We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last year ”
Review of Karbel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Karbel Hotel
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not as good as last year ”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived back this morning after 2 weeks at the Karbel. We stayed there last year but was a little disappointed this year. No fresh orange juice at breakfast, no lunch time special BBQs, no jokes at the pool announcing happy hour or special cocktails - the restaurant servicing staff seemed very tired, deflated and a little uninterested.

Rooms were very clean, with new linen & towels every other day, couldn't fault this element.

Karbel cafe also down hill from last year. Food wasn't great and staff laughing about us behind our backs and calling us names, but were shocked when husband answered them back in Turkish!

Lots of sun beds by the pool but they were filthy dirty and need a damn good clean. You really don't want to sit on them.

Good hotel but 2 star at the most.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank lilithLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    405
    162
    46
    17
See reviews for
309
570
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

A three star hotel, trying very hard to be a four star. Took the advice of fellow trip advisors, and opted for an upper floor room. On arrival, a nice welcome, and the porter took our cases to the room. Very grateful for that as it was a bit of a walk, and include a steep slope. The room was well appointed, standard bathroom, and very clean. Small balcony, but very pretty. We were in block 9, and it overlooked a garden area, and a view of the mountains. Can't comment on the evening meals as were on a B&B basis. The breakfasts were typical Turkish, ham, cheese, o;ives, etc, but there were always fresh bread and a couple of toasters, and eggs. Boiled eggs almost every day, and once a week scrambled, and weekly freshly made omellettes.The coffee cups were tiny, and most people bought mugs from the trader down the road. The coffee was strong, just as I like it, but It was a good move to use a mug, get one coffee, and top up with hot water. The juices at breakfast were mostly pomegranate and cranberry, orange on only two occassions. OK' but most days quite watery. The dining room staff, like all staff, were great. Loved to use their English. The pool and area were very good, well maintained, plenty of sun beds and parasols, with a good pool bar. The reception area was very nicely decorated, and there is a small lobby bar. Access is easy, only three steps, and two ramps. Saw two people using mobility scooters quite easily. Ther is a no cash policy, on arrival you are given a swipe card, and you present it for any services. Settle up as you go ,or wait until the end of your stay. Receipts are issued every time. I f you want an English style breakfast, one of the dining room staff will take your order and bring it to your table. Quite extensive variety. By the way, if you like yoghurt, try it, especially with honey. Happy hoour was 6-7 pm every day, and the prices beat the bars! The rooms were kept lovely and clean, with regular linen and towel changes. Best location in the resort, and not far to the beach. Recommended. A big thanks to all the staff for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better, as some of the ground floor ones mean you have people walking past quite c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank riseparkpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london united kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went back to The Karbel Hotel again this year June and August , just love the place , the Hotel meets all our needs and more , friendly Staff, Clean rooms , lovely surroundings , great food , a wonderful Hotel , cannot wait to go back x Lots of beautiful Beaches to visit , all slightly different , fabulous trips to book and go on , wonderful Bars and Restaurants x Shadows Bar , such a fun nite to be had , Gossip Bar so cosy and the best cocktails, Anforas , such friendly Staff , great live music , The Balcon Restaurant , great steak meals , Njoys , great food ....Toscanas Restaurant Yummy and many many more , get booking sweet peops might just see you there next year x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank c0ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Have just returned from an 8-day stay at the Kabel Hotel in Olu Deniz. It was an amazing couple of days and I can't wait to get back to sun, beach, friendly people and fantastic history.

The staff at the Kabel Hotel were professional, friendly and really made you feel at home. The rooms were comfortable and kept very clean, the cleaning staff work very hard to make sure you do not need to worry.

The breaksfast was varied and set you up well for the day. Special thanks to Ozlem and Tamer for their care and attention to detail.

I am already thinking about a return trip next year and would only want to stay at the Kabel hotel. This was my first trip to Turkey and I hope to return many times in the future.

Well done to the resident photographer as well, he was friendly and managed to get me in front of camera much to the delight of my family - something that rarely happens.

Room Tip: Rooms are in blocks, which only go up two floors. Access not difficult if you can do stairs. Kabel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Noreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

A group of six of us stayed at the Karbel in September 2013. I will start with the positives.

Cleanliness of the hotel was top notch rooms and public areas were kept immaculately.

Location for olu deniz was great. It's at the top of the strip so easy walk to most places but also in the rooms we had you could not here the noise of the strip.

Food was good quality. Other then one incident (see negatives) the food quality and choice was very good.

Negatives

Bed - was hard ( and i like a firm bed) and pillows were thin and we only had one each. We ask if we could have additional pillows but were told as the hotel was full there were none.

Walls in hotel rooms were thin so you could here next door snoring.

Balcony was small and good only for hang damp items on.

On one occasion in the restaurant one of us found plastic in our food. We reported it to a waiter and then heard nothing. We raised the issue again and eventually the manager came over and told us it was likely to be wrapping film from the tray covering the food. Someone could have easily choked on it but he did not seem overly fussed and did not even offer a drink as an apology.

All in all I would say its ok for what you pay for it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have stayed at The Karbel Hotel on a number of occasions now. Never had any problems with staff or rooms and OD is certainly not Blackpool !!
Unsure what people expect for a three star hotel and also what they expect for breakfast - we are in Turkey and therefore it will be aTurkish breakfast . If you do not like it there are plenty of nearby restaurants for a full English . A holiday is what you make it and we have always had a wonderful , chilled out time in OD and will be back next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MariaW1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed at the Karbel Hotel for a week at the end nof September. What can I say...amazing!. Apart from the bar man saying I would get fat if I drank too much effes! (why i outta!) all staff were lovely. Receptionists probably not as friendly as they should be but all waiters/bar staff/photographers/hair etc etc brilliant! Considering it was the end of their very long season they were still at hand with a smile and chat.
one small gripe was the football! big game played a few evenings and instead of hearing nice music, crickets etc (all the things that help you relax and make the uk feel a million miles away) all that could be heard was the roaring sound of football commentary. I'm all for people watching football but maybe keep to one area. The entertainment etc got delayed as a result which was a little annoying.
Food - as a veggie I really enjoyed, however there wasn't that many hot veggie alternatives. Turkeys got some beautiful food products so think they should be celebrated, maybe put on a few more speciality dishes.
Location - amaziing, 10 minute walk to beach though the strip can get a little busy in the evening. if you like that sort of thing, perfect!
Spcial mention to Alim and Memmit who were absolute gentleman
In a nutshell, Want to go back......NOW!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Doveroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#29 of 103 in Oludeniz
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Karbel Beach Hotel
Karbel Beach Hotel
#60 of 103 in Oludeniz
375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#10 of 103 in Oludeniz
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Karbel Sun
Hotel Karbel Sun
#53 of 103 in Oludeniz
646 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#40 of 103 in Oludeniz
394 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
Monta Verde Hotel & Villas
#14 of 103 in Oludeniz
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karbel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karbel Hotel

Property: Karbel Hotel
Address: Kidrak Cd. Belcegiz Mahallesi | No:10, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Oludeniz
#44 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#45 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Karbel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Karbel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karbel Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing