We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Balkaya Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
100
59
37
22
79
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
59
37
22
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomnext yearsmall hotelboiled eggsmain buildingsun all dayhome from homewhite winecooked freshmeal timesweek holidayall inclusive drinksbrilliant holidayfriendly hotelplenty of sunbedssolomansuleyman
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 297 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed in Turkey before at the Tower Hotel.
Decided to return and booked with the Balkaya for 2 weeks B&B via flexible trips & it was a budget holiday. I would expect small rooms, for the hotel not to be located in a central area, basic breakfast etc.
However, the rooms are filthy, the towels were changed once each week, the beds were damp, the bathroom was black with mould. There were exposed electrics in the bedroom. The staff are rude. Agree with other reviewers that the bar staff seem to have different girlfriends from week to week. Loud music is played throughout the night -fair enough if this is what GUESTS want. But when we were there the guests were all complaining about the noise, the only people enjoying the music were the owners! We didn't eat at the hotel because I could see other guests food and didn't fancy it. Breakfast was bread, jam, flies-nothing was covered, meats etc.
Sometimes no plates or cups.
The area Ovacik isn't great, we travelled each day to Hisaronu.
Overall if your 18-30 on a lads/girls trip on a very low budget then maybe it will be ok but the surrounding bars are very quiet.
Take your marigolds and ear plugs!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank scan2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

İ had a great stay at the Balkaya Hotel, it was cheap and cheerful in price and you get what you pay for. Me and my friend came for a week in september and we had a great time. The weather was hot, good size pool and rooms were clean. Staff was helpful, polite and friendly. İ would and will come back to this hotel next year with my family. :) :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Right id like to start by saying a massive thanks to all the guys at the hotel and a big big thanks to apoo and shrek, they both really did go above and beyond for us.
Secondly everyone that is slagging off this hotel is driving me crazy, we went on the 26/08/2012 till the 06/09/2012 and all together is was just over 1K flights included, it works out at £400 and something for the hotel, for ten days! how can anyone bad mouth that?
I went with my mum and dad so thats for three people.

The hotel is very basic and the rooms arent the best but to be honest i've stayed in London and the hotel there was worst then this.
The food isnt the best but its edable and the is also a website you can order off.

My dads turkish so when we go to turkey he speeks the language but the good thing about the Balkaya Hotel is that some of the staff speek VERY GOOD English. Infact they speek better English then i speek Turkish and im half Turkish.

i will be moving out there in three years and i cant wait!

More over whilst being at the hotel my dad discovered that the Balkaya get £3 (english money) per person a day if they come from England to the hotel full board. How is that even enough? you want to blame someone for the hotel being basic? fair enough i can understand that blame THOMASE COOK.

Also the Balkaya hotel is situated in the middle of two different towns. I forget now the names but ones at the top of the street (main road) to the left is a busy town including bars and clubs and to the right is shops and markets. Its in a great location if you like going out at night.

Lastly at no point does the hotel come across as a quite hotel so dont complain when they play music so dont start kicking off when the music is being played, but if you dont think it is to loud who ever at the bar will happily turn it down for you.

So this is a good hotel and i would really reccomend it!

Room Tip: any same view all the way around
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ilki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My partner and I and his 2 sons booked this hotel for 2 weeks, we were absolutely petrified of what we would find after reading the reviews on here.
But du know what, we all had a bloody lovely time !
The boys, (apoo, sergen, Kaan, Tuncay(shrek) and David Villa (as our boys called him) were brilliant, and as for them wearing uniform, why should they, it's not the ritz !!
we arrived at 3am, and the boys were waiting outside for us as the transfer driver had got lost, we finally got settled in around 4am, we had a family room, which was very nice but as our 2 boys were 16 & 14, it was a little open plan for us ( it would be fine if you have younger children) we asked if we could change rooms when we went down for breakfast the next day, and we had 2 separate rooms by lunch time, so thumbs up no 1. Thanks Dillek & Soloman.
Breakfast is typical turkish, why should it not be ? lunch was a variety , chips, salad, moussaka,rice, and meat balls to name but a few dinner was chicken cooked in a variety of ways, fish, rice, chips, salad lots of bread, bbq, or you could always order from the hotel menu, or if you do have a problem ask one of the boys and they will usually resolve it for you, nothing seems too much trouble for them in making your stay a good one.
Our rooms got cleaned every day, no the towels and bedding was not changed every day, but do you change yours 7 days a week at home ?? i think not, so thanks Apoo's mum she was lovely.
my partner celebrated his birthday whilst we were there, and they took the trouble to get him a birthday cake and candles, and we all sang happy birthday, much to his embarrassment ! (we had only been there 4 days), (thumbs up no 2) so for some people to say the staff are rude, get a life, and treat people how you would like to be treated ! those boys work hard for their money, and a little respect goes a long way.
we stayed at the saray in Hisaronu last year, and i can honestly say, i enjoyed myself more at the Balkaya.
I can honestly say we made some good friends with the staff and managers, Dilleks shoes are gorgeous !!
yes I would go back there, as I miss them all and we had a wonderful holiday.
if you have any questions please feel free to ask

Room Tip: get a cab into Hisaronu for the night life approx 10 lira, or ask the boys to take you out for the night.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tonysgirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

holiday was really good the lads that worked at the balkaya were really welcoming and freindly also a really good laugh, a would like to say thank you to apo, sergio, shrek and kaan for a good time niceone kardishem,

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank callum r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews