We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in need of new management!”
Review of Dorian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dorian Hotel
Ranked #96 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Walsall
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in need of new management!”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week in June and anyone planning a holiday here should be aware that this is a basic hotel. There are minor problems with the hotel that could easily be resolved if the management took the time. Things that were an issue for me was firstly the room we were allocated, any room on the ground floor is a no go, especially room 101. If you are offered this room ask for a change as its like a cave, situated in the corner with no natural light and insufficient air conditioning, the shower in this room doesn't work properly either and the second bedroom has a view of the footpath! No room has any drink making facilities. The restaurant is a bit hit & miss, it's the same food daily just made up in different ways. There are the occasional bbq nights that consist of either chicken or fish. The hotel has no entertainment programme. During our stay a belly dancer was hired to come and entertain but in all honesty it's probably better to go out for entertainment. The bar staff do try really hard to make the evenings round the bar fun but they are not given the means to do this. The music round the bar is played off a laptop at full volume but its the same every night. The all inclusive drinks only include local drinks (Raki, lager, vodka and soft drinks) but between 10.30-11.00pm it's only 1 drink per person. Oludeniz is such a beautiful place with plenty to do and the hotel is located in a very good position to take in all the views, it's just a shame the hotel is so
basic. I would definitely go back to Oludeniz just not to the Dorian.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanybabesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    178
    137
    109
    115
See reviews for
184
246
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for the second part of a two week trip, first part was self-catering up in Ovacik wish we had stayed there, however in fairness thats not entirely the fault of the hotel...we were spoilt on our first week. We paid £308 for a week all inclusive, which i guess was fair, good location, nice sea views, rooms basic but adequate no complaints, food was very hit and miss appeared to be one good night next bad, so my tip would be that if you enjoyed your meal go out for tea the next..lol !! We didn't stay in during the day as we were out doing trips extra so can't comment on lunches, breakfast usually consisted of boiled eggs and traditional turkish breakfast which i don't mind, i don't go to eat a full english i can have that at home. Table with best view always reserved yet no one sat there, slightly odd. Manager runs a tight ship in dining room which is good news for clean tables etc, however he is a little scary! We were witness to a huge row between him and owners wife, he didn't mind who was listening it was a full scale argument no consideration for guests. Families with children be advised that there is no entertainment at this hotel what so ever, we had no children but felt sorry for the people that did, especially when paying all inclusive. Entertainment was nil, but then a holiday is what you make it, we only sat at this bar one night :( we didn't really take advantage off the all inclusive, and didn't need to as food was so cheap out and about, wouldn't book all-inc again if staying in this resort! Bar staff are fantastic, work hard and are a great set off lads, definitely a positive for this hotel.Over all cheap and cheerful, but wouldn't stay again or reccomend to others. Like the title you pay for what you get !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linzimermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Dorian in June 2013, the location is fantastic a shot walk puts you bang in the center of shpps and bars. The beach is close too the view is amazing. The people that are moaning about the Dorian must want 5★ but cant afford it pay more if you want perfection!!!! It is clean the bar is well stocked plenty of food all day, we had a fab time and would go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shadows2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stayed at the Dorian from the 24th May for 2 weeks. We went with a very open mind after reading the previous reviews. We arrived at midnight to be welcomed by a very friendly guy on reception. They took our cases to our rooms and everything seemed nice. The rooms were clean and the bedding and towels were immaculate. We found the staff at the hotel very friendly. The food is fairly limited but there was always something to make a meal and every night the chefs were cooking something fresh, fish, kebabs, chicken etc which was very nice. There are minor things we could moan about at the hotel but its really not worth mentioning. A manager arrived during our stay and we could see improvements being made daily. It was a shame there was no entertainment at night but there was always music on. Drinks at the bar were plentiful, there was a group of 10 of us and they never stopped us getting 10 drinks at a time. From 10.30pm it s only 1 drink per person but this depended on who served you and you could still go as many times as you wanted to!

Go with an open mind, if you have any problems the staff are very helpful. One day there was no electricity in our room. I phoned reception and within a minute maintenance were at the room and sorted it straight away.

All in all if this hotel is managed well it would be great as the location etc is spot on. Would we return to the Dorian.............yes definitely.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happytraveller017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

First time at the dorian, and the last.
Paid nearly £2,500 all inclusive for 4 adults & 2 children, 2 rooms, 1 for 2 adults & 1 child (3 beds) the other 2 beds + 1 cot. Alas no cot,finally got one 2 days later but the cot was broken, only after 2 attempts by rep did we get one, but, that was after another 3 days, (no apologies).
Food was very basic and rehashed for the following day, if you had chicken for the evening meal you got it rehashed the following day for lunch, the salad bar was no different, the same stuff (for want of a better word) day after day, no choice for young children except chips, potato croquettes and chicken nuggets.
We spent quite a chunk of our holiday spending money on eating out
The shower in our room was in a very dirty state (chrome fittings discoloured and turning green) and in my sons room the railing on the balcony was broken loose (not good with a 21 month old baby in the room!).
Very dangerous around the pool for both adults and children, no anti-slip tiles present.
I had expected more for the price we paid, I don't think I got what I paid for, so all in all a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oludeniz hotels

Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at the Dorian. Lovely attic room which was cleaned every day except SUnday. The maids put flowers on our bed twice & gave us extra pillows & a mattress topper when asked. Food was fine & plentiful. All staff were friendly. Overall we were pleasantly surprised after reading the reviews.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JulieRickyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Location is very good, staff are very good. Tasty food, clean room with nice views. We stayed on top floor but people staying on ground floors were always heard complaining.
The hotel is not child friendly no pool guards, no entertainment for children, no evening entertainment. So you have to entertain yourself.
1-10 is at a rank of 6.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sayedfkadri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
Akdeniz Beach Hotel
#55 of 103 in Oludeniz
474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marcan Resort Hotel
Marcan Resort Hotel
#37 of 103 in Oludeniz
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pink Palace
Pink Palace
#63 of 103 in Oludeniz
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oludeniz
Hotel Oludeniz
#69 of 103 in Oludeniz
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montebello Resort
Montebello Resort
#30 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorian Hotel

Property: Dorian Hotel
Address: Belcekiz Mevkii, Oludeniz, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dorian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Dorian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorian Hotel Oludeniz
Mavi Akdeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing