We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a good hotel!”
Review of smartline Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
smartline Flamingo
Ranked #25 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed July 21, 2010

Like everyone else, we read the reviews of the hotel and were a little bit worried before we arrived. We got to the hotel at about 5.00am in the morning and were told that our room wasn't available, so we would need to go to another room for a couple of hours! this would have been bad, but we were put in one of the suites which was really nice.

Before we agreed to move rooms I asked to be shown the room that we would be moving to (having read the reviews about the rooms under the pool area). The manager smiled knowingly and assured us that we would not be put in one of those rooms, so they are obviously aware that people know about the rooms before going to the hotel.

We were moved to our proper room just after breakfast, we were in room 118 which overlooked the bottom pool. The room itself was an ok size, but there is not much wardrobe space. The bathroom again is quite small, with not much shelf space, but is ok other than that.

Every morning for 2 weeks the cockrel woke me up really early! by the end of the holiday I was ready to throtle it, the mosque calls at about 4.40am, but this is for a short time and you get used to it after the first couple of days.

The rooms are cleaned everyday and the maids left nice towel models on the bed.

All of the staff at the hotel were really friendly, they organised pool games and tried to get as many people involved as possible. The waiters remebered your order after the first drink and were happy to chat to everyone.

The pool at the top of the hotel appeared to be the busier of the two. We never went to that pool, but a couple of people did come down to the lower pool as it was too busy at the top (families tended to use the top pool whilst couples tended to use the other one).

The breakfast in the hotel was typical turkish breakfast. It is no worse than any other hotel tat we have stayed at in Turkey. If people want a fry up then you can buy one just down the road. There are few 3 star hotels in Turkey that will give you a full english breakfast included in the b&b price!

The food in the evening was not great. We were half board as it cost the same as b&b, but never intended to eat there every night as there are so many places to eat in Olu Deniz (which we knew having also gone there last year). We only ate at the hotel once and there was a lot of salad and a chicken and pasta dish with a couple of deserts.

Outside of the hotel, we went on the Easyriders boat trip, which was ok, but the boat was absolutely packed and didnt stop at the blue cave which it was supposed to.

We went with First Choice did the Dalyan checkout which I would definitely recommend the mudbaths are good fun and going to a sandy beach on the final day was good, plus you get to go back to a hotel until you leave for the airport, so if you have a late flight, you can get some sleep before you leave (the hotel was not great, but ok just to sleep in for a couple of hours) book on the internet before going as it was cheaper than it was in resort.

We also did the Fethiye market trip with first choice as you also get a boat trip included as part of the price. The market gets really hot, so it was good to o on an organised trip so as not to be hanging around for the dolmus.

The blue lagoon is beautiful, it was 4 lira to enter and we went there rather than go to the main beach. Sun beds and umbrellas were 6 lira each, so not too expensive. There are little fish that swim in the shallow end, so save some of your lunch to feed them when you get back to your sun bed!

Best restaurants were Bella & Gusto, Buzz and Toscanna beach, but all of them are nice! best bar by far was shaddows and we spent many nights in there and you will see that people stop as they are walking past to take pictures of the staff doing one of their dance routines! they also did a sparkle show where they gave everyone sparklers to light at the same time! again the staf were really good and remembered your drinks order!

Olu Deniz is a great place and this was the second time we have been there, we would go back again and would probably stay at the Flamingo again, we stayed at the Montebello hotel last year which again was really nice (and is just in front of the Flamingo).

The main problem with the hotel was having to use the card to pay for things in the hotel and then having to keep receipts to pay your bill at reception the next day, we heard that some people were charged for things they didnt buy, but we never had that problem. As for taking water and food in from outside the hotel, you weren't supposed to, but we did every night without any problems. We also saw people blatantly taking big bottles of water into the hotel and no one said anything to them!

Go and enjoy Olu Deniz, the hotel is not that bad!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP123Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

713 - 719 of 871 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2010

Please dont be put off by other reviews, if you want a nice relaxing holiday, olu deniz is the place to be, ive been four times and the flamingo is by far the best ive stopped at, my boyfriend had never been before and he loved it when we got back, i try and go every year.
our room wasnt fantastic, but what the hell as long as it clean and theres fresh sheets and towels does it really matter, people if you want to try other hotels o for it, ive been ..like i said by far the best, only a 5 min walk to main street, plenty of bars and resturants to pick from.
as for the breakfast.... STOP MOANING..... were in turkey, not england, if you want a full english go to blackpool....turkey is a beautiful place, lots of culture and things to do.

if your guna book trips, o on a jeep safari, dalyan mud baths, sunset cruise (romantic) and paragliding, ive done it twice, an experience of a life time.....

The bar staff, waiters and waitresses were lovely and got to know us well, and reception were very helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazanstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

got back last night from flaming hotel and didn't get put in the dingy rooms below the pool so that was a good thing as we wasn't going to accept one anyway.
we didn't have to pay extra for air conditioning as we had booked through first choice . the safe was £2 a day . for us the room was big enough as it was a family room but as we were only 2 it was fine , bed was very hard and had to ask for another pillow.
we thought the views and surroundings were lovely , pool areas very clean and always able to get a bed to lie on. breakfasts need to cater more for british ,as it was the same day after day meat tomatoes bread etc .as for the bees they need better ways to cover the food not just cling film as people dont recover after themselves.
the staff only bother with guests who spend a lot of monney around the bar. we didn't spend so we were ignored which suited us fine . we used the hotel as a base we did spend time at pool but that was all.
as for the rule about not taking things in we did sneak ours but never left anything in the fridge for cleaner to take .
music could be too loud at times , my husband wanted to strangle the cockerel , but we didnt mind the mosque at 4.30 to 5 am . cause you get used to it.
Olu Deniz is a beautiful resort and there is some really lovely resturants to eat in .our favourite was cloud 9 , sultan toscanna , but dont miss a litte bar called pirate bar which is on the main road down from flamingo it's the only bar on the right hand side of road lovely meal , lovely pancakes made as you sit there savoury or sweet.we had these some lunch times . a large bottle of beer there is only 3tl.served in a frozen glass.
lots of good trips but be careful who you book with . we booked ours wit bloody gorgeous but wouldn't book with him again .
Focus looked the better trip to us.
Overall we had a very good holiday and would definately return one day to olu deniz . Jackie and Colin

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xjackieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We booked our holiday through jet2 holidays, we booked a sea view deluxe room but on arrival we was given a pool view room, we asked to change and was told to come back in the morning to sort it out, in the morning when we went to sort the room out we was told it was a deluxe room and when we showed them paper work stating a sea view room we was told to return at 12pm when we was given the right room. the staff were very friendly and did everything they could to help if you had a problem, the breakfasts were the same every day and there was a few wasps around the food, but in all a nice breakfast.

olu deniz is a lovely resort with very friendly people, the food and the bars are very very good and are always clean and tidy, we will be returning to olu deniz in 2 years time to do paragliding and i am certain theat we will be staying at this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisjackie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you so so much for your review.It is really important for us.Since you have stayed with us we have improved so many thing.I wish to see you all again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Just have returned from Flamingo.

Rooms:
Dingy little dark rooms with no sun during the day. No wardrobe - just a small built-in cupboard with not enough space (quarter of space taken up by a safe) & we travelled lightly - 2 suitcases of about 12kg most of taken by toiletries. No draws.
Loud music being played well passed 1am. As previous reviewer mentioned while bar empty music on just for the staff on a night shift. We complained & were told that the music would stop at midnight & would be turned down at 11pm. No need to say it didn't happen - when complained you are met with rude & arrogant response from management again. Gave up after that. Other guests were complaining too - no or rude response.

However it doesn't stop the same staff to give you unwanted attention/ borderline harassment even by Turkish standards! We were two female friends & they would not leave as alone even though we ignored them.

The service was appalling - management not interested in accommodating guests who are not willing to spend extortionate amount of money on drinks (tap coke 5.50 Liras = £2.50/ London pub for comparison £1.50 & local bar 4 liras for bottled Coke the same goes for alcoholic drinks).

As mentioned previously - you are not allowed to bring anything i.e. drinks/ food back to the hotel even though the hotel does not have a shop on site (other hotels do - so check and at much more reasonable prices). Therefore there was a very limited choice of drinks/ snacks on site once again at triple the price of shop 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Pretty much London prices!

Food: we were half board
As of today I am sick of tomatoes so is my friend & we love them. That was the only choice for breakfast after couple of days. Apart from hard boiled eggs & three kind of salami I would not feed a dog with - looked the same different in colour - from pale pink to very pink (colourings?!).

Other choice was cornflakes/ watermelon/ oranges/ feta cheese & tasteless hard cheese. Choice of bread non-existing if you were lucky enough to get some. As very often the buffet run out of pretty much everything & unless asked for the waiting staff was more interested in bothering their guest with unwanted attention rather then making sure the food was available.

Dinner was slightly better - however if you have the choice go B&B as you can eat in a town for less 18-25 liras 2 course with a drink than in the hotel (if you unfortunately end up there). Chicken every night with different colour brown sauce (we called it 'universal brown sauce') & meatballs in different shapes. Veggies OK but when you have it day in/ day out you grow sick of it too. Also labels with brief description would have helped.

All in all please do avoid the hotel unless you pay very little money so ultimately will get a place to sleep (with earplugs) with clean towels.

However Oludeniz resort is beautiful & I would highly recommend it to anyone who's after clear turquoise blue water - great for swimming & snorkelling/ loads of sun/ cheap boat trips & excursions (£5-£20 per person per trip with lunch included).

Also good for kids - water is shallow. Please bring beach shoes - most beaches are stony rather than sandy.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eve106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you so so much for your review.It is really important for us.Since you have stayed with us we have improved so many thing.I wish to see you all again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

When we booked this Hotel were were quite shocked at the price as it was very reasonable, it wasn't untill we researched Trip Advisor we realised why.
We had booked with "on the beach" and there advertisement and photos etc were all about the main hotel, this in mind why on earth would we think we were getting anything else!!
We soon realised we would be staying in the resort part of it and not the main hotel, though the website photos (proffessional ones) looked ok the reviews and photos on here were mixed.
We arrived though and the hotel looked beautiful the pool was lovely. we were taken to our rooms which were by the pool, second floor and we were a bit gutted when we walked into the room.
Bearing in mind there was me, my boyfriend and his then 9 year old son, as you walked in the tiny bathroom was to your right, then around 3 steps beyond this was our box room. There was a tv, mirror and dressing table with 2 single beds pushed together, at the end of these two single beds was a child size camp bed stuck onto the end of our beds so we all had to sleep together!!
I did go to reception to ask if there was any other room we could have or even upgrade to the main hotel but they were fully booked and this was not an option. This was a nightmare as the room would have been a tight squeze with just the two of us.
Anyway our holiday began, we spent most days areound th hotel pool which was lovely and there were other families there to entertain Jake. The drinks were as little overpriced and we were only B+B so didnt bother with the food. The staff were a bit of apain and were quite rude unless you were a young girl they could letch over you couldn't get them to do anything for you with a smile!!
We encountered a few different families who had actually booked and paid a lot more than us and were supposed to be staying in the main hotel only to be told when they arrived that the hotel was overbooked and they would have to stay in a resort room, this must have been hard as some had 2 + kids with them staying in a room the size of ours!!
We got up for breakfast on our first morning but i was crap really they mainly catreed for the european guests with cold meat and cheese and a poor version of scrambled eggs etc. A short walk you could get cerial's with fresh milk and a proper English Breakfast (with pork) for pennies. we only ate in the hotel one night and decided not to bother again, people who were there all inclusive had a poorly tummy and it was bland crappy food and expensive for what you got. I wouldn't reccomend anybody to stay in any hotel in Olu Deniz all inclusive as there are some fabulous restaurant's and there all so close by and such good value for money. Honestly we were eating a meal with the standard of food you would expect to pay back home at lease £80 + for 2 course's and a childs meal, a bottle of wine and a couple of rounds of drinks cost maybe £30!!! I would reccomend Buzz Bar this was the best by far. I dont think it matters where you stay in Olu Deniz everything would be just a short walk, beach restaurant's and shopping and they were all fab, we didnt have a bad meal apart from the ones in the hotel and were not typical english living on toasties and burgers and chips etc! I was concerned about going to Turkey as it does have a reputation for getting hassled but the people were lovely, yes they try but recognise when no means no and i didnt come accross anyone who pushed it too far!
Its a fabulous place and we will return but im afraid we would not go back to the Flamingo, there are so many hotels you would be spoilt for choice, next time i will check Trip Advisor first!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jobo565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

thank you so so much for your review.It is really important for us.Since you have stayed with us we have improved so many thing.I wish to see you all again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I've just got back from 7 days at this hotel. It's a lovely friendly place and in a good location. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you.
My main criticism is that they always play music quite loudly. This is ok in the day but at 1am in the morning it did stop me from sleeping. It was kind of annoying as the music is from the bar and often there was no one in the bar at this time. It didn't bother my boyfriend but I'm quite a light sleeper. If you stay in the delux rooms though (Flamingo 2) and ask for a room away from the bars you should be fine. Also you can hear the mosque at 5am every morn but I got used to it after the first 2 nights.
The breakfast is ok and the evening meal was ok too - quite basic (we were half board). Overall this place is good value for money and the Olu Deniz resort is great. We had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lehua50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,590 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#30 of 102 in Oludeniz
888 reviews
0.1 mi away
Morina Deluxe Hotel
Morina Deluxe Hotel
#22 of 102 in Oludeniz
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Pine Hill Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Flamingo

Address: Belcegiz Mah. 236 Sok. 6/3, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey (Formerly Flamingo Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
#23 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
#27 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $79 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Flamingo 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Flamingo has a good location close to the town centre and offers guests a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. From the pool area you can enjoy a breathtaking panoramic view over the bay of Oludeniz and the mountain backdrop. The hotel has a variety of restaurants and bars as well as two pools and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your smartline Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Oludeniz
Flamingo Hotel Olu Deniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing