We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday ever ignore negative reviews”
Review of Balkaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Balkaya Hotel
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Me and my partner both 24 have just got back from the Balkaya Hotel and we had an absolutely fantastic time.
I agree with previous reviews you will either love this place or hate it but remeber you havent paid for a 5* hotel so dont expect one.
We went all inclusive for 5 nights, like a previous review says it is the hotels first year doing all inclusive and they do have a lot to learn, breakfast was basic but nice, lunch was always nice and the evening meal was lovely especially the soup. I think the hotel may have a shock in busier months trying to keep up with the demand for drinks.
The hotel room is basic a wardrobe, double bed, drawers, small dressing like table, wet room and balcony but what more do you need?
We went out every night into Hisaronu which was a great night out its about a 15 min walk there was so many different bars and restaurants we couldnt fit it all in.
We met the mot fantastic people whilst we were there it was like being with family.
Apo, Shrek and Sergio work at the hotel and they are sure to keep you entertained for your holiday, pool parties, water polo and much more.
Solomen is the manager of the hotel and he can not enough to help you.
All in all we had a brilliant holiday we wanted a cheap holiday and thats exactly what we got so were not at all disappointed.
All of us that stayed there are planning a reunion next year so cant be as bad as the previous reviews dont be put off!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for Balkaya Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 289 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2012

So where do I start with the Balkaya Hotel? You are either going to love this hotel or hate it.
Location: About 15 mins walk into Hisaronu down what is really a dirt track that cars do use but they are not busy and quite safe to use at night. Not really suitable for ladies in high heels.
The Hotel: It’s most certainly not a 3 star, perhaps a 2 star at best. It’s quite dated and could do with a good paint job.
The room: Our bed was lovely and comfortable and although we were only given 2 pillows, we asked for another 2 and they were there straight away. Towels are a bit on the small and thin side but fresh and clean. These can be replaced as often as you want but its best to ask otherwise you may have to use them for a couple of days. The toilet/shower room was small but adequate for what the wife and I needed. Ok, so there was a bit of a damp patch on the ceiling but so what, we were not going to let that spoil our holiday. The corridors can be a bit dark at night as the lights were sometimes switched off.
The all inclusive package: This is the hotels first year as an all inc hotel and they have a lot to learn, Breakfast is a traditional Turkish breakfast, cornflakes, boiled eggs, cheese, salad and a selection of jams. This is served on a help yourself basis with as much tea, coffee and juice as you want. The afternoon snack menu is offered for you to choose what you want, burgers, toasties and chips etc. The evening meal is a set soup and a set meal. No desert or occasionally some water melon is brought out. No choice? It is served at 8.30pm. Not very filling but they are quite happy to offer seconds to anyone who asks so don’t be shy. All the meals I had were very nice but had a tendency to be on the cool side. The drinks are served between 10am and 11pm. Soft drinks, tea, and coffee, some spirits like vodka and gin but not whisky. Red and white wine are also in with the package. The beer is bottled Perge Lager. Not the watered down draught rubbish that a lot of hotels serve. It’s a really nice refreshing lager.
The Pool. Lovely and clean and well maintained.
The Staff. This where the hotel pulls back some well needed brownie points. The manager, Sulliman I think he is called, is always about and quite happy to chat with everyone. He seems to be nice bloke. The bar staff are headed up with Apoo. This kid is a marvel. He does everything and never gets flustered. What a happy lad and nothing is a bother to him unless you ask for a big steak! Apoo’s mum does most of the cleaning and his dad maintains the pool. I left a tip for mum but this was optional. Sergio is typical 17 year old full of fun and always smiling. Shrek (you will see why he gets called Shrek) speaks little to no English but is always smiling and is a gentle giant.
Final assessment: The hotel is full of people who return year after year so they must be doing something right. It is cheap and cheerful. As one of the people we met said “It’s a 2 star hotel with a five star value” Would we go back again? Yes most definitely. If we wanted a last minute cheap deal with drinks and limited meals thrown in then this is a place we would return to in spite of the earthquake, oh yes I forgot to mention we had a 6.1 earthquake while we were there but surely this cant be held against the Balkaya. We will see how our finances go but if we are looking for another “cheapie” we will book up for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms 105 & 106 are right above the bar so not suitable for early nights or afternoon naps
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigDavey_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Please do not be put off by the negative reviews regarding the Balkaya Hotel it is the most intimate place that I have ever visited and I should know as my girlfriend and myself have been there 4 or 5 times and they always remember us. The owners and staff can not do enough for the guests as I recently found out when I went into a seizure at breakfast time and they arranged my ambulance to the hospital. Obviously it is not the Ritz or Savoy but you are not paying those types of prices. They do the best that they can do and in my opinion they do it very well. They are embarking on the project of offering all inclusive which is new to them so I wish them luck in that venture. I would like to mention Apu the barman as he is a lovely young man and his command of English is excellent, also his mother and father both work hard in the maintenance of the Balkaya and they are lovely people also. We will endeavour to go back to the Balkaya this year as it is a great base for access to Hisaronu, Oludeniz, Fethiye and many other places. As I mentioned earlier it is not 5 star but if you are prepared to accept that then the staff and the welcome more than compensate for any minor inconveniences that you may suffer

Room Tip: My tip would be to accept the rooms as they come and make the best of it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevieg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We went to this hotel last jun. Two couples and had a fab time. solomon is the most helpful, generous man. The hotel bedrooms were basic but extremely clean (well we only sleep in them).receptionist was a fantastic man who was always willing to help the guests. We had a really great holiday and would go again, we met a lot of very nice people.
Thank you solomon and your family for making us feel so welcome.
jessica, peter, matthew and jane.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jessica q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

my boyfrend and me stayed at the balkaya hotel and what a great time we had ... the staff are great and the english breakfast was well worth the 10 tl .we went for 2 week not long enough !!!! met some really nice people . THE FOOD WAS GOOD the rooms are cleaned every day and sevem was brillant.dilek the manger and does his job well always on the aroud the hotel ,veysi makes the best cocktails and david or what as we called him is very friendly.what more can you ask for 3 star with 5 star staff hope this helps i cant wait to go back next year

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed at the balkaya for two weeks with our 10 year old son. Hotel was absolutely lovely, the staff were so friendly and nothing was too much for them. Hotel was nice, staff always cleaning the areas. Beautiful gardens which were well tended to. presentation was excellent. The manager solomon was an ex pool table champ, he enjoys a challenge on the table! The waiters were so polite and friendly. An ideal retreat with Babadag mountain as a backdrop, situated just 1 km far to town centre, perfect location. I was a first timer to Turkey and we are all going back to the Hotel balkaya next year!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The balkaya was clean,the food was great , staff friendly and efficient,the bar staff were attentative and the turkish night was brilliant !We got a traditional belly dancer and traditional turkish dancing as well as having competitions ,quizzes and pool table games!All in all a fabulous holiday.We will certainly be going back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Williem m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
1.1 mi away
Pink Palace
Pink Palace
#61 of 102 in Oludeniz
595 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sunshine Holiday Resort
0.2 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Yel Holiday Resort
Yel Holiday Resort
#6 of 102 in Oludeniz
612 reviews
0.9 mi away
RED Hotel
RED Hotel
#84 of 102 in Oludeniz
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Greenland
Hotel Greenland
#15 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkaya Hotel

Address: Ovacik Mahallesi 1, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: $33 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Balkaya Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balkaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkaya Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing