We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,653)
Filter reviews
1,653 results
Traveler rating
1,319
233
82
12
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,319
233
82
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews entertainment team next year bar staff turkey sunday roast billy's beach inclusive bar pool area pancakes killer darts something for everyone turkish dancing plenty of choice snack bar big shout food was lovely evening entertainment
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,653 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2019

Amazing hotel and staff . Everyone made you feel welcome . Cant wait to go back next week
Food was great and I'm the worlds fussiest eater and there was always something
My daughter was kept busy all day . First time I've got emotional leaving a holiday

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelholidayresort, Genel Müdür at Yel Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear Kerry,

Many thanks for your encouraging feedback. We are happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Özgür Sadık TÜRK
General Manager
ozgurturk@yelholidayresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2019

The entertainment team is amazing, lovely guys and very friendly and always got smile on their face. Gaye, Bullet, Seda and Serkan are always fun to be around and are good company. Lots of tings to do during the day such at killer darts, volleyball , water gym and lots more, all round a very good entertaining team and would deco come back .

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank CodyB1188
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelholidayresort, Genel Müdür at Yel Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear Cody,

Many thanks for your encouraging feedback. We are happy to read that you've enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,

Özgür Sadık TÜRK
General Manager
"HAPPY HOLIDAY"
ozgurturk@yelholidayresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

I'll keep this review as balanced as I can... we stayed as a couple in late July / early August.

This property is set high in the mountains above Fethiye, and Ölüdeniz. Both towns can be reached by Dolmus for under 75p per person each way, so very cheap to access. The closer (inland) resort of Hisoranu could be walked but it would take 30 to 40 minutes I would estimate in the searing heat. Better to take the Dolmus. Lots to do and see in the bigger towns, including lots of different boat trips, again all are very cheap, and good value.

The hotel is set on a hillside, so not ideal for the less mobile, as there are many staircases and no lifts. Note: Bellboys will take suitcases to rooms, and offer to collect on last day (recommended!). There are no shops within an easy walk, except the hotel's own supermarket which has nothing on display priced. Expect to pay at least DOUBLE the amount charged in other supermarkets in the towns - not sure why the management would wish to over-charge their own guests, but I guess guests will pay the prices rather than walk to the next nearest shop.

Be aware that all drinks and food are served in the same location. There is only one all-inclusive bar and one restaurant in the property. Tables and chairs had to be constantly moved around dinner time to accommodate guests arriving for dinner then relocating to the bar area. Because the (plentiful) staff were engaged in this activity, the collection of dishes and glasses became almost non-existent at times. The waste bins are wheeled round between tables at each mealtime which is somewhat off-putting to say the least. The restaurant is cat-infested with these animals standing on chairs and eating food off the tables, again very unpleasant. Unfortunately some guests feed and encourage them. The hotel has a 'Street Cat' house / kennel near to the Reception desk, thus actively encouraging the cats. If housekeeping standards were improved at meal-times, cats would not be necessary to keep the rodents at bay, which is the route that this management team has taken. (see answers from manager in other reviews). One night my wife returned to her seat with food to discover she was having dinner with a black pussy-cat. Again, housekeeping around pool with overflowing bins and dirty nappies as the day wore on wasn't great, nor the uncollected plates and dishes at the bottom of each accommodation block on a daily basis.

Guest mix at the time of our stay was around 65% Turkish and 35% British. We felt that the food was extremely disappointing in terms of choice and quality, and seemed to be more targeted to the Turkish guests. Drinks were standard AI offer, and as bar area was next to pool, it was pot luck whether you received a plastic cup or a glass. Again, glass collection was very limited, and there is NO waiter service at all. All of this could be sorted by a manager actively managing the bar area. Same with the

Positives: Excellent air con and shower in the rooms, maid service was also excellent. Rooms are pretty small, balcony tiny (not even enough room to swing one of the afore-mentioned cats), Wi-Fi good, but only available in public areas, NOT in rooms. Entertainment team are great, and the shows we saw were on occasion excellent, better than in many 4* hotels we have visited in Turkey. (Arcrobats, Magician and Traditional Dancers in particular). Good music around the pool throughout the day, and plenty of activities for each family member to participate in. Sun-beds were plentiful, even with most being reserved by 9:00. The mini-disco starts very late (9:15), and the shows generally started at 10:15, ending at 11:00.

Don't be alarmed if you hear what sounds like light gunfire around the pool area, as we were one night around 11:30pm - it's the palm trees hitting the electrical wires in the wind, and causing electrical sparks and bangs! Again the management should be addressing this, it could have contributed to the frequent short power cuts we experienced during our stay.

So, in summary, some positives, but in a remote location, and a long way off a 4* rating, mainly due to the issues around the bar & restaurant accommodation and housekeeping standards in these areas. I can only assume that guests rating 4/5* on tripadvisor have not had the fortune to visit other resorts and hotels in the lovely land that is Turkey.

Room tip: Avoid basement or high floors - lots of steps around this hotel...
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank FR13EZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at Yel.
From the moment we arrived we were treated by the lovley skillet reception staff who took our bags down to our poolside room which i had emailed and requested before arriving .They were very happy and cherries when we checked in and offered us some Turkish delight before we went to our room .The room was small but perfect with a great shower (the best iv had anywhere iv stayed) .The air con was also brill I have to say and well used as temps were in the mid to high 30s when we stated .The hotel is so spotless and grounds are beautiful!.The views are stunning as it's set on a hill and this also makes it a bit cooler at night so was really nice when sitting in the evening having drinks.
The food was lovley and always fresh and could always find somthing to eat. I have to say the roast dinner on a Sunday was to die for !Well done to all the chefs and kitchen staff that work so so hard to put lovley food out .
The breakfast was ok but I have to say they really need to buy a new toaster as this one was so dangerous and myself and few other guests actually set the toast on fire as the element inside was squint so the bread caught it on way through. I actually got a bad burn on my arm when trying to get the toast out and my sister done the same thing just after me this really needs to be looked at to make it safe!
The AL drinks weren't to bad but to be honest I feel they just maybe need to add a coconut and a peach drink to the list as vodka rum gin brandy only can get a bit boring .The drink was very weak and I have to say even drinking alot of vodka it never had any affect atall .The staff in this hotel really are a credit to Yel they work so so hard and are so very pleasant and well mannered to the customers nothing is to much trouble for them .
The maids are extremly hard working and also a credit to Yel the head house keeper is a lovley lady always says hi and is very friendly so well done on having fantastic staff they really are the best !!!
Overall we had a fantastic stay and met some really nice people while on holiday this really makes a difference everyone was so friendly.
Looking to book again for nxt year as we enjoyed it so much so thanks again Yel Holiday Resort for making our holiday great xx

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
5  Thank da2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelholidayresort, Genel Müdür at Yel Holiday Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2019

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for being our guest and for taking your time to leave such a wonderful review regarding your recent visit to the hotel. Your kind appreciation will be a great motivation for all the team members and we all hope to welcome you back in our hotel once again and make your future stay much more memorable.

Kind Regards,

Özgür Sadık TÜRK
General Manager
"HAPPY HOLIDAY"
ozgurturk@yelholidayresort.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2019 via mobile

Just returned from a 14 night stay at the Yel.

The hotel is spotless and the lovely grounds and gardens are very well maintained. The scenery around the hotel is breathtaking and location wise you’re a 30 minute or so walk from Hisoranu (there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants en route though). Getting around the area is very easy due to the regular and inexpensive Dolmus service should you wish to visit Fethiye, Hisoranu or Ölüdeniz.

Our room was fine, perhaps a bit on the small side particularly with 3 beds shoehorned in but not a problem. Air conditioning and shower were great and towels changed every day. Cleaners did a great job and were very friendly as were most of the hotel staff and animation team. Guests were made up of approx 50% British & 50% Turkish couples/families.

The pool area is great with a brilliant view of the surrounding mountains. The usual reserving of sun-beds going on although not at the crack of dawn like most other places we’ve stayed at. We found the best spot to have a bed was on the opposite side of the bridge as you get the sun all day.

We were quite disappointed with the food both in terms of choice and quality. The snack bar however provides a well needed change from the buffet stations and serves sandwiches, paninis, pizzas etc. We found the main dining hall a bit drab and it could definitely do with a bit of modernising. Omelettes and pancakes at breakfast were very nice. No complaints with the drinks, your typical AI spirits plus Efes on draught and the guys work very hard to keep them flowing. There’s a couple of self-serve coffee/juice machines around the bar area, however the coffee isn’t very nice at all and we ended up buying sachets of coffee from the nearest supermarket and making our own.

What really took the shine off our holiday was the number of foul mouthed British chav guests (and there were many!) who thought it was perfectly acceptable to constantly shout and swear without any consideration for other guests and children sitting nearby. This behaviour wasn’t just confined to one party but several. I was brought up on a North East council estate so have no airs or graces whatsoever but we thought this was totally out of order. Don’t get me wrong there were other perfectly respectable couples and families staying here but most of the time it was like rubbing shoulders with the cast from Benefits Street! Of course this isn’t the fault of the hotel but this lot were only interested in getting drunk on the AI drinks and forgetting about their own kids. Perhaps we were just very unlucky at the time we visited but this would definitely put us off from staying here again. It really wasn’t a nice experience at all. We had to bite our lip a few times otherwise I’m sure all hell would have broken loose which obviously you don’t want on a supposedly relaxing family holiday!!! We got fed up of moving seats to get away from this lot and the way some of them spoke to the staff was appalling.

Suggestions to management for improvement:

1. It would be great if there was a dedicated area for smokers as you constantly breathe in cigarette smoke especially during the evening entertainment which is awful. Again said chavs (and also Turkish guests to be fair) couldn’t care less if they smoke two feet from you or your child. So if you don’t want your little ones wheezing like an asthmatic pit pony when you get back home you’ve been warned!

2. Please consider removing the cats from the dining hall! We really didn’t enjoy our feline friends rubbing up against our bare legs when trying to eat our meal. We also spotted kittens on tables sniffing around cutlery which obviously isn’t very hygienic!

3. Ice cream is only served once a day after dinner. Would much prefer this at lunch time during the hottest part of the day!

All things considered we really enjoyed visiting the Ovacık/Hisoranu area again after a 9 year break. Turkey is such a beautiful country. Unfortunately our stay at the Yel was spoiled by a minority of foul mouthed and obnoxious British guests and for that reason alone we wouldn’t risk staying here again in case they are regulars!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
9  Thank Happyholidays888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews