We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You don't always get what you pay for”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Lagoon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Lagoon
Ranked #39 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
bury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You don't always get what you pay for”
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I went on holiday with my hubby, son and his partner and we had a similar experience to poshbird79. After spending a lot of time reviewing hotels in Olu Deniz we decided on the Blue Lagoon as it seemed to fit our needs. We booked AND PAID for two rooms way back in January but upon arrival at the Blue Lagoon were told that we had been put in a family room !! This room had one wardrobe and one dressing table, two twin beds and two very narrow sofa beds and was obviously meant for two adults and two children not four adults, two of them being over 6ft tall. The receptionist was the most rude, ignorant Turk we've come across and we've been to Turkey 18 times. We asked if anyone was leaving the day after and when she said yes we said we would wait till the following day and take those rooms but she was having none of it! She actually laughed and said we couldn't do that as there were more people coming. Hello ??!!!!! We were already there!! She then said we could stay at another hotel but unfortunately it didn't have a pool, well that wasn't going to happen. Anyway, as it was about 5am we said we would use the room for a couple of hours, not unpack and see the manager when he came on duty. We saw him at 9am and he told us that he had found us a different hotel, the Olu Deniz hotel just around the corner. So after checking it out we just agreed to the move, by which time we'd lost half a day of our holiday. A short time later one of our party realised they'd left something behind at the Blue Lagoon so went back to pick it up and whilst in reception saw another party of four who had been put in a family room. This hotel seems to be knowingly overbooking and just expecting people to put up with it, something should be done about this.
By the way, the Olu Deniz hotel is lovely, staff were great.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elkie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    187
    75
    25
    17
See reviews for
109
322
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel was excellent the staff were very friendly everyday!
We had bed and breakfast which we recommend as there are some very good restaurants near by with entertainment.
(Sugar and Spice do great Food)

when you check in you are given a room card that everything from the hotel bar is charged too, when it came to checking out (just yesterday) we were told our bill, which seemed extremely high so after checking all receipts we had a number of items we had not ordered, we found that another couple had experience the same so please just check what yo sign for and if any other items are added that you have not asked for.

Have a lovely Holiday

Amy and Ryan

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Possum2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel was perfect for our holiday- we just wanted somewhere simple and not too pricey, and if this is what you're after then Blue Lagoon is great. Nice size hotel, pretty small but friendly, staff were really nice and spoke excellent English. Our room was fine, big comfy bed, free and effective air con, good bathroom, the balcony was only small but nonetheless it gives you somewhere to sit/ dry your towels etc. Pool area was great, as well as loungers there are hammocks etc. As for location, it is a short walk down to the beach, and very close to shops, restaurants, bars and so on.

The only downside of staying there was the loud music coming from a neighbouring hotel which on some occassions went on well into the night; this was unfortunate as it was obviously not the Blue Lagoon's fault but did affect my sleep on some nights. Was no problem once I bought some earplugs though...

All in all, I thought this was an excellent place to stay- you couldn't ask for much more from a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abertawe_chica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co durham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

just got home from this hotel had a really good time the location was good our room was ok apart from the cupboard/wardrobe was very small as was the balcony but the bathroom was very nice we found the staff very warm and friendly especially george.we were only b/b the breakfast was turkish but it was nice and we stayed there for our evening meal some times and really enjoyed it .the pool is lovely and the garden area is very well kept .thank you all for a great two weeks .

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaretCoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Having done plenty of research, I booked this hotel 3 months before travelling to Turkey. Upon arrival we were told by the hotel receptionist that they were full and we would be staying at another hotel. Our tour operator was not aware of this.

My advise to anyone who books this hotel is please do not be under the false impression that you will be staying here. There were lots of other people who were being sent to various other hotels in the resort for the same reason, and being asked to move back to the Blue Lagoon half way through thier holiday. This hotel is taking bookings when they know they do not have enough rooms, it is not a simple mistake and is continuing to happen.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank poshbird79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

After going back to olu deniz for the 4th year running this was the first time we had stopped at this hotel.
all i can say is i wish we had stopped here the 3 previous years too now.
we were made to feel welcome by all the staff (especially solomon & george ) and could not praise them enough.
the hotel is intimate enough to get to know others if that is what you want and is aimed more at couples looking for a chilled and relaxing holiday .
we would certainly return to this hotel again next year without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

just got back from a weeks holiday staying at this hotel. we were in room 117 . which overlooks the side street. the hotel is situated right at the top of the high street about 2 mins walk to the shops and then the beach. the hotel is spotlessly clean , the breakfast is basic but very good consisting of bread , fruit and cheese etc . the pool area is good , make sure you put your towel down on a chair before having breakfast otherwise you probably wont get a bed near the pool area. the hotel bedrooms are very basic and quite small we found there wasnt much space to put all your clothes but again very clean, the bathroom consisted of a lovely shower cubicle , be warned , there is no hot water first thing in the morning , until the solar panels start working , but by tea time there is hot water for a lovely shower. there are plenty of restaurants around the area , we ate at capellos , which was very good the food was excellent. the local beach is lovely , 2 brollys and a umbrella will cost you 18 lira for the day. be warned the undercurrent is extremely strong you will need beach shoes for the water to protect you from the large stones and pebbles , visit the blue lagoon nearby it will cost you 4 lira to get in there are plenty of toilets and showers and is spottlessly clean again the chairs and brolly will cost you 18 lira , there are plenty of places to eat with a restaurant nearby . i would definately go back to this lovley hotel in the near future

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#34 of 102 in Oludeniz
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Belcehan Delux
Belcehan Delux
#41 of 102 in Oludeniz
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Karbel Sun
Hotel Karbel Sun
#52 of 102 in Oludeniz
626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Karbel Hotel
Karbel Hotel
#36 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Morina
Hotel Morina
#18 of 102 in Oludeniz
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon

Property: Blue Lagoon
Address: Oludeniz Beach, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#37 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Lagoon 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Oludeniz
Blue Lagoon Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing