We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Holiday”
Review of Leytur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leytur Hotel
Ranked #9 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday”
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I said I would return to Leyla's guest friendly hotel and I did along with my wife Jean.
I honestly don't know how this lovely lady does it. Good food, accomodation etc. To see the food layout for Turkish night is a sight to behold and it is only 10 quid and that includes the entertainment. I must stress that only friendly people book this hotel so you will never be without someone to talk to and new friends to make. I strongly recommend this hotel and you may see me there again.

Terry

Room Tip: They have all been refurbished but if you want a sunny balcony face across the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    101
    49
    25
    9
See reviews for
223
447
38
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

What a let down!! After reading the reviews on here we thought it would be a perfect place to spend our first trip to Turkey. From the outside it does look beautiful & the rooms are ok and fairly clean but we were not made to feel welcome right from the start! We asked for a quiet room but were given one on ground floor right opposite the pool & consequently the bar. Music was our biggest problem: it gets turned on about 12 midday and is on constantly until sometimes 3 - 4 in the morning!! We tried to stay out as late as possible as returning to our room was a nightmare. It is supposed to be turned down by 11.00pm but it seems to just get louder and louder. There was even a private outside party one night (totally inappropriate for a hotel of this size with no function room) and no consideration was given to the other guests. By 1.00am, very irritable & tired I was convinced that someone had made a compilation of my top 20 most hated songs & played it over & over just to annoy me; paranoia had set in by now & it was time to leave.

Music is repetative and rubbish - I never want to hear "Hotel California" or "Lying Eyes" (both very appropriate by the way) ever again!! It seemed to us and others that we spoke to that the owner is only interested in you if you spend all day and particularly all night around the bar running up big bills. There are many repeat guests who do just that and it should be advertised as such - There was a very obvious divide between the way you were treated depending on the amount of money you spent! We did not want or need air-conditioning or a safe so from the first day we were doomed!! There was no welcome on the first day or good bye on the last day - a very fake owner I'm afraid, although her son and some of the other members of staff were friendly enough. Hassan the bar boy was very rude and off-hand, his antics were dreadful (the blond wig would come out for the new barflies every couple of days, so funny NOT); we ate around the pool several times and the food was lovely here but the atmosphere was awful & intimidating.

The maids and Hallil worked very long hours as not enough staff were employed; you would see them first thing until bedtime and worked from 6.00am til 1.00am some days. They were the only staff that spoke to us and were lovely but that was because they were genuine and lovely people.

My son developed an ear infection, as did a few others whilst we were there and this was the only pool he went in. It cost a fortune for him to be treated by the doctor but Leyla was not interested - never even asked how he was; only spoke to me to try to get us to come to the Turkish night. Another song played over and over sums up our over-riding memory of this hotel - Jessie J - It's Not about the Money - for us it was definately ALL ABOUT THE MONEY.

Great hotel if you are 55+, go on holiday just to drink & be loud & have loads of money to waste. Avoid like the plague if you want to meet genuine Turkish (who are lovely by the way), relax and be able to sleep when you go to bed.

Sheets were not changed in two weeks, towels & sheets were old and tatty, cold water in shower but that didnt bother us, no fridge or kettle (obviously to discourage your own drinks - smuggling from BIM a good idea as hotel drink prices very hiked up), no bin in room, very odd! Yes, the gardener did water the flowers & plants with a brown liquid which smelled of raw sewage - very off-putting when lying around the pool.

TIP: Do not be fooled into thinking this is a cheap hotel as you need to get a dolmus everywhere and although cheap at around £1 per person per journey it adds & a more central location would be more cost-effective.

We had a great holiday dispite this hotel and will be going back to Turkey but not to this very cliquey & fake place I'm afraid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MaxineAnna742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in Leytur with my boyfriend in mid-september. It was our first visit to Turkey and so to the Leytur hotel.

I've read reviews that say the hotel is cliquey, but we found it only to be lovely and friendly. We never felt ignored because we were not regulars. There were a lot of guests staying that had been before, but they were also lovely and friendly as well as helpful (offering us recommendations of trips etc.)

The pool was wonderful, with plenty of sun-beds for all - never a struggle to get one event though the hotel was full. It was spotlessly clean as were the surrounding garden areas and the bar.
The bar was really reasonable, with all drinks being the same or cheaper than the bars in town. I was expecting a hotel bar to be more expensive. There is one review listed here that says a bottle of water was 9 TL, that is just not true - I think it was 2 or 3 TL - about a 60p -pound, for a large bottle.

Our room was comfortable and clean. It was cleaned everyday by the maids.

One of the best things about Leytur is it's location. The nearby town of Hisaronu is a bit scary and much too touristy for me, Leytur is quieter but equidistance between the wonderful town of Fethiye and the beautiful beach of Olu Deniz - the bus to take you to either stops right by the hotel and is very quick and cheap.

I'm not the sort of person to return to places over and over again, I normally want to try something new, however had such a great time on this holiday and loved Leytur that we are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonMissy_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

It was my second visit to Turkey & my girlfrilends sixteenth. We really enjoyed ourselves. The hotel was kept very clean, the gardens were lovely, the staff excellent, the food fantastic and Leyla was particularly helpful when my girlfriend had a problem with her visa! The hotel is in an excellent location with the local dolmus at the bottom of the road to take you to either Oludeniz, Fethiye and Hisaronu. The Leytur is extremely good value for money and we would definitly stay here again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Spent 14 nights at the Leytur 12-26 Sept.Friendly enough hotel with lots of repeat guests.Can seem a bit clique at first but after a couple of days you soon settle in.Pool and bar area are very good .Hotel restaurant served very nice evening meals.Ate there three times and couldn,t fault them.Found the staff very friendly and always smiling even though they work an incredible amount of hours.Special mention to Hassan ,Halil and Eggeman for keeping everyone smiling with their daft antics.Stay off the vodka and red bull if you are working the next morning!Towels and bed linen need renewed as they are past their best,but this could be an end of season problem .A big thanks to Leyla for sorting out our transfer problem when our taxi didn,t turn up.Over all had a very enjoyable holiday and stay at the Leytur.Would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marketman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

Just back from two glorious weeks at the Leytur. Our first time in Turkey and hotel very cheap so had no idea what to expect. Very pleasantly surprised! Hotel very pretty with lovely gardens and views of the surrounding hills. Our room was modern, spacious and very clean. Leyla and her staff were extremely welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. After just one day we decided we would come back next year and then discovered that several of the other guests were on their umpteenth visit!

Turkish breakfast on the terrace consisted of eggs, cheese, salami, tomatoes, cucumber, melon, yoghurt, bread, honey, jam, fruitjuice, tea, coffee - this was very refreshing after an evening of excess. Food was available throughout the day from the poolside bar - a mixture of Turkish and English. The a la carte restaurant opened in the evening - everything we had was excellent. The Turkish evening was great fun and food fantastic. Only booked B&B so also ate out quite a bit. Nearest local restaurant about 5 mins walk and lots within 15 mins.

Hotel is nicely positioned away from the hustle and bustle but only a short bus ride from the more commercialised centres/beaches. Spent most mornings around the pool. There are plenty of sunbeds! In our second week we observed people putting their towels on beds before breakfast - this is really not necessary and made us chuckle. It is only a small hotel with more than enough sunbeds for everyone. Lots of things to do - boat trips, jeep safaris, paragliding, horse riding, numerous ancient sites, mud baths, turkish baths, markets, etc etc, in fact 2 weeks was not long enough.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I have just returned from a 9 night stay at the hotel Leytur. Our holiday in general was good, although there are ways in which the hotel can improve. On arrival we were shown to our room, a ground floor room in the older block which looked like it had been nicely decorated and recently refurbished with plenty of storage space. The bathroom however was quite dated and the shower leaked badly after each use, however I am led to believe the bathrooms in the older block are due to be refurbished. The showers were cold and only on 3 nights, the water was luke warm. There is no fridge in the room which was a little disappointing. We were purchasing water at the pool bar and once returning to the room it got warm so quickly we ended up throwing what was left away which is a waste of money. Air conditioning and the safe are chargeable, we were charged at £5 per day for both. The hotel provides a hand towel and body towel which need replacing with new as they are rough textured and had holes in. It said in the hotel manual these were changed every 3 days, ours were changed once.

Our room had an adjoining room to next door and on our first few nights two young lads were in the room and took the battery out the smoke alarm so they could smoke which meant there was a very loud frequent beep! The people who had the room next were early risers (7.30am!, we get up at 8.30am ish!), and talked very loudly so the room because of the adjoining door was quite noisy.

Other reviews say that the hotel is ‘cliquey’; this is very much the case. Leyla, the owner/manager, indeed has a number of repeat visitors; some have been going for the last 10 years! It is very notable how different the regulars are treated to those that have not been before, especially at the bar. Some members of staff were rather moody towards us at the end of our holiday which made us feel a bit awkward but were all smiley and chatty to the regulars. It was also noted how the mood of the staff changed once you had checked out.

We were half board and this consisted of a set menu of a soup, a main meal and a dessert, and was typically Turkish. There was no deviation from this so if you didn’t like the soup, for example, there was no alternative. As we are not fussy eaters this did not bother us but it would be nice to have an alternative as we both weren’t keen on the fish soup. Breakfast is typically Turkish and includes fresh bread, olives, two cheeses, one meat, cucumber, tomatoes, yoghurt and jams. We managed to eat most mornings but my partner did say it would have been nice if a cereal was provided as a change. The hotel can prepare an English breakfast, omelettes and pancakes but charge extra.

We enjoyed the Turkish night which is charged at £10 per person (no charge if half board), this was value for money as the food was very good. The belly dancer does try to get you up to dance but my partner said no and I ran to the toilet when it was the ladies turn!

The biggest gripe for us was the day we checked out. We had to vacate our rooms for 10.30am but our transfer was not until 11.00pm, we asked Leyla if we could keep the room and she said the hotel was full, we then asked to reserve the shower room and were told we could use the pool shower! Usually hotels we have stayed in provide at least a shower room which can be booked for an hour. I can’t say I was really keen on showering and getting changed with our suitcases at the side of the pool and in full view of other people! Luckily we had friends who let us have a shower in their room. We noted on leaving at 11pm the room we had vacated had not been filled so we could have used it! Overall it was a pleasant stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room within the newer block
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talie_Pop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
1.5 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,131 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#20 of 103 in Oludeniz
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oludeniz
411 reviews
3.3 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#12 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,356 reviews
3.5 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leytur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leytur Hotel

Property: Leytur Hotel
Address: Ovacik Mah., Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oludeniz
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#14 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leytur Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Leytur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leytur Hotel Ovacik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing