We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Dorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dorian Hotel
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our second time in Olu Deniz last year staying at Club Sun City which was more expensive for a week (we had 10 days at the Dorian and this was £500 cheaper than a week at Sun City). The standard of the food is good and you can always get something, but it is so cheap to eat out in some fantastic restaurants (Harry's and Captain Hook's are particularly good). It is a hotel with lots of potential but just needs to be managed better. Alex who was one of the bar staff was an excellent ambassador for the hotel and had a great rapport with all holiday makers regardless of age and nationality.

The reception staff are useless, and dont seem particularly experienced. If I was in charge I wouid find someone similar to Alex to put on front of house. It would help if they had some basic English so they could understand and respond to questions, queries or issues.

Rooms are small and basic, the cleaning staff do an amazing job and our room was cleaned daily and to a high standard. They do not have enough staff in general and the waiting staff and reception staff are often the same people. The only staff who wore a uniform were the cleaners, oh and if you get a problem the cleaners sort if out for you much more efficiently than reception.

People who had returned to the hotel commented that it had declined since their last stay.
If it was my hotel I would:-
- lose the animals in the petting zoo, this area smells especially if you are in the rooms close by.
-invest in customer service training for existing staff
- replace some of the dodgy sun beds and parasols
- give the bar and pool area by the restaurant a real deep cleanse
- Make the waiting staff wear a uniform so that they can be identified
- Give Alex, the cleaners and the Catering team a pat on the back for a job well done
- Increase the staffing levels as corners are cut due to lack of resource despite the staff working long hours and working hard.

there is a courtesy bus to the blue lagoon twice a day and this is beautiful, you have to pay for beach beds and food and drink but its very reasonable and they do proper home made chips.

when I read the reviews I was dreading our arrival, however, remember that this is a budget hotel and is good value for money despite some niggles. We had a brilliant time and will definately go back to Olu Deniz again, probably wouldnt stay at the Dorian again but that is because we prefer somewhere a little quieter.

If you have booked dont panic you will have a fabulous time, just make sure you get out and about as Olu Deniz the resort is really to good to miss.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
There are newer reviews for Dorian Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 663 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

If you understand Turkish hotels then I say this is ok , as for the rooms they are clean they have a bed and a shower , the food is ok , not good if you don't want to try Turkish food but remember you are in turkey , ok music is a bit loud but it's low in the right times of the day , people moan about the smallest things , it's a good hotel for the price

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anjipanji666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Not 5 star but still very nice. First impressions were bad. Rude bar staff and a horrid old fashioned room on the bottom floor near the disco. Very noisy. Got moved a day later after requesting somewhere quieter. Moved to block 500 which was much nicer. Food was good. Go for the fresh food cooked daily. BBQ's, omelettes, pizzas and kebabs. The fish Is good too. The kitchen staff and housekeepers are good. Bar staff are either too miserable or too familiar!! The appliances in the rooms are quite tired looking. The showers are flimsy. Loo appears to get blocked easily and not enough towels supplied. Had a good time and although room for improvement we would stay again in the future.

Room Tip: Blocks 500 or 600. Nothing is higher than 3 floors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judicw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Oludeniz is a lovely resort very friendly and stunning scenery.

It was very hot and sunny during August 2013 when I visited the Dorian hotel with my 2 children who are 14 and 11.

This hotel is most suited to the 18-30 holiday makers and not those wanting a quiet family holiday base. It was run by a bunch of kids very much for their own entertainment and needs and not for those of the hotel guests.

The reception staff spoke limited English, I found them to be too busy with facebook on the pc behind the reception desk to be interested in anything you may want to ask.

The bar staff were a bunch of young men whose sole purpose appeared to be was to have themselves a good time which usually came at the expense of poor service to the hotel guests having to wait to be served drinks whilst they continued to muck about. They also appeared to be responsible for blasting loud music out periodically during the day (this did not make for a relaxing time around the pool)! At night it was near on impossible to hold a conversation because of the loud music, and each night they took to dancing provocatively on top of the bar this was not what I thought was suitable for kids to exposed to.

The area around the pool was only cleaned once in the 10 days we were there. There was no shortage of sun loungers however some of them were broken. The pool was a welcome retreat to the heat and the sun.

Do Not Accept room 320 if you are offered this room it is above reception and is tiny no room to swing a clutch bag let alone unpack a suit case or 2! Also the shower is so tiny even a midget would find having a shower in it impossible! I complained and got moved to a bigger room however the 3rd bed is a seat and is really not suitable for a bed. The rooms are a little tired and dated and could do with some maintenance. They are supposed to be cleaned daily ours was not I had to go to reception on a couple of occasions to ask for clean towels.

The food in the restaurant was good, there is a selection of salads, cooked meals and puddings at lunch and dinner. The Turkish dishes and bbq were tasty. Breakfast was disappointing.

There were by far too many Russian guests staying at this hotel and I am afraid to say that as a nation they are by far the most rudest people you will ever meet!

If you have the choice pick a different hotel to the Dorian.

Do have a boat trip out around the coast line and visit some of the little islands around oludeniz, the sunset trip was spectacular. And visit the blue lagoon there is a free shuttle bus from the hotel although you have to hire sun loungers at 7tkl and buy lunch and drinks at the beach. A peddalo cost approx. 10tkl for an hour.

Silver jewellery is good value for money in turkey. You will get more lira if you exchange your money when in resort currently just over 3tkl to the pound.

Room Tip: do not accept room 320
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodle74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Dorian Hotel twice previously and this is our fifth time overall in Turkey. After reading the reviews prior to my holiday I was really worried as we were taking friends with us and did not want the holiday to be a disaster. I need not have worried! We had a great time, the weather was HOT in the high 30's everyday and Olu Deniz was just how I remembered, perfect in every way. We were allocated rooms 121 & 122 they are a little dated but fine for sleeping with lots of space and although these overlooked the loud bar, music was turned down at midnight. Would recommend families with small children ask for a room in blocks 4 & 5 away from the music & noise. Food was lovely something for everyone (even with a very fussy vegetarian we had no problems) Breakfast is served 7 - 10 offering freshly cooked omelettes or fried eggs with fresh meats, cheese, breads - panini maker is delicious. There was a variety of fruits, cereals and a selection of hot foods baked beans etc. Late breakfast between 10 - 11 for late risers. Lunch 12 - 2 consists of hot & cold dishes rice, pasta, meat and veg. Snacks burgers & chips between 3 - 4 and then tea & biscuits between 4 - 5 really does keep hunger at bay. Dinner is served 7 - 9 (I feel this does end a little early) BBQ every other day kebabs, fish, chicken etc. If you fancy eating out there are many restaurants to choose from at great prices as well. There are 2 pools we used the one at the back of the hotel, where polo is played in the afternoon (be careful my husband did cut his feet in the pool, we reported this to reception and wore sea shoes for the remainder of our stay.) The drinks flow (too) well with huge measures of alcohol, we were having to ask for small measures as it was too strong. All inclusive (between 10am - 11pm) consists of local drinks Raki, Vodka, Gin, House wines red/white, Beer, soft drinks & hot drinks. Branded drinks and cocktails are extra, however much cheaper than the bars on the strip. The staff are friendly (Alex made our stay very enjoyable),they work long hours in the red hot heat always smiling and happy to help. Rooms cleaned daily with fresh towels and sheets made into pretty patterns on the beds. Restaurant workers are thorough and clean tables away rapidly. Our hotel was full capacity and we never had a problem locating a clean table. Overall we had a fantastic holiday, Olu Deniz is the perfect location and I am glad I returned to the Dorian Hotel. However, I do feel standards of this hotel have slipped. We had problems with the air con as it was on a timer, the animals are very well looked after although the smell by the back pool is not nice and there is no animation team like previous years, so no day or evening entertainment. You can have a fantastic holiday if you do not dwell on these things, however we would not return to the Dorian Hotel again as there are lots of newer hotels with much more to offer in the area.
Tips: Book your trips with the many tour operates on the strip, your tour guide will try to sell trips to you at your arrival meeting but will be overpriced. Jeep Safari booked with Pioneer Travel (we have booked with other tour companies previously but Pioneer have been the best yet well organised and very fun)is the best way to enjoy the sites of Dalaman & surrounding areas. Have a Turkish Bath its a great way to relax and get rid of dead skin to tan quicker and last longer. Also visit Buzz Bar on the sea front for a relaxing evening, great fish bowls and you can even try the Turkish water pipe if that's your thing.

Room Tip: Blocks 4 & 5 situated by the back pool are away from the noise and more modern then the rest of...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelliemarieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just got back from an 8 night stay at the Dorian hotel. After reading the reviews we were unsure of what to expect. On arrival we were placed into a room on the ground floor but when asked to change rooms so we had a pool view this was done with no problem at all. The rooms are very clean and bedding and clean towels changed daily ( towels arranged beautifully into swans, hearts etc) The maids were very friendly and lovely.
The grounds are beautifully kept with a huge variety of fruit trees. They are also sprayed daily so keep pests to a minimum. We had no bites at all.
The pool area's are lovely and clean, although can be a little slippy but just be careful when walking around the pool area. There are two pools to choose from both with an outdoor bar and plenty of loungers for everyone.
The food was very good and there was a good variety of dishes to suit all nationalities. I feel some of the reviews left are from people expecting only their taste to be catered for. During our stay there were two barbeques held where you could get chicken breasts freshly chargrilled.
Bread is baked fresh daily in an open kitchen where you can see just how hard the chefs work with very little time off.
There is a pizza oven where pizzas are available daily during lunch time, alternating from cheese to meat. I requested a cheese pizza on meat day and this was provided.
My rather fussy daughter was holidaying with us and found something to eat every meal time.
Some examples of the food are. Chicken schnitzel, pastas, turkey roast, beef stir fry, kebabs, lamb meatballs, chips, rice, bulgar wheat, cous cous, fish, chicken In white wine, etc. There are also a large selection of salads, mezes, cheeses, breads and a variety of sweets.
The staff in the restaurant are very friendly and clear away your plates as soon as you have finished. The restaurant area is kept very clean and tidy.
I do agree with some of the comments regarding the loud music but this seems to be the norm in turkey and it is all quiet by midnight.
The staff work very hard and one member of staff in particular called Alex who works the bars from 6am-12am made our stay very entertaining.
The location is brilliant, 2 mins from the main strip but away from the hussle and bussle and about a 5 min walk to a beautiful beach.
We will be returning to the dorian!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsPob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We booked four rooms and were allocated rooms on the ground floor in block two. These are located near the restaurant and one of the pools and also near the very loud bar. These rooms were dated with little storage but were more like apartments with an extra bedroom featuring bunk beds or twin beds. However, due to the noisy bar we asked to be moved (unfortunately our age party nights are behind us) and we were all moved to block five next to the second pool. Our rooms were now on the first three floors and what an improvement. All were modern, had storage and balconies. All had a bath as well as a shower and all were away from the noisy bath. There were chickens and ducks etc next to this block but the noise was minimal and the smell of animals only affected the first floor rooms and not the ground floor or second floor. All staff were lovely and helpful except for one barman (at the loud bar) who was aggressive but improved after we complained to our rep about him. The rooms were cleaned daily and the food was tasty and plentiful. The area is breathtaking and the hotel is very central. The all inclusive bar does not include rum, whiskey, or cocktails. The spirits available are gin, vodka or raki, also included is red or white wine, lager and soft drinks. While this isn't a luxury hotel an enjoyable holiday can be had if you are realistic.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary-Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#51 of 102 in Oludeniz
485 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
484 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcan Resort Hotel
Marcan Resort Hotel
#43 of 102 in Oludeniz
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#67 of 102 in Oludeniz
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Katre Oludeniz
Hotel Katre Oludeniz
#66 of 102 in Oludeniz
167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Hotel

Address: Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range: $64 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Dorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Oludeniz
Mavi Akdeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing