We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Saray Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oludeniz
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saray Hotel
Ranked #13 of 50 Oludeniz B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Shared a room with my friend at the back in block 3 which was far enough away from party nights at the bar ( as was block 2) to not be disturbed if you want an early night. The rooms are absolutely fine and the bathrooom and shower great. The maids are very friendly and keep the whole place spotlessly clean. The staff, especially James and Mustafa, are the two front of house and are fantasic at their jobs, they kept us entertained the whole two weeks. All the staff work long hours and must be tired but still nothing is too much trouble for them. I left my heart with the briliant chef Ibo who is just the nicest and funniest company. We met numerous other wonderful guests too numerous to mention, we partied with them and have sworn to return for a reunion next year.
The Saray is situated just the perfect distance from the noisy nightlife in the centre of Hisaranu, we went bed and breakfast so as well as eating at the Hotel, which was great, we were able to try out the other many good restaurants. 'Shine' 'Castello' ' El Nino' being just a few. We also sampled the fish market in Fethiye, which was another brilliant night but far too much food. Everywhere all portions are large so 3 courses is never needed.
Getting around is never a problem, you just flag down a dolmus (small bus) anytime, they all display their destination on a board in the front windscreen and cost very little. They seem to be every 10 minutes or so and its very quick and easy to get either down into Olu Deniz where the beach and lagoon are or into Fethiye to the main shops, old town and harbour. We booked a 6 island boat trip with AliBaba for £10 each and what a brilliant day. Collected and delivered back to your Hotel on all trips, lunch included. I told them they could easily charge £15 per person with maybe special offers for families with kids. I don't know how they do it for such little cost. We also paid £16 for the most amazing jeep safari, again to include lunch, fantasic stops and mud bath all. Screamed with laughter all day using the water guns on each other. Cheers to the bunch from Stoke-on-Trent!!!
Nothing is as expensive as here in the uk and their is nothing you can't buy. If your luggage allowance is low then don't bother buying your toileteries until you get there.They sell most normal wellknown makes at a slightly higher price so just buy their local brands, which are fine.
Overall my holiday was one of the best I ever had and there have been a few. I would definitely return to Turkey, definitely to the same area and definitely to the Saray. PLEASE DONT CHANGE THE STAFF!!!

Room Tip: If you want to sleep before 3 or 4 am (unless you're under the influence) dont choose a room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlynisM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    92
    48
    17
    17
See reviews for
101
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Don't listen to the bad reviews!
This was my 4th time in Hisaronu which is a great resort full of everything you would need to have a fab holiday. This was my 3rd time at the saray and the first for my boyfriend (now he's used to the luxuries of life) and we have both had an amazing holiday.

Each time I have been to the saray its been fab, I've been on a family, girly and now couple holiday there and all brilliant.

After reading the reviews, I personally was worried as people wrote about coming for years and never returning but they had me stressed for no reason! Not gonna lie it is quieter without Michael there but James is just as lovely and wasn't rude to anyone nor was any other member of staff. Churchill took us to our room and he didn't ask for a tip but we did give him one.

So all the staff are friendly, and polite and acknowledge everyone. As for the sunbed situation I had no idea what people was on about, I actually took a picture about 11 and there was more empty ones than taken/reserved it was actually nice coming down and choosing where to sit! We even went to the market and forgot to put towels down before we went and we could still choose.

You can't actually bring food in which is standard in all hotels not just the saray, no one searched us and we did sneak some crisps in for late night munchies! So if you are bothered be clever about it but the prices aren't that bad considering yes its not as cheap as the supermarket but you get that over here.

Oh and the pool area is hosed down every night and rooms cleaned daily.
So we have had a fantastic holiday and will be returning in the future!
P.s we didn't buy any meals in the hotel we went out and ate. We didn't buy any member of staff drinks, we did have drinks in the bar if it was still open when we came back. And behavior towards was the same, just saying.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friend Morag and I were moved to the Saray Hotel after we refused to stay in the Pinara Apartments as they were nothing short of a hovel , Our mood was not the best on arrival as we were wasting the first day of our holiday waiting for Thomas Cook to find us a respectable hotel/apartment but this soon changed as Churchill showed us around the grounds pointing out all the fruit trees he was very informative and proud, when we got to the room it was a huge relief to find that it was very clean , the sheets and towels were white and fresh the bathroom was clean , although there was not much drawer space (we tended to live out of the suitcases) the furniture looked new and was sturdy as the room was on the ground floor we had a double size patio which again was spotless and hosed down in the week we were there .the ladies that looked after the rooms always had a smile and said hello .
We went on to have a very relaxed holiday with the help of the friendly staff with James and Mustapha waiting on us day and night the food was excellent and a welcome change to be able to try some Turkish dishes and not just typical English food with chips served with everything !!!
If I was to have any negative comments it would be that there was not enough staff ... You cannot expect three people to look after 100+ people getting drinks/food orders clearing/resetting tables trying to give everyone a fare share of their time while being aware that they are not spending to much time chatting and upsetting anyone !! Having worked in hospitality for many years I know that its difficult to keep everyone happy but with enough staff this is not impossible and if the customer goes away feeling happy and spoilt they tend to want to return which I hope do again
Thank you for making our holiday one we will never forget and for all good reasons
Donna and Morag.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Me and my family have just returned from the saray and we had a brill holiday didn't want to come home we stayed half board the breakfast was ok my daughter didn't really like anything so I explained to them that I would be bringing things in for her as she needs to eat breakfast they was fine with this evening meal well we thought this was excellent every night we ate in there was no point wasting money eating out ; we also brought food and drink in we never got searched but we was sly with this I would come back to this hotel :-)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellyElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Now I have just come back from there and find it hard to understand what people what are on about. Now i have nothing to gain from this,I am a single farther my son is 10.
We got there at 5am it was my choice to fly at this time so i filled in the form strait away not hard to do, I then caried my case to the room let in and went to sleep room 109 which is right by the pool and everyone had to walk past us but myself or my son didnt hear anything. Now Iread the reveiws about the food situation and thought it a funny one but hay im on hollibobs and dont want to cook anyway. When we went to the pool spent the afternoon there had a cheese toasty for dinner nice.In the evening I went to the bar and asked do I have to carry money with me all day and was tould no just pay in the bill once a day GRATE which I did.I then asked where is the town was and was told the way most helpfull .We then went to town had food and an evening out came back for a pint or two before bed.In the morning after a good night sleep went to the pool spent the day there had a snack at the bar for dinner. Now this went on for the ten days we stayed there we had one evening meal in saray which was not bad. As we where booked in for b+b but did not get up for breakfast 7.30 till 9.30 to early. Now this is a nice hotel and the location and the staff were good to me and very certious I would recomened this place and thats saying a lot for me to say that but hay I was not expecting 5 xxxxx.I do find the other peoples reveiws unjust. The only reson I am not going back there is because the world is to big a place to go back to the same resort other wise I would stay in the saray again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dad1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boscastle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Good hotel, quiet location yet only a very short walk to the main strip. Most of the staff were friendly especially Mustafa and what I read about Churchill searching you did not happen to us. The rooms are lovely and clean so could not fault, pool area was lovely and clean and what food we had was great. I would definitely go back again and as they say "When in Rome
you do as the Romans do"

Room Tip: We stayed in room 506 which was atthe back of the hotel so nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharzBoscastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

After reading the negative reviews about this hotel we tried to ignore them and thought maybe customer's were being a little snobby and we are not the type of family to be picky. However....
we arrived at the Saray in the early hours of the morning for a two week break. The staff at the reception desk were miserable and hardly spoke a word to us and demanded us to give our passport details straight away at 3.30am after a long journey there. Churchill then took us to our room, we were not allowed to carry our own bags even though we were tired and just wanted to get to our rooms, so this took another 20mins. He then stood there for another 15 minutes trying to sort the TV out at 4am in the morning!

Throughout the two weeks of our holiday we didn't get a smile off any of the staff except for the cleaners. They only spoke to people who would buy food from the hotel every day (which is robbery). At the shop you can get a bottle of water for 0.25TL and the hotel charges 2-4TL. People said they had their bags searched for bringing stuff into the hotel, we didn't have this problem but walking through the hotel you felt like a prisoner as you are constantly being watched and inspected.

As for James, a staff member, I have never met anyone so rude and arrogant in my entire life. I really do not understand why this man is in the hospitality business as he has no people skills, apart from his "favourites". The only time he acknowledged us was to give us a bit of paper explaining the hotel was having a Turkish night and he said "maybe you come" (even then, no smile!). As you could have guessed, we didn't waste our money here.

There is a mini fridge in the room which is stocked up when you take something out of it and then what you use is charged on a bill which you pay at the end of the holiday. One of our family members purposely didn't take anything from the fridge, as it was a rip off but was STILL charged for two items she hadn't taken. James, Mr miserable, did not apologise and made her pay for the items!

When we checked out of the room me and my partner had accidently left our jackets in the wardrobe of our room. I asked for the key so I could go and get them (the cleaners were looking shifty and watching when I asked this). We went to the room and the jackets weren't there. My boyfriend had a feeling and happened to look in the cupboard and the corridor, which they were hidden in. When I went down to hand the key in, I didn't give them the satisfaction to say I'd found where they had hidden then and just handed the key back. The cleaners then said, very confused, "you found your jacket?", I just replied yes. They then started talking to each other in Turkish and looking very confused. We were going to give the cleaners a tip because they seemed the friendliess people there but Im glad we didn't now. You would presume if they had found anything in our room they would hand it into reception (plus they knew we were staying in that room as they said hello every morning) instead of helping themselves to people's belongings!!

I have never had a bad experience on holiday and we really are not a fussy family but it really is a shame because this is a nice hotel, clean and in a fantastic location but the staff need to consider the way they treat people. I will never recommend this place to anyone!

If you go out of the main enterance, turn left then left again there is a bar called "cengiz bar" it does look like a shack and at sight doesn't look very appealing. However, the guy who runs it is fantastic and everyone that goes does return. He is down to earth and people revisit just to see him every year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oludeniz
0.2 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Tolay Hotel
Tolay Hotel
#56 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Yalcin Hotel
Yalcin Hotel
#38 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Han Deluxe Hotel
Han Deluxe Hotel
#43 of 102 in Oludeniz
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Telmessos Hotel
Telmessos Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hisaronu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saray Hotel

Property: Saray Hotel
Address: Hisaronu Mah. Stad Cad. No: 20, Oludeniz 48304 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello our hotel name is Saray Hotel we are not anymore Saray Hotel&Apartments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Saray Hotel And Apartments
Saray Hotel Apartments
Saray Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing