We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mavruka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mavruka Hotel
Ranked #61 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
liverpool
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2009

after reading many reviews about this hotel we could not wait to arrive at this hotel and i can honestly say that we were not disappointed. We stayed on a b&b basis and found that the breakfast was adequate, it consisted of scrambled and boiled eggs, fresh bread, selection of meats, olives, cereals etc. If you felt like, you could have a full english breakfast, toast jam and tea or coffee for £3.80 in a local restaurant which was good value.

The rooms were spotless and cleaned on a daily basis, with fresh sheets and clean towels , I would say that the rooms were on parr with some 4/5 star hotels that i have stayed in. The air conditioning is a welcome relief to the unbelievable heat and was most effective !!

The location of the hotel was great just a few minutes walk from the main street which is lined with many bars and restaurants and friendly shops. If you venture down to the front there are great bars playing ambient music in the evening which is really chilled, there are also beanbags and lamps placed on the beach of an evening where you can relax while waiters will serve you drinks while you watch the sun go down !!

all in all it was a great holiday, the service was great !! comments about the bar manager Rami being a grump are not true, once you get to know him he is a good laugh and has a lot of time for you, as we found. Would return and recommend this holiday, a great hotel in a great location ( it was my first time to Turkey ) !!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    189
    87
    35
    30
See reviews for
174
267
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Telford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Mavruka Hotel is a jewel of a hotel
Built in 2006 so it has all the mod -cons in your room (aircon, big shower, hair dryer etc.)
Pool is amazin - sun everywhere you lie coolest day we had was 90 degrees, quiet, and relaxing
Only downer was breakfast some of the mornings, but hey! your in Turkey
Manager is alittle be strange but strange in a good way , Sonny who works at the poolside bar is a a top geezer.
The Hotel does this book drinks and meals to room and pay when leaving which is good, saves carrying money around.
Beach is a little more than 60 yards from hotel as suggested but 2-3 mins your there.

Ouldeniz beach area is the perfect chill out area ( Make sure you go to Buzz Beach Bar) and watch the sunset .
You can watch the Paragliders come in or even have ago yourself (£60) i did and well worth it.
Shops are a must... the locals like a bit of banter but are not in your face.
Good for fake stuff watches (breitling tag etc) very good quality
Clothes Oh! my god, take as little as you can buy them there.Polo,G star, DG, Ralph Lauren, addidas, puma do i need to go on. you can not tell the difference but will save a load of money
Loads of bars a places to eat

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robthestables
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

The brochures tell you that the Mavruka is around an hour and 40 minutes from the airport, and if you are lucky this may be the case. However, we were in a seriously underpowered minibus and were the eighth and final drop off so our transfer was not the best of starts, as it equated to around two and a half hours….

First impressions of the Mavruka were good, with its modern look and bright airy reception. We were not surprised to see a notice in the reception banning any food and drink from outside being brought into the hotel, and to be fair we saw this at other hotels too, but during our stay saw quite a lot of confrontation over this issue, particularly if people were bringing in water from the supermarket, which sells for a fraction of the hotel price! It is short-sighted of the Mavruka not to bring the price for the water closer to the supermarkets which would perhaps avoid a lot of this problem.

Unfortunately, our room was not ready despite our arrival being late in the day, and no apology was made for this. We sat at the bar with a (paid for by us) drink and eventually were able to gain access to our room which had been hurriedly cleaned and was not presented particularly well. The room was OK, but its location on the ground floor next to the pool was not necessarily ideal for us – but that is down to personal expectation. I think I had hoped for a room with a view ….

We took up the issue of the room not being ready with our rep the following day. Our rep, Ben, could not have been more helpful, BUT he expressed his frustration to us that he was utterly unable to get the Mavruka management to offer any gesture of apology…… in the end he bought us a bottle of wine himself – though it had to be opened outside and he then smuggled it in, quite ridiculous really

As mentioned in other posts the pool bar manager is a miserable devil. He seemed to take particular delight in turning up the volume of the (usually loud dance/rap) music just at that lovely dozing post lunch time period round the pool …..

It also proved impossible to get a cup of coffee at 10 to 8 one morning prior to our being collected for a trip. The duty manager just would not let us have it – although the coffee was ready - because breakfast started at 8am and not a minute earlier!

I'm afraid the practice of reserving sunbeds with towels is also much in evidence, and it was most irritating to see towels on sunbeds at 8am with the occupants not taking them up until mid day in some cases….. a couple of times this meant that people had to go to the beach or elsewhere as all the sunbeds were ostensibly taken.

Breakfast was adequate rather than exciting with the usual temperamental international toaster that became quite mellow by the end of a fortnight! We were staying on B and B basis but reports of the evening meals were not too impressive. It becomes quite expensive to eat out in the resort for the duration of your stay. Also be aware that the pool bar operates a tab system that also hikes up quite fast, we had several lunches and early evening beers which proved quite expensive, but i guess the prices were not unexpected being on hotel premises.

Despite the gripes relating to the Mavruka we had a brilliant holiday and I will write a separate review covering the other aspects of our stay.

There is a definite sense of unhappy management at this hotel, with a few minor changes it could become so much better!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We returned from the Mavruka Hotel on 12th june, after 10 fabulous days. We honestly didn't want to come home. We stayed B&B. Breakfast was a continental breakfast which was very nice. We did sleep in a couple of days so had to go into town and buy a breakfast, but many of the restuarants have offers, so you can take advantage of these and eat quite cheaply. Staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. We had a fantastic room overlooking the pool and surrounded by the mountains, absolutely beautiful. Rooms cleaned daily and descreetly, I think we only saw the cleaning lady twice. The only downside is you cant take food or drink purchased outside the hotel into the rooms. I took a big bag with me and hid the evdence in my suitcase until the coast was clear to bin it. Pool bar nice and staff very friendly, even the Bar manager who was supposed to be miserable was a good laugh once you got to know him. Fantastic location, right on the main strip and less than 5 minutes walk to the beach, 10 mins to the blue lagoon. The beach is very rocky but most shops sell beach shoes which solved the problem. The blue lagoon is very peacful but not as blue as it looks on the pictures but well worth a visit. We hired a pedelo for an hr for 20ytl which was good fun. Resturants were extremely good we didn't have a bad meal in any of them. I would recommend Sultan Ahmets, toscana and for a good Kebab, Sugar and Spice. The Fish market in Fethiye is a must, you can choose a fish and take it to any of the nearby restuarants and they will cook it for you for 5ytl, they will ask you if you want it grilled or barbequed and you get a free salad and crusty bread with it. Cheap meal and very tasty. Olu Deniz itself is a lovely location, quite lively but not full of young hooligans which was lovely. We hope to return to the Mavruka in September.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2009

Just returned from a lovely weeks stay at the mavruka a very clean and spotless hotel and in a very good location close to beach and main strip of bars and resteraunts.on arrival was placed in a room over the terrace bar which was very noisy with loud music playing at midnight immedailtly complained to the lovely young man on reception who moved us to a much quieter room opposite the diningroom/pool area and gardens no problem. pool area very relaxing with plenty of sun beds and shade when needed as very hot. seemed that not many people were h/b mainley b/b usual basic breckfast but ok better to eat out at the many resteraunts ie buzz,seahorse with the very chatty charlie,our fav TOSCANA fab three course meal inc wine (red Angora) for approx £35 EXCELLENT and waiters lovely ,fabulous ambience.hotel bbq good value approx £12 each with bottle of wine and good belly dancer ok iff you want to be part of the fun. 12 island boat trip a must also excellent value at £8 each to include pick up from hotel to fetye,bbq on boat choice of fish or chicken with salad,noodles drinks not inc, drops anchor 4 times for swim in the sea, long day but very enjoyable.hisaronu a let down but worth a visit as buses so regular and cheap.disappionted in the beach as very pebbley you will need shoes to get in and out we prefared to stay around the pool as it was so relaxing and friendly mostly english guests.Iff i had any complaints it would be the restriction on food esp drinks being brought into the hotel , although this can be avioded with a good rucksack as part of ur hol is having a beer or a glass of wine on your balcony before going out.The only fly in the ointment so to speak would be the hotel bar manager who appeared very miserable most of the time and obviously had an eye for any ladies between 40-60 years of age but nothing that you couldnt handle. overall having never been to turkey before and a little apprehensive we thouroughly enjoyed oledeniz, the mavruka, and esp the turkish people who couldnt do enough for you and are so very friendly ,fun and just love to dance . iff you do book for oludeniz i dont htink you would be disappionted in the mavruka esp for the older generation or couples

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kclarke60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

Six of us have just returned from a week in Olu Deniz staying at the Mavruka hotel. Couldn't fault the hotel, spotlessly clean,large rooms & staff all very obliging & great location.Only one thing I wish they would light the burners under the scrambled egg! I'm sure it would taste better hot!!!
We had a late fllight & were able to book a a late check out untill 5 o'clock ,so it wasn't a nightmare of a day, instead very relaxing by the pool & bit of last minute shopping!!
Absolutely loved Olu Deniz as a resort, loads of great restaurants, did't have a bad meal. Bella Gusta was very good value, Buzz bar very nice food,we all had a really nice meal at the Belekiz Beach & also the Cherry Chow was very nice food. To be fair they were all good.
We all went paragliding as it was a member of our groups birthday, great experience nice to have ticked thet box!! Would recommend Olu Deniz & The Mavruka Hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2009

As most reviewers have already said, this is a very nice hotel just a short walk from the centre of Olu Deniz. Built in 2006 it is clean and well maintained. Rooms are a good size with plenty of storage space. The shower even works properly ! Decent size pool and plenty of sun beds even at 10:00 in the morning.

Unfortunately there is some noise at night, even after 12:30 from nearby bars, turning the a/c up helps to drown some of the noise out.

Staff were not particularly friendly, the restaurant manager (referred to by a previous reviewer) was particularly grumpy and made no effort to talk to guests.

The issue I have with the hotel is the food. Breakfast (continental) is adequate but if you arrive towards the end of the session, there is very little left, nothing else is brought out. At 10:00 on the dot, the coffee machine is switched off and what food is left is removed.

If you are on half board there is very little choice at night, the food is cold and there is no atmosphere whatsoever. When I made these points to the restaurant manager he just shrugged his shoulders. I am not even sure that the table cloths are changed following breakfast. On a positive note, the Bar B Q (which you pay extra for, 15TL on h/b, 40TL on B&B) is very mush better, they seem to make an effort once a week.

In summary, Olu Deniz is a very nice place to visit, there are plenty of things to see and do. The Blue Lagoon is a must, the six island boat trips are excellent. As most people will say, Turkey is not as cheap as it used to be, prices have certainly gone up considerably over the last two years. The Mavruka is worth considering but only on a B&B basis, there are plenty of other hotels in the vicinity and many restaurants to choose from.

With very little effort, this hotel could do so much better.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobbieP9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.2 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#41 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#35 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mavruka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mavruka Hotel

Property: Mavruka Hotel
Address: 228. Sok. No:4, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mavruka Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mavruka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mavruka Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing