We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel in an average resort”
Review of Oyster Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oyster Residences
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed October 30, 2009

The hotel is nice, clean, and not your bulk standard holiday accommodation and this in itself makes this a great hotel to stay in in this resort. It is set up as a boutique style hotel but would be ranked well down the scale if it was based in a city centre, so whilst it has a more exclusive feel to it than the other hotels in this resort it scores well because it has little or no competition worth talking about.
The rooms are simple and very clean although there is a distinct lack of lighting in the bathroom and the pool area is very comfortable and relaxing. The owners do make a big thing about their restaurant but we found this average and overpriced compared to the other options available and the Buzz Bar which is just a few yards away is excellent and has great views.
Many reviews complain about the noise from near by bars and clubs and yes it is loud and does go on well into the night but this cannot be a criticism of this hotel as this is a function of this resort. Whilst it is small it is built around the standard British desire to go on holiday to drink and party. If you do not like noise and resorts where British food and tackiness have an upper hand then do not go to Oludeniz because unless you are half way up the mountain it will be noisy.
If however you want a nice hotel a cut above the rest in a lively resort situated right on the beach then this is just about the best place you could pick.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D4veD4ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 605 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2009

Stayed here for one week arrived at 9pm on a monday and first impressions were very good.The room was near the pool and of a good standard,mini bar,flowers on the bed and a digital safe free of charge.Perfect.Although we were a bit put off by the loudish music from the bar next door,but it was only early and people were on holiday why shouldn't they enjoy theirselves.However it didn't stop until 3am and even with earplugs had a fitful nights sleep.Next morning sun shining down for breakfast and the owner of the hotel came round asking if we wanted to go on the hotel boat trip on thursday or to book a table in the resturant for that evening.We were a bit put off at first said we would think about it,and later in the week went on the trip and it was excellent highly recommend it.Breakfasts were of a reasonable standard nothing flash but tasty and always served with a smile.Staff were excellent could not do enough for you and even the hotel owner was great after the first morning very friendly and always ready to have a laugh and make your holiday a memorable one.Olu deniz itself is a very busy resort but not rowdy ,very english in most ways lots of small shops with english signs everywhere and cafes and bars with sky tv showing football and lorry drivers breakfasts advertised.Was ok but not our cup of tea.I would say hotel was one of the best i have stayed in and the staff were excellent,but for the money we paid should be half board not b&b,And definitely not in this noisy location.Have had holidays of this standard for a lot less elsewhere although we cant fault the rooms at all.If you want to party at night this is for you,however if like us you like something quiet give it a miss.Don't think we will be back although cant say never.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank technikaSwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Just returned from this hotel after 2 week stay for honeymoon.We read the reviews about the noise after we had booked so went prepared with ear plugs and crossed fingers.It seemed an idylic place to spend a special holiday and no children under 14,so was expecting 14 days of rest and relaxation.The oyster itself is a fantastic hotel well laid out with decked terraces and well planted borders,all rooms are to a very high standard and spotless,the housekeeping staff are marvelous always ready with a smile.The owners and all the staff really want you to have a good holiday and nothing is too much trouble for them,always a smile and a joke to be had with them,they really cant do enough to make you feel special.While we were there some people booked for next year as they liked it that much,but and a big but for us ,it was just too noisy.There seems to be mixed reviews about the noise so it could be worse at times more than others,but while we were there the noise really started to become a problem from 11pm until 3am one night was 4am.We were under the impression that a botique hotel with no children would be a calm oasis,and we were definitely put right on the first night onwards.Breakfast is served until 11 am here so that must say something.So to sum up a fantastic hotel,a cut above the rest,the staff come highly recomended,and yes olu deniz is a busy resort but we do like to have a reasonable nights sleep on holiday and not waste the day by trying to catch up with sleep during the daylight hours.We would love to return to this hotel in the future but only if i became hard of hearing or olu deniz had a total power failure.Great hotel if you like the nightlife ,but awful if like us you dont.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank quinty20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2009

If you want to see real Turkey - not this big hotels all-inclusive kind of thing - go here! Gunsenin Gunel, hotel owner, says that hotel is named "Oysters" because it's a pearl of Olu-Deniz village and...well... this is 100% true. We've visited Oysters 3 times for the last 3 years :) and I must say I am completely in love with this place. Each time we stayed in different rooms. All of them have unique design - graduated from London school of Design, Gunsenin knows how to do it right ! Boutique hotel with nice and healthy breakfasts on the sea-view terrace, friendly personnel, relaxed and cosy atmosphere - can be truly romantic place to go. By the way, during our last visit we celebrated our wedding there - 40 guests came from Russia to party at Light House restaurant, located on the island at Fethiey bay, wih 360-degrees sea-view terrace. Second day-celebration was on 36-meters Turkish Gullet. Ask Gunsenin to help you with restaurant reservation and other arrangements! Have a nice stay and...I am sure you'll fall in love with this place, as we did. Love, Just married, Katerina & Vlad.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Remizova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

firstly i dont understand how this hotel is ranked 10th, dont be fooled by the ratings, this has to be the best hotel ul ever stay in. Read some reviews about noise etc but these people must have supersonic hearings because the hotel itself is so quite and relaxing and i didnt hear any noise in the night at all....the service is amazing, the food is incredible. went there with my girlfriend and we loved it and will go there again next year...its all couples, no children allowed, everyone at their honeymoon...very romantic, flowers everyhwre, lovely restaurant, lovely pool, the rooms are very clean and modern...u step out the hotel and ur directly at the beach and in the evening its where all the shops, restaurants and bars are....i cannot fault this place one bit, best holiday ive ever had.....

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essexoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We chose this hotel to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere special, and it certainly was. An idyllic haven. Days spent in and around the pool, relaxing on day beds and in hammocks, sheltering from the sun beneath the olive trees with drinks and tasty snacks to hand. In the evenings we would venture into the busy resort, enjoying cocktails in the Help bar next door. Some reviews say the area is noisy at night, yes it is, but it's no noisier than any other beach resort - we just slept later and enjoyed a leisurely breakfast much later in the morning. We were looked after, made friends and couldn't have chosen a better hotel to mark our special occasion.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

My partner and I stayed at Oyster booked through Sovereign for two glorious weeks in July this year- I cannot even begin to say enough to encourage you to stay here too.
Firstly lets deal with the issue of noise, as stated in the brochures this hotel is located in the centre of this lively yet laid back resort, in the day time it is a very calm oasis, at night however the area around the hotel comes to life- heaven forbid people on holiday enjoying themselves!!!, loud music and partying- this is I am afraid for those who have complained on this site and even some did at breakfast insisted in doing so loudly are ridiculous its like complaining water is wet, this is no deserted idyll it doesn’t claim to be it is an oasis in the day, lively at night some rooms hear the noise more than others we were on the ground floor room 111 closest to the ‘help bar’ and yes heard the noise till late say 2-3am however once in the room away from the garden terrace it was fine and I myself am a very light sleeper and used my common sense to review this hotel prior to arrival so brought earplugs and had NO disturbed sleep. My general comment would be if you want complete peace and quiet day and night it’s not for you if you like to enjoy a meal out and a drink in the evening its great and if all else fails either take earplugs (try BIO EAR’s from boots-amazing!!) or as they say if you cant beat them join them!]
Now to more pleasant comments like the fabulous things about ‘Oyster’ now where to start? - hotel, rooms, pool etc are immaculate, beautiful and very well kept. The hotel grounds and communal space are exquisitely furnished very calming and relaxing tons of lounger’s, cushions, hammocks and day beds to lounge around on, the hotel is only small just 26 rooms so there is plenty of space even when full it feels like your staying at a friends large villa. The best rooms are the ground floor ones, doubles with a garden terrace and day bed bliss!! Breakfast is typical Turkish-limited hot food,but lots of cereals, toast, juice, fruits, tea coffee; they will make omelettes etc on order for you if you wish. Service is attentive, helpful, but not too in your face. The hotel is situated in the heart of this bustling yet laid back resort, just on the promenade only 1 minute walk from the main beach and say 10 mins from the famous blue lagoon.
We have visited Olu Deniz 3 times in the last 7 years and love it, it changes here and there but fundamentally it is a great holiday resort, bustling with good restaurants and bars, no lager louts here, it is hot hot hot, got to 53 degrees on several days so if your sun/heat shy it may not be for you. Our best recommendations to eat are ‘Jade’ fish restaurant next door to Oyster- not cheap but worth it, the Belceziez hotel restaurant on the front doing, Indian, Thai and Italian is fab the best curry I have ever had. Best things to do whilst in Olu Deniz- 1: the blue lagoon-tranquil, beautiful natural wonder,best tip go early as it gets very hot and very very busy high season, often best to retreat to the hotel before lunch. 2: paragliding- we have done it twice now- used ‘Sky Sports’they have fully covered insurance and a proper space to land- this experience is out of this world, not scary at all, amazing pictures it takes about 40 mins to come down its like floating down to earth on a feather. 3: Fethyie- lovely town, very hot though often good to go at night when its cooler, we did a good organised trip through Thomson called the ‘Sundowner’ they picked us up from Olu Deniz, bussed us to Fethyie we then went out on a boat for a few hours to see the sunset, amazing, very romantic, relaxing got some fab pictures, then they take you back in and go to a fish restaurant and allow you to have a mooch for an hour or so before they take you back good value, good trip. Other trips not really worth it include the truck safari, and Fethyie market- its all tat and it is like an oven in there! We also had a Turkish bath used ‘Sky Spa’ next to AZDA, not good!! Poor value for money, rushed, got shouted at lasted about 15 mins paid for 60 not good at all! Overall this is a wonderful hotel; although it’s not cheap it is a very luxurious way to spend 2 weeks in lovely Olu Deniz in lovely Turkey.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pussycat81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
4.6 mi away
Seaview Faralya Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
217 reviews
0 mi away
Jade Residence
Jade Residence
#26 of 102 in Oludeniz
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
1.4 mi away
Golden Life Heights Deluxe Suite Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#12 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Residences

Address: Oludeniz Mahallesi, Belcekiz Mevki, 224 Sok. No: 1, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#14 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $77 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional Fethiye stone house surrounded by olive trees, Oyster Residences provides air conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. It features an outdoor pool and grounds with lounge beds. A minibar and a TV are in each room at Oyster Residences. All rooms come with private modern bathrooms and are decorated in pastel colors. Some rooms include a private furnished terrace. A range of dishes are served at Oyster's restaurant. Guests can eat outside on the terrace or relax with a drink lounge. Massage treatments are offered and guests can enjoy reading the hotel's private library. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oyster Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Residence Oludeniz Hotel Oludeniz
Oyster Residence Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz Oyster Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing