We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“chilled”
Review of Oyster Residences

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oyster Residences
Ranked #33 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
cumbria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“chilled”
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the oyster for our honeymoon. we arrived at some ungodly hour and shown to our room where we crashed for a few hours then on waking headed for the pool area which was really lovely,clean and quiet and plenty of sun loungers/hammocks/beds/cushions, we then had to change rooms (xl's fault!)and we got a lovely garden terrace room which was perfect with lovely bathroom(2 wash basins) with excellent shower/steam thingy,lots of wardrobe dressing space,bath robes,slippers,large white fluffy towels,cool marble floor and general lovliness.
We spent a lot of our time around the pool/terrace area watching the paragliders above trying not too get burnt as it was still v.hot!
I arranged a turkish bath through reception which was easily done and someone came to collect me and drop me off afterwards(tukish bath recommended preferably at the end of the day!)
There was a well stocked bookshelf with and magazines for the residents to use -i managed to read 4 books in 7 days.So if you forget your books it doesnt matter there is stuff for all tastes.
The bar next door can be noisy but it really didnt bother us we stayed in 116
We ate at the hotel but unfortunately the food was dissapointing I ordered Turkish paella-thinking it would be similar to spanish paella-but no it was rice with a strange sauce and tiny bits of fish, hubby had bbq which he said was crap.
The food at Help next door was very good also excellent pizza at La Mara short walk up road,We also ate at Jade on our last night -although pricey the fish was beautiful and perfectly cooked.
The turks seem to put sauce on everyhing tis wierd,cocktails are good at Help although at 5 quid a pop theyre not cheap- dont need many tho are quite strong!
Well done for reading this far!

  • Liked — terrace area and rooms
  • Disliked — noise from Help!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathhornsby2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    92
    10
    9
    19
See reviews for
44
382
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Oyster Residence. The hotel is a really special place to stay, it's very pretty, with a smallish pool but as there are only 24 rooms here it's just the right size. A very peaceful place to be during the day considering it is right on the beach, but at night the Help Bar to the left of the hotel and the Buzz Bar to the right of the hotel come alive with very loud music, saying that though we were in room 108 and the noise did not bother us at all. we were advised to take ear plugs which we did, i used mine but my partner did not need to.

One night at 2am our night porter Hamdi who we nicknamed Bambi , rang the police to complain that the music was still going on and that it was too loud and within 20 mins it had stopped all together. It did not put us off our stay here at all and we would certainly stay here again.

Our room was nicely decorated, a lovely bathroom with a great shower.

The owner has a brilliant eye for detail, everything is so pretty and so clean.

A lot of people walking past the hotel on the promenade stopped to look in to the hotel grounds and were surprised at how nice it was.

The menu at the hotel was very nice although we did not eat here as it seemed a little over priced.

Olu Deniz is by no means a cheap holiday , food, drink, in fact everything is quite expensive.

The beach was not quite as nice as we were expecting it to be, it was quite untidy with litter everywhere, however the Blue Lagoon is spotless and is very quiet, as there are signs everywhere saying 'no loud talking' & 'no shouting' & 'no loud music' etc.

Would definitely go back the the Oyster Residence, the staff Hamdi, Mohamid & Mustafa are great people.

  • Liked — cleanliness, position, staff, decor
  • Disliked — noise at night
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traceySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2008

I have never known a hotel that can generate such different reviews from those who love it to those who hate it! This is a nice hotel on the beach front that is quiet during the day but turns into a nightmare at night. It is certainly not suitable for anyone who has mobility problems. A nightmare shower cubicle to climb into everyday, with no handles to hold onto. There are lots of steps and wet stones to walk about on around the gardens when the watering is done each day.
The Help Bar next door starts its music at around 11pm every night and goes on until 3 or 4am and it is loud. We have just returned from a 14 night holiday exhausted through lack of sleep. Olu Deniz is a busy, tacky resort with a stoney beach and expensive restaurants. It reminds me of Spain in the 70's at its worst! On average we paid around £40 - £50 a night for dinner. A milkshake in the hotel is 10 lira around £5!
I can only think that if you are happy to sit up all night drinking the night away and falling into bed then you wouldn't notice the noise but that is not how we personally enjoy spending our time.
I think if you haven't done much travelling then Olu Deniz might seem attractive but if you have been further a field you will be disappointed.
The only redeeming feature of this hotel is the staff. I cannot recommend Hamdi, Mohamed, Mustafa and Ishmael more highly for helping us to survive the ordeal. If it hadn't been for XCEL going bust I would have been home sooner. BEWARE! Our travel agent has submitted a review to the trade website Gazateer to warn other travellers.
We were put into the Honeymoon suite on the last day for late check out. What a joke. I would have cried if I had arrived to find myself in this room for two weeks on honeymoon. It is an attic room with skylights no proper windows and coomb ceilings. Neither of us could stand up straight without banging our heads!

  • Liked — The Swimming Pool and the staff
  • Disliked — The noise at night and the owner
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CCLEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidderminster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2008

I arrived at the hotel in the beginning part of june with my work colleagues.
We were greeted by the hotel owner who was really enthusiastic and welcoming.
The hotel is located immediatley on the beach front with small bars shops and restaurants around.
Even though there is a bar located right next door to the hotel no noise is heard at all!
Go to the bar its a great nights entertainment.
The hotel rooms were decorated all different with contemporary designs and well thought out.
The property is small and intimate and ideal for couples or friends who want to be located in an ideal heaven for their holiday!!

Really would recommend to anyone, you will not be disapointed one bit!!!!

  • Liked — Small and contemporary
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bbbubblehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We've been back for a little over 2 weeks now, we stayed at The Oyster residences, Olu Deniz....What a great time we had!!! I truley am gutted to be back home. We arrived early hours of the morning, but were greeted with friendly faces, and Hamdi the night man, took our luggage to our room, then took us down to the bar (next to the pool) for drink..

The hotel rooms are fantastic, and cleaned daily, with fresh towels, all the cleaning ladies are friendly and polite. The showers in the room (or atleast our was) gorgeous and makes our power shower at home seem very feeble... I would say that all/ most of the rooms have a lovely view of the pool area, which is beautiful also. You have flat screen t.v's in the rooms aswell, which have a few channels which show american sitcoms etc on them... i know you are on holiday, but we found it nice to have something in the background while we got ready.

The pool area is kept extremley clean, and they will provide you with towels if you need them, although we took our own.

There are loads of restaurants that will cater for everyone, my partner is very fussy indeed, but even he did'nt starve. The restaurant at the Oyster is supposed to be fantastic, and was full every night...we ate there once, but found it a little over priced. There daytime snack menu wasn't bad though, we enjoyed some lovely salads and pizza......and great coffee.

The view from your breakfast table is wonderful, you can sit right at the front, practically on the promanade...the sea is more or less in front of you!!! Breakfast at the hotel is basic really, if you want a full english, go down the road,, as you will only get cereals, fruit,, toast, and some small bits of hot food. That was fine for us, but you may need more if you are a big eater. ...or just eat alot of whats there ;))

Olu deniz is well known for its paraglyding, and you will certainly understand this within your first day!! I nearly had one in my ceral bowl...Its amazing to watch, they go so so high, and they look great near sun set...its like watching loads of birds take off the cliifs!!! I wouldve loved to have done it, but it was around 180 lire, and i didnt budget for i., But definetly next year, alot of the other guest in the hotel went, and said it was a fantastic experience....apart form the jeep ride up into the mountains, which they all descibed as the worst part of it all!!!

This is a true sun seekers holiday i think, theres not an awful lot to do in olu deniz...we did go to fethyie market on the bus 1 day....bus was great....and very very cheap, but the market was under cover and was so humid, i think we only stayed for 40 mins, then had to come home again....i did buy a bag in that time though ;))

There is also the blue lagoon to visit, which is within walking distance, and its only a couple of lire to get in..Oyster also does a weekly boat trip which is only for hotel guest...so its not packed!! They stop at many small coves, and your on and off the boat in the sea most of the day!!...if thats what you want to do. Theres a buffet aswell, with watermelon and snacks, which is all fresh.

We tried a few nice restaurants, but especially like the Buzz beach Bar for its sunset views on the top decking, while eating your meal...and cocktails.

Right,,, now for the downsides.......oyster is a beutiful beautiful hotel, its like a tranquil oasis of calm..by day!!! Come evening time, you set off for dinner, a few drinks, a stroll down the beach, it hits 11.30pm....then bam....the HELP BAR right next door to the hotel kicks of its evening music....rather loudly...and although i liked the music they were playing, i didnt like the volume they played it at...until 4am in the morning... By the third night we thought sod it, we'll just stay up ( we had also got a little used to it by then) ...(although some older guests really werent happy)!!!! So we went out later for dinner and drinks, then came back and played cards by the pool, and Hamdi the night guy kept our drinks topped up...nothing was ever to much!!.. and we would chat to other guests who were doing the same as us.

i found alot of restaurants and bars are about the same as here for drinks and food. Don't be shocked to pay 20 lire for a couple of cocktails (thats about £10ish) Which is fine if you know what your getting. I would also advise that you take a certain amount of english money with you as they most definetly like the british pound out there, and alot of places even give you a choice to pay with our own money..which works out better for you!!!, Hissaranou at the top of the hill, is a little cheaper though, and is worth a night/day vist as they have some nice restaurants, and a cab isnt expensive.

Even the noisey bar couldnt put me off going back there though, i found everyone in turkey helpfull friendly and welcoming...and they all seem to remeber your name!!???

I hope this has been useful for someone, and i hope you have as nice a time as we did!!! Definetly worth a visit!!

  • Liked — the hotel, and being so close to the beach!!!
  • Disliked — The noisey bar next door
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTbrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Oyster Residences (4th-11th August 2008). This was our honeymoon and I am so glad that we chose the Oyster as the place to go to,
The hotel and the staff are fantastic. The garden room we had (117) was perfect with our own little terrace. It had everything you needed, lovely bathroom and cleaned everyday by friendly staff.
The pool area is so chilled and as this is an adult only hotel, you can really relax without children running everywhere. There are plenty of sun loungers, hammocks and even full size beds to chill on all beautifully decorated.
The staff work really hard and are always smiling and polite and will accomodate all your requests - really lovely people.
I recommend you do the boat trip that the hotel organises once a week. There are only a max of 20 people, no loud music and it stops in some beautiful places where you can snorkle and chill. The food onboard was lovely and all this for only £20!
There is not one thing I would change about this hotel - it is perfect.
Its location is fantastic, right on the promonade with the beach just a few yards away. There is penty to do in Olu Deniz and it is a really nice, safe and clean place to visit.
I would recommend the following restaurants:
Help (next door to hotel) - Lovely lunches
Buzz Seafood Grill - Lovely views of the magnificent sunset, nice food and chilled atmosphere (book a table if you want one with nice views)
Captain Hooks - Lovely Steaks right in the middle of the resort
Cloud 9 - Cocktails and lovely service
Secret Garden - Real authentic turkish food (one of the side streets off the main shopping street).
We will definately return and look forward to that occasion. If you go to Olu Deniz do not stay anywhere else, the Oyster is definately a top class hotel with great people and a chilled atmosphere - nothing else compares. ENJOY!

  • Liked — Attention to detail, pool, cleanliness, friendliness of staff
  • Disliked — Having to Leave
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankandEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2008

2 weeks in Oyster Residence in July '08 - what a lovely holiday!

We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel!

The best things -
1. The staff make it perfect - from the owner to the cleaners, they are all friendly (above just wanting a tip!) and very professional.
2. This hotel is definitely in the top 3 in the resort, if not the best.
3. It was great to have a big pool, with no kids in it - or anywhere else in the hotel for that matter. Much as i love 'em...
4. July in Turkey is hot. This hotel has a lot of shade (as well as a lot of sun) around the pool, and choices of chairs / cushions / hammocks to keep you comfy.
5. Brilliant restaurant - not the cheapest but really high quality for good prices.
6. The dining area is beautiful and overlooks the promenade and the sea.
7. The guests all seemed very friendly too!
8. The hotel and pool (and in fact the whole resort) is very clean.
9. It's the little touches, like the library of English books and beautiful outdoor furnishings and the amazing flowers and plants.

Things you should know -
1. The resort is growing quickly and is not as quiet as we expected. We heard rumours of MacDonalds approaching..! But you can buy anything you need there, decent sun tan lotion, etc.
2. There will be some loud music from neighbouring bars, but once you've closed your windows and put the air con on, you don't hear it - and it doesn't last all night.
3. The resort is quite small and not great for walks, but it's too hot during the day and after dinner you probably won't be able to!
4. It is a resort. There are people from all walks of life there. However, it is not rowdy, and you generally feel very safe, even if you are female and walking somewhere on your own.
5. Take Turkish money. We were totally confused because different people told us to take Euros, Pounds or Turkish Lira - Lira is cheaper, alhough you can spend £ and Euros easily. There are lots of cash points within walking distance, plus a post office for the cheapest exchange rate.

We hope that this beautiful place stays that way! We booked with Anatolian Sky, and feel it's worth stating that their day trips were far better than some of the ones that other guests went on.

I can't not mention Hambi, who we both agreed made the holiday. I don't know his job title, but he seemed to do everything, and very well!

Renee & Simon.

  • Liked — It was just so pretty!
  • Disliked — We liked it all, and we are really fussy!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneeAndSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.4 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Jade Residence
Jade Residence
#34 of 103 in Oludeniz
243 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
Beyaz Yunus Hotel
#16 of 103 in Oludeniz
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#11 of 103 in Oludeniz
411 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
Ecclesia Boutique Hotel
#78 of 103 in Oludeniz
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Belcekiz Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oyster Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oyster Residences

Property: Oyster Residences
Address: Oludeniz Mahallesi, Belcekiz Mevki, 224 Sok. No: 1, Oludeniz 48340, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Oludeniz
#15 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#18 Luxury Hotel in Oludeniz
#31 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oyster Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a traditional Fethiye stone house surrounded by olive trees, Oyster Residences provides air conditioned rooms with balconies and free Wi-Fi. It features an outdoor pool and grounds with lounge beds. A minibar and a TV are in each room at Oyster Residences. All rooms come with private modern bathrooms and are decorated in pastel colors. Some rooms include a private furnished terrace. A range of dishes are served at Oyster's restaurant. Guests can eat outside on the terrace or relax with a drink lounge. Massage treatments are offered and guests can enjoy reading the hotel's private library. Free private parking is available on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Oyster Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oyster Residence Oludeniz Hotel Oludeniz
Oyster Residence Hotel Oludeniz
Oludeniz Oyster Residence Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing