We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time here, will definitely be back!”
Review of Hotel Karbel Sun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Karbel Sun
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
U.K
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First time here, will definitely be back!”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

First time in Olu Deniz and staying at the Karbel Sun, it was wonderfull! a lovely hotel set in gardens. I had a top floor room with sea and mountain view it was lovely. Nice room with 2 single beds just for me, so plenty of space.

All staff are so friendly and will do anything for you.

Lovely pool and bar area.

Enjoyed breakfasts, with lovely fresh bread everyday (dont know why people complain, its so hot why would you want something heavy!).

Location is perfect, 5 mins to beach and 15 mins to Blue Lagoon. The coastline is so beautifull. I think the resort has got the balance just right, there are bars and restaurants but it isnt by any means rowdy like some other resorts.

Did the boat trip around Olu Deniz, payed a bit extra for the boat with just 25 people and it was worth it.Plenty of room, a relaxing day, lots of swimming, thoroughly enjoyed it.
Also did the day trip to Rhodes which was really nice. A long day 07.20 pick up returning at 9pm. The sea was choppy so boat took double the time to reach!

Will definitely come back to this hotel, infact possibly in October. Thankyou to all at the Karbel Sun for a wonderfull holiday!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    211
    84
    20
    22
See reviews for
134
317
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Came back to Karbel Sun for 2nd time and what can I say...it was like coming home.

It was so nice to see that nothing had really changed - a few new members of staff but all very famaliar faces - especially my boys behind the bar Ahmet and Mehmet.

Had another lovely stay here and they all made me feel so welcome again and have been very sad to leave.

Yes the breakfast can be seen as basic but it was perfect for me as can never eat too much when its hot.

Lovely to see some guests who were there from last year and made some lovely new friends - and thanks to Ali who was very accommodating for me as my friend was staying at another hotel and he let her spend time with me which he could have easily have said no to like some other hotels seem o give the impression of.

Had some lovely cocktails at the pool bar and brilliant Ahmet & Mehmet and Etol was all so lovely and friendly and always looked after everyone - even when they had to deal with some very ignorant andf rude guests.
I stayed in standard room in block 3 and room was perfect for me.My maid also made me smile many days by leaving flowers for me and my room was always spotless. I hired a fridge for the 2nd week which cost about £20 which was lovely especially for keeping my aftersun cold :-)

I am currently planning my 3rd and 4th trip back there and will definitely be not staying anywhere else!! Thanks to all at Karbel Sun for making my holifday a very special one again!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nats2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2010

You get to know all the staff who are all really nice. The receptionist went beyond the call of duty. The breakfast is very simple and does not offer much choice but that really did not matter in the long run.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harroviannomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2010

our group stayed at this hotel for our wedding, 40 people were with us and everyone loved the hotel, it had a warm atmostphere great staff and a superb manager (ali) myself and my wife had the honeymoon suite and it was lovely, the rest of our guests had the standard rooms and everyone really enjoyed the hotel, it is not a 5star but it is not a 5 star price so value for money it was excellent. position is superb, breakfast not so good but we like full english sad hey? will use this hotel again and that speaks loads for a place. superb staff and hope they have a good season and will see them all again next year. from a VERY happy married couple

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozakev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Myself and my now husband have stayed at the Karbel Sun Hotel for several years now and each year we go back to the same hotel. The hotel in general is clean and the staff are extremly friendly and will do all they can to help you. It has a very personal touch too Ali the hotel manager has become a good friend now and always meets our requirements when we holiday at Karbel Sun. The bar and resturant staff and chef are all also very accomodating to our requirements. If you go to Olu Deniz in Turkey you must try this hotel, and Im sure like myself and my husband you wil return year after year........Definatley 5 stars...Clair & Bruv!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Read a few reviews before i went and had mixed views about it. Arrived early hours of the morning, got into our room and it was extremely basic, 2 single beds and a bathroom. We pushed the beds together but it isn't the same as having a double as you can fall through the middle. Sheets were awful, especially when you get sunburn. First day, we went to explore, pool was very nice and the gardens are very nice and the views around the hotel are beautiful! All staff (except one) are very friendly and speak quite good english, the main pool bar man speaks english the best. Only one of the staff members, we found horrible, he seems to be the head waitor i think, he short changed us on the third day and the rest of our holiday we just got dirty looks and bad service from him! There were no germans, as we were there for the world cup and no1 cheered for germany! All english and scottish people there and it seemed a very popular hotel. Would reccomend it to everyone, but try and book asap or you will get a room like we did! Also i would reccomend the jeep safari trip with thomas cook in the hotel, so much fun and a great day out!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceyg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Just come back from the Karbel Sun (June 2010) and this was my 1st time visit to Olu Deniz and infact Turkey.
Booked hotel direct and dealt with Ali who was great and very nice when finally met him, he also arranged transfers for us too.
Arrived at Dalaman and was transferred to hotel with no problems. 1st impressions of hotel was good, was clean and well maintained. The gardens were well kept and everything was kept looking nice it seemed. I had requested a twin deluxe room on a high floor level. However when i got there and because we was 2 males travelling the room allocated to us was a double room on the top floor we was given a twin on the ground floor. I was a bit annoyed about this as i had said a twin room because we was 2 males and asked for a high floor room. The room i was given was 503 on the ground floor. The room itself was lovely, a bit small but very nice. It had a flat screen TV, fridge, air con and a small balcony but it was facing a brick wall so it was a bit dark. Beds were 2 singles obviously but was a bit hard and the sheets didnt really fit the bed and was quite rough on the skin (not good when you have sun burn)
I contacted reception to see if they was no higher floor rooms but they wasnt until the monday (we arrived on a saturday) so we stayed in 503. On monday we changed rooms to the 1st floor and room 507. This was much better as it was lighter and was exactly the same as 503 in layout. However i was disappointed that from when we went into that room on the monday until the saturday we left (5 days) we didnt have a change in towels or bed linen. I only found out the day before we were due to leave that these should be changed every 3 days. Our cleaner only emptied our bins and gave us new toilet rolls. The floors wasnt cleaned either. So by end of stay room was getting a bit grubby to say the least and the towels were definately needing replenished. Apart from this the rooms were nice and modern.
We was on a B & B basis and breakfast was basic but sufficient. It was the usual cereal, fruit, meat, boiled eggs, bread, jam etc. They was no hot food like bacon, sausage etc so just expect a basic but nice breakfast. It was sufficient for what we needed.

Only other thing that annoyed me was the transfer back to airport. I was told it was 1.15pm but at 1.45pm i was still waiting and the time it took to get to Dalaman by time i had checked in and gone through passport control etc the flight was boarding. The reception staff at hotel didnt even know i was still waiting until i went to ask where the transfer was.

All in all though its a nice hotel, the staff are very friendly, rooms nice, etc. They just need to iron out a few problems thats all but i would definately return to the Karbel Sun. Oh and look out for Lucky the hotels spaniel dog, he is soooo sweet.

Olu Deniz as a resort is great. Really liked it, the beach is lovely, the lagoon great and it has plenty of bars and restaurants without being too loud. We eat at some lovely restaurants and can recommend Sultan Ahmet Restaurant, Toscana Restaurant, Anfora, Buzz Bar and Bella Gusto. Dont go to Josephs though, we had lunch there and got a burger and chips and its was like a burger made out of kit e kat. I spent the next few hours on the toilet as a result. Just as well or maid at hotel left us toilet rolls isnt it, lol.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fastdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#35 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#41 of 103 in Oludeniz
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#59 of 103 in Oludeniz
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#27 of 103 in Oludeniz
800 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Turk
Hotel Turk
#54 of 103 in Oludeniz
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Lagoon
Blue Lagoon
#39 of 103 in Oludeniz
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Karbel Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Karbel Sun

Property: Hotel Karbel Sun
Address: Belcekiz Mevki Kidrak Yolu Uzeri | Üzeri, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#39 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Karbel Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Karbel Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Sun Hotel
Karbel Sun Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing