We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty,smelly shed of a hotel.”
Review of Balkaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balkaya Hotel
Ranked #76 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
basingstoke
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“dirty,smelly shed of a hotel.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

this was my first experience of a hotel holiday in turkey and will be my last. the hotel is a complete mess. dirty, mouldy, holes in wall broken shower .......etc etc etc.... I could go on telling you how bad this hotel is but reviews from other people on here say it all...... don.t come to this hotel please you will be very disappointed..!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drbrucebasingstoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    57
    37
    22
    71
See reviews for
92
110
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Let me start by saying, IF YOU WANT FIVE STAR, THEN PAY FIVE STAR MONEY AND BOOK THE HILTON!
However, if you want to experience Turkey, and lay in the sun, and have a great holiday for next to nothing, then you won't be disappointed.

Some people have champagne tastes, but lemonade money!

I have stayed in All Inclusive's before, and paid double what we paid for this hotel, and have never had as much fun.

The Hotel:
This hotel is in need of some minor refurbishment, but the pool is clean and safe, and there are plenty of sunbeds (with cushions) and umbrellas even when the hotel is fully booked.
It is in a good location for shops and bars/restaurants. Olu Deniz is a short hop on the bus away(for 5 Turkish Lira for two), which is one of the most beautiful places in Turkey. With a stunning beach and Blue Lagoon.
The local shopkeepers are all friendly and don't be afraid to haggle and offer the price you want to pay!

The Rooms:
The room we had was clean and of a good size. (like I said, if you want a sprawling villa then pay up and book one)
There was originally a problem with the balcony door, but Soloman (the manager) had it fixed almost immediately and we had beautiful views of the mountains and the pool.
The family rooms are split over two levels and are the better choice.

The Food:
The choice of food is a little disappointing, but the quality was always good and my wife and I didn't experience any tummy troubles. It was traditional Turkish food most of the time which was always tasty.

The Staff:
The staff were fantastic!! A huge Thank you to Soloman, David, Serjan, Adem, Metin, Elvan and ALL the other staff at the Balkaya for making our stay one of the best holidays we've ever had.
They are all friendly and speak English very well. I tried to make the effort to speak Turkish and I felt that was much appreciated.

Overall:
This was our first holiday without the children and my wife and I had a fantastic time. We would go back tomorrow if we could. For the price you pay you can't really complain, and if the food really isn't to your taste there are plenty of restaurants and bars nearby which are cheap and serve great food including all your favourite English dishes if that's what you go abroad for.

We will be booking again next year!

Tip:
Take English money and change it out there for a better rate. Most of the shops/bars/restaurants take English money anyway and you actually get a better rate that way.
We got 2.7 Lira to the pound back home, whereas the Turkish work it out at 3!

Room Tip: Book a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 399Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Have been home for a week after a wonderful two weeks at the Balkaya hotel.I would love to be back there right now,the staff are superb,and the whole two weeks were wonderful from start to finish.Met some lovely people from all over the world,thankyou to everyone for a memorable holiday x ps missing you Adams,Sergan,ELvan,soluman,dilek.metin and mrs Metin.see you all soon xx

Room Tip: Brilliant holiday !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie20132013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

well im not really sure where to start i have read some of the reveiws on here from people that were at the hotel at the same time as us and all i can think is that you are completely delusional
this hotel is a complete shambles weather you pay £100 or £1000 cleanliness and manners cost nothing ......
the rooms were smelly and dirty they were flee ridden and the bathrooms were covered in mildew the sink was hanging of the wall the toilet pan was digusting......and this was just the first room they put us in after we complained they moved us to what the said was a better room was it heck the only difference was it was staff quarters and they moved a barman out
now we come to the food situation or lack of it the food was just about warm there was never enough lunch was just edible again that was cold and the breakfast selection and i use that word loosely was cold tomato cucumber hard egg and dreid up french stickand that was the choice(hahaha)everyday,i actually witnessed one of the waiters slicing the french stick into a black bag at 10,30 one evening i asked him if there was going to be a supper and he said no mate breakfast bread .........
any wonder it was dreid up and stale tasting
this hotel is a disgrace to the area and to the turkish tourist trade
in my mind this hovel should be closed down ...........
the only people that seem to have good reveiws for it are people that sit at the bar and drink there way to a different place .....i suggest some kind of therapy
KEEP AWAY IT IS BAD BAD BAD THROUGH AND THROUGH

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ansellles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'll try to make this an honest review, and address some of the points raised by others.
We had 2 rooms in the rear accomadation block on the ground floor, these were basic and in need of updating/redecoration. We did experience mosquitos in the rooms, but you will get these anywhere in Turkey. I don't think spraying to kill them would have done any good as the guests would choke on the fumes, and they would have just come back from outside the hotel boundaries! I understand from other guests that the upstairs/family rooms are better than the ground floor ones. We also had no bed bugs, and I never saw any bites on any of the staff even though we were in the pool with the staff most days. We saw the cleaners going into the rooms every day to clean.
There are some cracked tiles around the bar area, and these would need to be sorted as part of a general refurbishment.
The water to the drinks machine is supplied by a large carboy of spring water, which is changed when the other one runs out. These large containers are stored near the kitchens if you want to have a look.
The food may be a dissapointment to people who have experienced all inclusives in other hotels/countrties, but I can honestly say that I found it very tasty and never had any tummy trouble as may have been suggested by some of the other reviewers. Thanks to Metin and his wife for the food!
We were priviledged to have met some lovely people while we were at the Balkaya, these included english, turkish and german families.
Now for the staff, absolutely brilliant! Big thanks to Serjan, Adems, Elvan, Metin and the others who made our stay so memorable. I never found Suleyman anything less than charming in his dealings with us, as was his wife Dilek.
We witnessed the antics of the large party who walked out, came back and went again, maybe the rep should have done more for this party but I still think their behaviour was disgraceful.
It may be worth knowing that Suleyman only rents this hotel, and is battling with the owners to get repairs done.
In conclusion, I had a happy time at the Balkaya and would go back. It's a cheap and cheerful hotel with great staff-get to know them and make friends!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gazza52_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the Balkaya in the early hours of the morning and were greeted by Suleman the manager who handed us our keys and sent us on our way, he didn't show us to our rooms which I would consider rude. We were instantly disgusted by our rooms, which were filthy and dirty, as soon as we arrived we wanted to leave, the floors were absolutely rotten and covered on brown scum, the bedding was ripped, there was mildew covering the majority of the bathroom and mould on the walls, light fittings were hanging off the walls, wires hanging out the walls, our balcony backed onto a sewage drain/swamp therefore making it a Mosquitos dream location, the solar panels and pipes were leaking and didn't seem to work. The kids were smothered bedbug bites and when we lifted up the beds there were hundreds of dead flies, there were wasp nests in the window frames, i could go on as the problems were endless, we are not fussy nor were we expecting luxury but seriously you would not let your dog stay there. We spoke to Suleman about our concerns only to be met with complete ignorance, he refused to accept that there was any problem with his hotel and became abusive, we eventually managed to ask a rep to move us and packed our stuff however, he didn't come back to us so we reluctantly stayed another night, and awoke to find that Suleman wanted us to leave or he would call the police as he had relet our rooms! We left at that point and found our own accommodation as sunsave were not cooperating with us. Please do NOT book to stay at this hotel, the place is a health hazard and the good reviews on here must be written by management themselves or by people who clearly have no respect for cleanliness or healthy and safety, we too read the bad reviews and decided to see for ourselves and went anyway, don't make the mistake we made, my only advice would be that if you are booked to stay here CANCEL as soon as you can.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Romeo2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have been back from our stay at the Balkaya for a couple of weeks now. We didn't pay a fortune for this holiday so the standard of accommodation was pretty much as I expected. I got the feeling when we arrived to check in that it was a bit of a surprise to them and that we had not been expected. We had a family room which was very spacious set on two levels with a double bed and shower room upstairs and two sofa beds and a toilet downstairs .The shower room was a bit grim but once it had been cleaned properly was OK .
The food was very nice, not much choice and not fully all inclusive, Breakfast became very boring and dessert would have been welcome at dinner time,There are no snacks between meals and ice cream has to be paid for. I think they need to be clear about this in information you read about the hotel .
The pool is lovely, very clean a comfortable temperature and plenty of room to swim. The area around the pool is kept clean and tidy. The music did become a pain, mainly because it was random blastings for a terrible sound system, there was an audible sigh of relief when it was turned off!
On our last day we had to check out of our room at 12pm but paid for another room to use for the day. If we had been given this other room for our stay we would have left as it was in a terrible state, the bathroom was a disgrace. I spoke to another couple the day before and they were being moved as they turned up and this was to be their room .
We didn't experience the friendliness of the manager and his wife that other reviewers have written about. In fact on the night we left at 2AM they left us sitting in reception in the dark waiting for our Taxi and I just got the feeling they really didn't care about the guests .
As a base the Balkaya is very good, we loved the location as it was a 10min walk into bustling Hisaronu which is lovely to stroll around at night .
All in all we had a lovely holiday but feel the Balkaya need to be much clearer in their marketing as to what they mean by all inclusive.
Would we go back ? Maybe if the price was right !

Room Tip: Get a family room, the others are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
1.1 mi away
Pink Palace
Pink Palace
#62 of 103 in Oludeniz
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#8 of 103 in Oludeniz
498 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#13 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#80 of 103 in Oludeniz
81 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.3 mi away
The Grand Ucel Hotel
The Grand Ucel Hotel
#94 of 103 in Oludeniz
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkaya Hotel

Property: Balkaya Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mahallesi 1, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balkaya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balkaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkaya Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing