel
Ranked #76 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“2 star price...............5 star treatment”
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Well, for the first 3 days we hated it. Everyone was telling us we should ask to be moved right away because we wouldn't like it, but when everyone had gone, we were allowed to form our own opinions and that's when we started to enjoy our holiday.

Solomon and David (brothers) own the Hotel and Veysi (crazy boy) is the Manager who will do anything and everything to make sure you enjoy your time there.

Our room was fantastic, 2 floors, 2 toilets ( 1 with shower), tv (with english film channel), nice table and 4 chairs, great balcony view and plenty of space.

The food was ok for what we paid, after all, you are in Turkey so you're gonna get Turkish food. English food is available and is very good quality, but we were half board so stuck to the Turkish menu offered. We paid for English food for our little girl and she loved it.

The staff are so friendly, they'll doa nything to help..........you only have to ask. David and Solomon sometimes join you in the pool if they aren't too busy (they do have a business to run) but Veysi is around most of the time and tries to join in the fun..........if there's no fun going on, then he starts some. Be sure to listen for him shouting "BBQ for a tenner" on Tuesdays.....great value and you can eat as much as you want.

The cleaners do a great job, a bit slow cos of their age and the heat, but what does it matter, it's always finished by the time you're done at the pool.

We have stayed in 4/5 star hotels before and not made many friends. We think that's because they're maybe a little snobby (no offence intended), but at the Balkaya, eveyone was so down to earth...........we have made so many new friends that we're gonna keep in touch with now we're back in the UK. We've even arranged to meet 2 of the families again next Easter at the Balkaya and we've only been home 2 days (hope everybody turns up).

If you're going to try the Balkaya, go with an open mind, remember how much you're actually paying for the hotel and go with the intention of having a fantastic holliday and you can't go wrong. There are some things in life you cannot put a price on and the friends and people we met at the Balkaya is 1 of them.

We want to thank Solomon and David and all the staff for maing our holliday so good, but we want to thank Veysi for making our holliday 1 we will never forget. We will be going back to the Balkaya and hope evertying and eveyone is the same.

1 last word guys, if you do go, make Angela (the Irish lady who practically lives there) buy you some Cheddar cheese, and also please feed Garfield, the local cat, who visits the hotel every morning and evening. Have a great holliday guys, we certainly did...........see ya there next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidfromLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    55
    36
    22
    71
See reviews for
90
108
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2010

Me and my family have been to turkey before and just booked on websites where we have no idea what the hotel is like, we did this again this year and once again success! When we first got there we had no idea what to expect, but as the holiday went on Balkaya hotel has proved to us what a fab place it is. It was so great we stayed there for most of the two weeks! The staff are great and we were treated like royalty with anything we did, the staff were so friendly and we formed a good friendship with most of them, it was very very hard to leave our friends; Hamza, Veysi, Davut, Osman, Handa and Ylmas who makes this hotel great. They all work so hard and give such a positive atmostphere around the place. We are going back next year and would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone. Love Abbie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Turkeylover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 31, 2010

My parents have recently brought a villa on the same estate as the Balkaya, I only booked 3 days as the beds were due to arrive at the villa on my second day. However I didnt want to leave the balkaya and so stayed on at the hotel for the duration of my trip instead of staying at the villa as originally intended. The room was cleaned daily and the staff were excellent. The food was all freshly prepared with a turkish or english choice and you could order food at anytime of the day or night. The hotel owner was really helpful and gave us some really helpful advice concerning the villa and where we could get stuff, they even lent my dad some tools for some DIY work that he needed to do, way beyond the call of duty.
I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family and would definatly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calistonbiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

I visited the Balkaya Hotel during July and read the reviews prior to visiting (so my expectations were not high to say the least). This Hotel was the pits - everything was a complete sham from start to finish. The place should be closed down.

If you have an early morning arrival then be prepared - No accommodation will be available upon your arrival at the hotel - you have to sleep on the sofa in reception which you share with the staff who were so drunk the previous evening that they never made it home. Dont worry you can share the pool with them as well in the morning when they use it to clean themselves. - The pool is also shared with the dogs who drink out of it and if you are really lucky you wont fall down the overflow gully around the edge of the pool which every morning has sections missing (this is because the staff like to sing loud and dance around the pool area, dislodging the sections, we replaced them four mornings running as we were concerned that a child would trip and fall or worse still break an ankle or leg). They use glass rather than plastic beakers for drinking out of around the pool area but dont worry if a glass gets broken, they just swep it into the borders for anyone to walk on.

When you do eventually get given a room dont be too disappointed - you will have a bed and a wardrobe (maybe if you are really lucky it will have handles on), there is also a tv which wont work, air conditioning which you pay extra for and yippee an en-suite - oooops no its a closet with a handbasin, toilet and shower - all so close that you can complete the three actions without moving an inch.

Food - well be cautious - there were lots of flys and insects over the breakfast and keep you children away from the so called toaster - its a hotplate type griddle that is conveniently placed two feet off the floor - ideal for youngstesr to touch or god forbid fall on, a nightmare - totally irresponsible of the mangement not to realise how dangerous it could be ( but then again I dont suppose they care less). Evening meals were bland and uninteresting - chicken nearly every night - no tea or coffee unless you purchase at the bar and at an additional cost. Soup every day - melon every day and if you dont eat it straight away it becomes warm very quickly - yuck!

Entertainment once a week - barbeque and belly dancers - they will charge you £10.00 per person or you can pay turkish tl (be careful here they will charge you more than the exchange rate at local agencies, even the rate on their own reception was less than what they were charging). Other entertainment is drinking at the pool bar until 6.00am - dont expect to sleep even if you are not down at the bar because the music is so loud you cant have a conversation in you room without having to shout.Drink are expensive, 5tl for an EFES - 3.5tl elsewhere - be careful if you go for the cocktail, buy one get one free, the second is alchol free - they are only interested in you if they are ripping you off. Dont take a tab at the pool bar and always check the tab - you will without doubt be charged for drinks and food you havent had - the staff brag about doing this.

Dont take cream or off white towels for use around the pool area as they will steal them, claiming them as their own and you then have a fight on your hands trying to get them back. I wouldnt mind but their own towels are so thin if you blew your nose on them they would rip, not the sort you would hang on the washing line let alone take on holiday.

One morning it was 8.00 and no sunbeds, pool not cleaned and bar area still covered in used glasses and filled asshtrays - great impression.

We left after the first week, couldnt stand the lack of customer care or the interest that any of the staff were giving, it is just a joke to them - just one big joke.

Have I got anything good to say about this Hotel - ABSOLUTELY NOT!

I can recommend the Gorkham Hotel around the corner, worth paying the little extra for a service and quality a million times better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 14jun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

March, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Three friends and I visited this hotel in July 2010 and were delightfully surprised at the tremendous welcome, the charming lounges, the immaculate swimming pool and the delicious Turkish food served for breakfast and evening dinner. We could also have had English versions if we had wished to do so. Added to this, the Belly ~Dancing~ night was fantastic and the constant friendliness would ensure that even single people visiting this particular hotel would have felt relaxed and at home. The people who run it know just what the British want and provide everything as well as idyllic surrounding scenery of fantastic mountain views. Shall certainly go there again. Bettina Croft, Karen Smith, Lisa Smith and Sam.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank bettina_arundell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We arrived about 6am in the morning. Upon arrival the reception area was staffed by a young guy in shorts- yes just shorts and a smile. His English was better than my Turkish so fair play to him. He stated that there was no room for us and we would have to wait. Whilst waiting we noticed a guy asleep on a sofa in the reception area. We were told it was the porter who had had a little too much to drink and was sleeping it off. Nice.
We were eventually shown a family room as a temp. measure. This was OK but very basic. Wakefield Prison has a higher star rating. We asked when we would be moved to our room but they did not know- maybe 9am maybe 2pm. Because we did not want to fall asleep and be disturbed we decided to stay up (we had been awake all night due to the flight etc). Breakfast was shortly served and to be honest i have seen better meals on wheels. The food is below basic and you can have it warm at extra cost if you want. The food was cold on three attempts at the same dish. Even the owner (who was standing next to me in the queue) checked his food and his was also stone cold. They then wanted to microwave it whilst leaving the salad on the plate.

Eventually we were shown a room which was very small and had an en suite with it although this was very small with a combined shower/ sink/ toilet arrangement which meant everything got wet when the shower was on. In fact you could sit on the toilet, shower and brush your teeth all at the same time if you wanted to.

The staff running the bar are OK but the management are 'unique'. It is the first time I have seen a manager in ill fitting shorts and a vest as the standard dress for his job. He actually found it amusing to jump in the pool and state that he was having a wash- the bad thing is I really do think this was how he WAS getting a wash. He is loud and initially very helpful as long as you want to spend money. If your idea of fun is sitting at the bar drinking till 5am listening to his poor jokes and crass antics then you will do well. The basic rule is which ever group shouts the loudest for a type of music or entertainment then that is what will rule. In our unfortunate time there this was in the form of very loud R&B music for 20 hours a day (including explicit swearing in the lyrics whilst children were around). Yes I do mean 20 hours a day- 9am to 5am. A particular group thought they were in heaven with this and made it their business to ensure this music was played all the time. Age groups in the hotel were from young couples to retired couples and families. I have yet to find a retired couple getting on down with their arthritis to P Diddy or who ever is the latest R&B demi god.

The food- was it food? Sweet every day was warm melon slices so I hope you like melon or usually live in a zoo because there is nothing else. The chunks are that big you would think they had a resident hippo to feed.

Starter is soup. One evening my soup was luminous in colour and we just could not make it out at all. To be fair the bread was fresh (ish) so you can survive on this.

The main courses are open cold buffet (the flies love it) and some kind of luke warm/ cold concoction which we played 'I'll name that food in 4' with. Chips were available but interestingly cheese was not. We noticed that a girl had grated cheese on her pasta- ooh cheese we thought. You cannot have cheese as it was especially done for a vegi and you have to be vegi to have the cheese (John Cleese eat your heart out). Eventually we gave up on the food as it was just humiliating to try it and went out most nights. It was that bad even Joseph Stalin would have been ashamed to serve it in a Ghulag prison.
Other interesting options were staying alive or injury free. A hot plate was used as a toaster which was conveniently placed on a table about 2 foot off the ground- just right for a toddler or young child to grab hold of or stick their hands on, wire flexes were taped together or just twisted together, the pool drain around the pool had gaps in just right for breaking your ankles and a large pumping hose ran across the outside dining area which a child tripped over . DON'T take white/ cream towels as they will claim them as theirs. We had ours taken away from the pool area as you cannot use their towels. We then spent 30 minutes pointing out BHS labels but this still took some doing.

On the last day we were there, two engineers came and removed a tank cover from the patio area floor. This was amongst dining tables (which I was using). They removed the pipe (which the boy tripped over) and inserted another pipe to pump the tank out. The pipe was covered in dark sludge -I don't know what it was but it was on the floor and around the dining tables and I was still eating. we decided at that point that the place was not fit for use and started looking for another hotel.

Bar prices are not excessive but more than other hotels and bars. A beer is 5TL where many other hotels and bars are 3.5TL/ 4TL. Watch out for the 'happy hour' where cocktails are 2 for 1. Yes they are but the second one has no alcohol in (they don't tell you that and hope you are that plastered that you do not notice). I asked for WiFI connection- 10TL, Air conditioning 10tL A NIGHT ( thats £30 a week), safety box 5tl a day. If they can make money out of you then they are your friends...... please note that all this can be free if you are a single female group and the manager can show you his speedboat- lucky you.

Eventually we had had enough and found an apartment in the resort at another hotel and stayed there for the last three nights which was peaceful and bliss.

You can read this and say ' sour grapes' which os OK by me. You may be lucky and love being awake till 5am and they play your music very load and you like very poor food and don't mind sharing the pool with the staff's hygiene routine or you may not. If you go and have a good time then get it on here because I would love to know how you did it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iain42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2010

As I said in the title this was possibly the best two weeks of my life. I travelled with two friends we went half board we got the hotel for about £155 for the 2 weeks half board so we where not expecting an amazing hotel with Michelin star food.

Rooms
We arrived a 6am there time in the morning we where shown to are room which was huge it was a 6 person room but we where moved on the second day which we had no problem with because a 6 person room for 3 people makes no sense. We where moved to the main part of the hotel which we where put in the smallest room of the hotel but that’s what we paid for so we where happy with it because the air con worked perfect and who cares what your room looks like you only sleep in it your on holiday . The maids came to clean are room everyday I’ve never had that before and I have been to turkey 4 times now. The rooms are a bit load when people in the hall shut there door it sounds like they are slamming them but the hall just makes it loader they cant do anything about that. On the last day we where not getting picked up till half one in the morning we where giving are room till 12 o’clock that night no extra charge also never had that before.

Food
We where half board the breakfast was basic boiled eggs ,meats ,cereals ,bread and tea and coffee we never really had it because we really never got up in time for it ,its on till half 9. The dinner was really nice I thought but I like that kind of food which was mainly salads chicken and Turkish starters rice and chips the main meal changes every night and soup which is some of the best soup I have ever had. There is also fruit for sweet….enjoy your meal you will get this joke after you go there very funny. The drinks where not that expensive they are around the same price as in the bars in towns. A bottle of efes beer was 5TL and vodka and juice 7TL and glass of coke etc 2.50TL cocktails are 10TL and a bottle water was 1TL which is a bit more expensive than in the shops around but that’s still not that expensive.

Staff
The staff where the best friendliest and most help people I have met I think you would never had a boring day at the hotel with them or night. Turkish night is a must its only £10 and so much food and you must get up to dance with the belly dancer such a laugh.

Pool area and bar
The pool is big for a Turkish hotel there is a lack of sun beds but if you ask one of the staff they fetch you one if there is one. They will even move peoples towels off them if people just to decide leave them on them and go out which I think is a great thing because I can stand that. At the bar there is always music played but its British and they are good a choosing music which go well with the guests the music gets put lower at about 12ish but is still on as long as people are at the bar but they were stopping music all together about 1 I heard them say. But there was a little girl there who stayed in there room right next to the bar and her dad said they never had any problems at all with it saying they could barley hear it.

Hotel in general
There are two dogs there Linda and duke I think and a cat which comes for meals all 3 of them are cute and funny and one day me and a friend and a cat which followed us home from the phone box and was still there when we left they are friendly to the animals there unlike other place in turkey. The hotel is clean overall. The staff never had taken food off us we walked in with crisps and nut and we just offered them some and they where happy with it. Just don’t take in bags full of food the odd bag of crisps or that.

Over all I found this as a great holiday great hotel don’t think I have a bad point about the hotel apart from the lack of sun beds.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotish-boy-ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.1 mi away
Pink Palace
Pink Palace
#63 of 102 in Oludeniz
561 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
0.9 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#65 of 102 in Oludeniz
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Grand Ucel Hotel
The Grand Ucel Hotel
#83 of 102 in Oludeniz
148 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#17 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,432 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#5 of 102 in Oludeniz
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkaya Hotel

Property: Balkaya Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mahallesi 1, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balkaya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Balkaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkaya Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing