We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel Great Location, Excellent Holiday”
Review of Blue Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Star Hotel
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Essex
1 review
“Good Hotel Great Location, Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We have just returned from a week at the Blue Star Hotel in Olu Deniz. We booked online through Holiday Mate. ( reservation@holidaymate.com) we actually thought we had booked another hotel, so we telephoned to there office and spoke with Stuart who advised us that the Blue Star Hotel was actually in a better location, so we went along with his suggestion. And he was right.
Located in the centre of the resort, but quiet of a night time, with only a short walk to the beach and to the Dolmus. (Best way to travel)
The staff are very friendly, they all work very long hours but always nothing was to much trouble for them. We arrived in the early hours of the morning and the night clerk insisted on carrying our suitcases up the stairs.
Our room was cleaned every day, and the only criticism is that we had to ask for clean towels in our room on one day. We paid to have the air conditioning as the rooms are quite small and can get a bit stuffy. There was also a TV in the room which was a bit limited on English channels, but we did not spend that much time in our room. There was a very small balcony with 2 chairs, no room to really sit out and relax in private.
The pool area was very clean with sun beds around. We found that other guests must have got up very early to put there towels on the beds! Even when they were all taken, it was only a short walk to the beach where there were plenty of beds and parasols. The views of the mountains whilst sitting on the beach is breath taking.
The hotel will be best suited for couples of all ages, there is a small children’s pool but no other facilities in the hotel that we cater for the family holiday.
There are plenty of water sports on offer, plus boat trips. There are lots of excursions on offer to suit all. The best thing was the Paragliding, not only watching them fly above in the sky but taking part. (Yes, we did it) The best place to book all of the excursions is at Easy Rider Office. We found them very friendly and very professional.
There are plenty of eating places around the resort, but we found the food in the Hotel Restaurant was delicious and plentiful, they also offer a 10% discount for residents of the hotel.
We would have no hesitation to return to the Blue Star Hotel and would recommend it to anyone looking for a 3 star hotel with a 5star service.

  • Liked — The Service
  • Disliked — Rooms are small
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MMLEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    68
    22
    8
    9
See reviews for
88
163
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Arrived at Blue Star 13 Sep 08 only to be told that hotel company had gone bust one day before.Mehmet wanted paid again!We paid 280 pounds for 2 rooms he wanted 570 or we were on the streets.finally after much arguing he took 280 but was not happy. We will not get our money back but he will be paid again for our rooms although it will take months,he told us that himself!Have been to Blue Star before hotel is perfect for relaxing holiday,the rest of the staff are great but beware of Mehmet he wants your money if you dont spend money in his hotel he is not nice. We paid him twice for rooms,and he will be paid again,so we did not spend our money in hotel he was not happy could not speak to us.His attitude was his biggest problem when dealing with us and he would have put us out of hotel no hesitation as he did with 3 young girls!Will definately be back at Oludeniz sadly not to blue star, the hotel is perfect but beware of mehmet!

  • Liked — peacefulness
  • Disliked — Mehmet
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jeenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

We booked our room with Blue Star through their website. Booking was a little old school - in the way that they didn't require any credit card details to guarantee the booking. We were offered a airport transfer from Antalya airport at £40 as our flight didn't get in until 4:35am. We gladly took up their offer, and I emailed through all our flight details, and was told someone would meet us at the airport. The day before leaving I emailed them to re-confirm everything, and didn't hear back, but there was no need to worry as we had someone waiting for us at the airport. Once we arrived at Blue Star we were told by the girl on reception (the one we had been emailing) that the transfer was actually £120!!! We were shocked to say the least, in our tired states we told her that she had quoted £40 and we weren't prepared to pay £120, after a while we said we would pay £80 but no more, she said that we could leave it till later. So we were shown to our room. After we had freshened up we went back to reception to try and sort out the airport transfer, after some negoiation it was decided we could pay £80 and could pay on our departure. This was all fine. We spent the next few days at the beach and blue lagoon. We did a wonderful boat cruise to 6 islands.
On our departure we went to settle our bill - well - were shocked to say the least. We were now being asked to pay £130 for the airport transfer! After a heated discussion the owner (who had been on the sidelines saying nothing the whole time) finally stepped in and asked what the problem was. So we repeated to him that we were initially told the transfer would be £40 and that is what we had said yes it, only to arrive and be told that it was actually £120 - which had we know this from the start we would never had accepted the offer. And that days earlier we had negioated it to £80 and it was agreed, only to now find out we are being charged £130. To cut a very long story short the owner said it was a mistake on their part, but we were still expected to pay the £130 as they were doing us a favour and he shouldn't have to pay for it. We were totally disgusted. We were backpacking and didn't have £130 to pay them. We then went to pay for our room in Turkish Lira (as you do when travelling in Turkey) only to be shouted at that we had gone online and looked at the days exchange rate, when we 'apparently' should have gone to the owner and asked him what it was. He then tried to tell us that they didn't except Turkish currency as he wouldn't make any money from it, he got VERY irrate with us and were told we had to pay in GBP. We apologised and said as we were travelling we were using Turkish Lira and had never been told this before. He stormed off in a huff after shouting at us again. They calculated the cost of the room and in the end we paid £400 for a room that should only have cost us £315, we also ended up paying the £130 out of pure fustration.
So in short, be careful, while the pool is lovely the owner is nasty and will totally rip you off at any opportunity.
It is a noisey hotel, with paper thin walls and a nite club over the back fence. While the rooms look surface clean, if you look closer they're not that clean, our shower was dirty and a bit below standard. They were also a bit tight with loo paper, which was odd, we ran out twice while we were there, and on 1 occasion they only gave us a 1/2 roll.

The bar staff and restaurant staff were lovely.

Also be warned, while they may say that Oludeniz is not a resort, it is full of British and Russian package holidays, it is hard to find traditional Turkish cusine and the main beach is very crowded - but lovely. Head to the blue lagoon, its still crowded, but more relaxed and more beautiful.

We had done quite a bit of travelling around Turkey and were looking forward to Oludeniz, and our stay at Blue Star, but I can hand on heart say it was the worst hotel we stayed in (we stayed in better hostels!) - so watch out, the owner (and front of house staff) totally ruined our holiday and our impression of Turkey, which is a real shame.

  • Liked — air-con
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rockie95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new barn ,kent
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

Just returned from the Blue Star and have to agree with nearly all of the comments already left on this site.Perfect location in centre, but still very quiet of a night, only 150 yds to beach
Family run hotel,all staff very friendly, rooms were very well cleaned every day,
Our personal opinion is book a deluxe room which are not lower ground floor.
For a 2 star hotel the deluxe rooms have everything you want, T.V, Air Con, Balcony,Mini fridge, and Telephone.
Again only a personal opinion, but like the last review could have done without the flags hanging from the bar, made bar area look a bit tatty
Would not hessitate to return
Allan and Carole

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — bar area flags
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank loft85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Just got back last night and had to write our review straight away! What can I say? (rather a lot actually!)

We booked our holiday about 6 weeks ago as a last-minute deal through Holidaymate (great by the way) and am I glad we did!

We arrived at about 6.30am to be greeted warmly and shown to our room. Rooms are quite small and simple, but kept spotlessly clean and are all you need when you're in such a beautiful place!

The pool area was lovely, as were the bar and restaurant. The music they play is just right for creating a festive mood and was never too loud or annoying. The view to the surrounding hills from your sunlounger was amazing!

Breakfast is ample and you can choose from the traditional Turkish boiled eggs, cheese, cucumber, watermelon etc. or cereal, toast with jam and honey and tea and coffee. If you really can't do without your fry-up, you can also order this at a supplement.

As previously stated, the location of the Blue Star is excellent - near enough to be within easy strolling distance of everywhere yet strangely calm and quiet despite being only a street away from the main bar and restaurant area. We met some people staying at Lykia World and actually felt sorry for them being so far out and having to only eat there lol!!!

The food in the restaurant was delicious (try the mixed Mezze plate for lunch - 18YTL and enough for 2) - we only chose Turkish dishes the few times we ate there and the staff were only too happy to recommend and serve them!! This leads on to one of the Blue Star's best features - the people!

Every single member of staff we met was fantastic. Despite working from early morning to late at night 6 or 7 days a week their good humour, attentiveness and genuine friendliness really made our stay magical. They are happy to chat and share a joke and have excellent memories for things you tell them!

I would actually extend this to everyone we met whilst there - the Turkish people really are the warmest and most welcoming I have ever encountered whilst abroad. We were scarcely hassled at all while there and any we did get was in good humour and we found that a simple no thank you with a smile was the best way to deal with it. We did hear people being really quite rude and stressy when asked if they wanted to book a trip or enter a shop and there really is no need for it. Remember that the people who work there only really have 5 or 6 months to earn most of their money for the year, so it is only natural that they try to make the best of it. Everyone we came across was polite and cheery and if you are polite and cheerful in return, you will have no problems!

Back to the Blue Star, I can only thoroughly recommend it. If you are looking for 3* accommodation with a 5* location and 5* service, this is it! My only niggle (and this is just a personal thing) is that I think they do cater to the Brits a bit *too* much. It is understandable as they are their main clientele, but at the same time they can be justifiably proud to be Turkish and are so fantastic I don't think they should have to have British flags up in the bar or have mainly British grub on the lunch menu (dinner menu much more varied) to attract tourists. Like I said though, that is just my own personal pet hate and I really can't fault them for it.

In short (after rather a long review!) go to Olu Deniz and GO TO THE BLUE STAR!!! You will have a fantastic time! We will definitely go back and we NEVER go to the same place twice!

Happy holidays!

  • Liked — The staff, location, pool...everything!
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay forever!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanfleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

We did not stay at this hotel but visited it and wish we had choose this hotel in a instant !
The atmosphere is lovely and just the right size we found what we saw to be very clean pool toiletts etc and the restraunt was lovely we had 5 meals here we choose something off the traditionall turkish menue everytime ! It was so fresh and just the right portion size we would have a starter, drinks and a main course and it would come to about 22 pound for two with excerllent polite service.
We can recomend a meal here certainly !This hotel is full of return guests i we could see why !
The hotel is in a very good location and when we visit lovely olu deniz again it will be this hotel we book without a doubt !

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank triggerclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Blue Star and have to say we were really impressed. The hotel is is a quiet position, but only a short walk to the beach and the bars and resturants. The staff were lovely and the food in the Blue Star resturant was the best we had. Will definately be returning to the Blue Star next year.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank jillHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#60 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mavi Belce
Mavi Belce
#81 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#36 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#40 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Turk
Hotel Turk
#53 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flying Dutchman Hotel
Flying Dutchman Hotel
#72 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Star Hotel

Property: Blue Star Hotel
Address: Belcegiz Mah. 224. Sok. No:8, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#45 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Star Oludeniz
Hotel Blue Star

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing