We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Olu Deniz” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karbel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Karbel Hotel
Ranked #35 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Olu Deniz”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

A group of 12 us booked to go to the Karbel for a family get a way. There were 8 adults and 4 children. The holiday didn't get off to the best of starts when the plane broke down as we were approaching the run away, never fear as they had an engineer present who sent us on our way.

Although the reviews on here had been very good and consistent I was a little worried when we arrived at the hotel. This worries were to prove to be not needed as the room we were shown to was lovely. The whole grounds were. Very quaint and a real feel of being on holiday. The room and the grounds were cleaned every day to a high standard. Breakfasts in the morning were simple but again to a good standard and a lovely way to start the day on the veranda.

The weather wasn't the warmest in November so the pool was a little cold. The food at lunch was all very nice however and the staff were always very friendly.

Olu deniz is very small but beautiful. There is one small strip which has a few shops and some very nice restaurants. The best restaurants were opposite the beach front.

Overall a very nice holiday, probably a little quiet if you had teenages but will do if you are after a much need relaxing break!

  • Liked — Peacefulness
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ellisd88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    393
    161
    46
    17
See reviews for
301
562
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2009

When we arrived at the hotel (around 11 pm) we received a room at the basement. It was very humid and we had troubles breathing and we sweated a lot. We didn’t like it and we asked for a new room as it was almost impossible to end our stay there for the next 10 days in these conditions. Next day in the afternoon we had a new room, this time wonderful and I cannot complain about anything anymore. To be honest I was impressed that they actually solved this problem so quickly and they understood we weren’t comfortable at all.

The hotel is clean (even the basement rooms are very clean and the furniture is okay) and the reception guys are wonderful. They talk to the clients and they really work to make you fill well. The food is plenty, for everybody, but the cookies are the best, especially the puddings. :)

Every evening we had different entertainment programs that we loved too: dancers, games, barbeque, acrobats and so on.

Oludeniz is small, so you cannot say that it is far from the beach. It took us 5 minutes to get there. The area is quite, ideally if you have troubles sleeping.

All the staff is smiling to you all the time and they salute, talk to you, they try to make you fill at home by all means. Good quality hotel for a very reasonable price.

  • Liked — the frontdesk
  • Disliked — no idea
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank AndreeaGabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2009

Just been reading some of the reviews and felt that I needed to write one too. This hotel is absolutely brilliant value for money. Lots of people having a slight moan about small rooms, continental breakfast etc, but having only paid about £500 per person half board for 2 weeks in July, I think you get a lot more than you pay for. And you have to remember that is is Turkey, not Spain or Africa, and that it is basic amenities, no marbel etc.
I really cannot fault the Karbel, the staff are absolultely wonderful, they made my holiday, they are all so friendly, but they aren't annoyingly in your face, and if people want to relax they let them (Altho I did get chuecked in the pool by one bartender!!).
The breakfast was simple, but nice, a vast selection of breads, salads, fruit and cereal. The little rolls are to die for..can't believe how much bread and cheese i ate!! If you want an english breakfast you do have to pay extra, but remember you're not in england, you're in Turkey. Dinner again was a Buffet (As it says in the brocheres!!) but it basically the A la carte menu in buffet form, i'm not particularly fussy, but I wasn't always over keen on the meals, but i still managed to fill myself up with soup, salads and desserts.
The place was absolutely spotless and there are maids constantly cleaning, and groundsman watering the flowers and garden to keep it looking lovely.
Noted somewhere that beach towels we'rent provided, which was a negative, again, you get what you pay for. If you want beach towels you pay for them. Last time I got beach towels was a 4* resort in Barbados...and we paid for that!!
This place is generally a brilliant place, and I reckon anyone who has realistic opinions on what they expect to get when they pay so little will be extremely happy. At the end of the day, i'd still come back if i was a millionnaire.

  • Liked — The staff, cleanliness, location
  • Disliked — It was too full when i wanted to come back
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Blondie1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

this was our second year running at the karbel hotel. on arrival we noticed that the hotel entrance had been updated, and looks fab. we were greeted at the check in by the manager who remembered from last year ( OK so he may have seen us on the guest list) but nice. we had a great room overlooking the pool at the rear of the hotel, it was a decent size and everything worked. the maid kept the place very clean and we had no complaints at all. there are two nice pools one at the front and one at the back, both spotless but cold. we stayed half board this year and was a good decision, as the food was very good with plenty of choice, soup, salad, three main courses and sweet( £4 per night when booked through thomas cook). we did eat out a few times but were just as happy eating in the hotel. the drinks were a bit overpriced so we just went down the road each night, up to half the price for a beer at the rose garden. the weather in october was perfect for all 14 days, mid 20's blue skies. we did two trips one to the mud bathes at dalyan which is great fun. also did a 12 island boat trip from fathiye, probably the highlight of the holiday, perfect scenery. the air games were on during our stay and once again they were very entertaining.
to sum up great hotel, great location, great holiday.

  • Liked — everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank wilfred2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

Like the last Review, i must give u my Own personal thoughts as after reading a few reviews and looking at pics i booked the Karbel hotel for my 1st trip to Turkey. I'm Very Glad i did.
After some of the reviews i was expecting a tiny room yet i was happily surprised, we had a twin room in which we just pushed the beds together, FREE air con and a mini fridge,lots of hotels charge seperately for theses, a Tv with approx 3 english channels, a wardrobe with tons of room although not many hangers at all approx 14. and a seperate toilet/shower room then a lovely balcony. The Staff here are fantastic they will do almost anything for u, the rooms are cleaned daily, u have 2 pools n 2 pool bars.u are right next to the shopping street and with a slow stroll 5 mins away from the lovely beach front. On site is a fantastic Photographer Called Freedf who takes amazing photos of u as a couple.family, (Say hi From Des and Wendy) He will know who we are, We bought all our photos as they were fantastic. We went Half board which was ok not loads 4 breakfast but was fine for me. Dinner is not loads of xchoice for a main meal but when u mix it with the soup starter and cold starter then the main meal and after that all thnere lovely deserte u couldn't ask for more. all shope on the street exchange money yet up here at the Karbel supermarket end they give the highest rates, we ate out once at n-joy which was lovely but as we were half board never did again. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone and cannot wait to go back, i have stayed in a 5 star hotl before and this was rated a 3* by first choice and i would agree with them.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LondonDolphin_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2008

The Karbel Hotel made our holiday the most enjoyable ever in Turkey. All the friendly and willing staff do a fantastic job, not only this, but they also made my wife and I believe they really enjoyed having us at their hotel. Everything was kept squeaky clean and the food was both varied and ample, we are veggies and found it very easy both at breakfast and evening meal times to enjoy the wide variety of food offered and I'm sure meat eaters also enjoyed their wide choice of meat dishes. It was a pleasure to see that the bad practice of reserving loungers around the beautiful clean pools is shunned upon. Admittedly the bedrooms are a bit small and the balcony's smaller, but it was adequate and I slept like a log at night. The shower has sliding doors and does not have silly curtains and there is ample room size in the toilet/ shower room. There is also a good sized wardrobe. The only complaint I had was when other guests either arrived or left the hotel during the early hours and decided that they should wake other guests up by shouting or talking loudly and I have to say I cannot blame the young people for this but rather on the two occasions I was disturbed noticed they where of the older groups. Obviously the hotel cannot be blamed and I can only give them !00% marks
John Hall
Seweezy@hotmail.com

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
7 Thank Seweezy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed at the Karbel Hotel during the first two weeks of October. The weather was perfect, hot but not uncomfortable. The hotel is perfectly placed, at the end of the main road leading down to the beach, so a nice short walk to the restaurants and bars, plus the local shops for supplies of water, etc. The hotel itself was nice, the rooms clean and smallish, but this is a 3 star so it’s what I expected. They were clean and the maids did a good job cleaning and tidying every day.

It has two very nice pools and we did use the pool bar/restaurant a couple of days and the food was ok. The only gripe we had was that the hot water in the evening was intermittent but when we called reception they were always helpful. We didn’t stay in the hotel of an evening so can’t comment on the entertainment. We used Sea Horse Beach a couple of days, about 100 yards past the entrance to Sugar Beach. If you get a phone number for them they will come and collect and drop you off but we liked the walk, it’s only about 20 minutes. Walk past the entrance to the Blue Lagoon and it’s about 5 mins up the road. It’s a sandy beach and lovely water to swim in plus a nice bar and restaurant. We came across it by chance when walking towards the Blue Lagoon and the coach stopped touting for business. The sun beds are 5 YTL each for the day which includes an umbrella.

In the evening we liked the Sultan Ahmet Restaurant for their Lamb Casserole Turkish Style and the Buzz Bar for the food, drinks and cool music, but definitely go upstairs. It’s not cheap to eat out in Olu Deniz, probably much the same as eating out at home. Hisorano market is a good way of spending a Monday morning. We did a boat trip and found it much cheaper to book with the agents along the road rather than the Thomas Cook rep.

Olu Deniz is a perfect location for a couple’s holiday, not full of clubs but enough atmosphere and choice to keep you interested. I would definitely go back to Olu Deniz but would try a different hotel, not because I can fault the Karbel but would like to try another. As a warning the check-in staff will charge you for every kilo you are over on the way back. We questioned it and they weighed our hand luggage too! We took our bags off and repacked and threw some stuff away but they were making a fortune. I’d love to know if it’s Thomas Cook or the Turkish airport getting the money, they were nowhere near as strict when we went to Kissadassi last year.

  • Liked — Clean rooms and 2 good swimming pools
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SalimKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.0 mi away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#61 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Karbel Sun
Hotel Karbel Sun
#53 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Star Hotel
Blue Star Hotel
#48 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
#52 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#41 of 102 in Oludeniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Hotel

Property: Karbel Hotel
Address: Kidrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | no:10, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#45 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karbel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Karbel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing