We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place - but a bit noisy”
Review of smartline Flamingo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
smartline Flamingo
Ranked #26 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I've just got back from 7 days at this hotel. It's a lovely friendly place and in a good location. The staff are fantastic and can't do enough for you.
My main criticism is that they always play music quite loudly. This is ok in the day but at 1am in the morning it did stop me from sleeping. It was kind of annoying as the music is from the bar and often there was no one in the bar at this time. It didn't bother my boyfriend but I'm quite a light sleeper. If you stay in the delux rooms though (Flamingo 2) and ask for a room away from the bars you should be fine. Also you can hear the mosque at 5am every morn but I got used to it after the first 2 nights.
The breakfast is ok and the evening meal was ok too - quite basic (we were half board). Overall this place is good value for money and the Olu Deniz resort is great. We had a fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lehua50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (862)
There are newer reviews for smartline Flamingo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

711 - 717 of 862 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2010

Stayed here for two weeks with my girlfriend, last week of May/first week of June, arrived at 0500hrs to the tune of the mosque, quite nice to hear as it adds some culture. We got room 702 bit of a walk to the room with all the bags but well worth it, woke a few hours later to see from the balcony an amaizing view, a huge mountain directly opposite and a view all the way down to the sea. A great clean spacious room that had nice new sheets and pretty towel arrangements everyday, for the first week at least... after that we were sort of forgot about.. the breakfast is the same every day, bread, boiled eggs, salad and cereal, not the best especially after 2 weeks, we decided to go down the road a few times for a full english, most places do it, about 5 mins from the hotel and well worth it. the evening meals were plentyful and various, very nice. The staff were pleasant but would rather be talking to the young single females, same for the owner. Great pool in a turtle shape and a nice place to cool off. we didnt use the smaller pool but it too looked nice. Beer was 5lira, quite a lot if you drink a lot, other drinks just as if not more expensive. Had a great Turkish night with traditional dancers etc, the staff got involved and it was well worth the money. The second week was chocked full of kids and families with 4-5 generations worth, not the best for a young couple but we did our excursions on this week so it wasnt too much. I would recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a nice holiday, hotel was 5-10 min walk from the strip and set in a beautiful hillside location,had a great holiday and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b1g_jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. This isn't a 5 star hotel, if you go expecting one you will be disapointed. But it is a good hotel for a good holiday in Olu Deniz.

There are a few issues which it is worth being aware of before you go:

-We were woken quite a few times by the cockerel and the mosque from 4.30 am onwads. You do eventually get used to the noise and I would sleep through it most times after a few nights, but may be worth taking earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

- The hotel does play music quite loud quite late, whether this would affect you would depend on where your room was, but agan something worth being aware of.

- The breakfast is a typical turkish breakfast. A few reviews say the breakfast isn't very good, but we were always told before we went and when we booked it is a 'Turkish breakfast' and that is what it is. There are issues with wasps around the food, but I think you would get this in many places where the food is in a partially open setting as most buffet food is here, and there are covers over the food, it just seems that people do not put them back once they have taken their food.

We were half board but we only ate in the hotel one night, the choice is limited compared to other hotels I have stayed at, but I think most people would have been able to get a meal out of what was there, it may have been a bit repeptive for 2 whole weeks though, but there are so many nice places to eat in Olu Deniz we didn't intend to eat in the hotel much anyway.

We did eat lunch quite a few days in the hotel which we obviously paid extra for, this was nice and pretty good value for what you got.

The hotel was in a good location for us, 10-15 minutes walk to the bars, restaurants and main beach and maybe 20 minutes walk in the heat to the Blue Lagoon. It is on the edge of the resort, but we prefered this to being right in the centre.

The hotel will take drinks off you if they see you taking them in from outside, this is a bit haphazard as we saw some people blatantly carrying stuff in, but we heard a lot of people had things taken from them. We managed to discreetly take small bottles/cans in for the night and just took them straight out with us the next day so they didn't get taken.

The reception and bar/restaurant staff are all really nice, friendly and helpful. We didn't have any problems with overcharging, we just kept all our receipts and paid each day for what we spent the previous day so we knew exactly what we were paying for.

We booked with First choice and checked a couple of times before we went Air Conditioning was definitely included. The rep in the welcome meeting re-iterated again that it was included, so I would suggest speaking to them if you have any issues with this.

We loved the resort of Olu Deniz, we went last year and came back again, and we would seriously consider going back again next year.

We didn't use the main beach, we preferred to go to the Blue Lagoon, although you have to pay to get in as well as for sunbeds and umbrella, we thought this beach was much nicer with amazing views and clear water with loads of fish which my husband enjoyed feeding!!

We spent quite a few days at the pool, we never had any problems getting sunbeds somewhere at anytime of day, we could also usually find an umbrella or some kind of shade. There are two pools at the hotel, the one at the top (the turtle shaped one) seemed to be alot busier than the lower pool, so we always used the lower pool as this was outside our room.

Places to go in Olu Deniz:

- Turkish Pizza for Turkish food

-Bella Gusto for Italian food

-Toscana for a choice of everything

-Crusoes for Cockails on the beach front - they are 10 Lira all night whereas in most other places you have to wait for the happy hours for them to be cheaper

-Help - we enjoyed sitting on the wooden chairs out the front for a drink and just people watching!!

-It is also nice to sit on the beanbags on the beach, but don't sit right at the end of the row, we had to wait ages for our bill one night, so next time we made sure we sat closer to the main steps where the staff would walk up and down and this was fine.

-Shadows for a fun cheesy night out with dancing on the bar, macerena, karaoke and the yes/no game!!!!

All in all, we had another brilliant holiday in Olu Deniz, go into the hotel with realistic expectations (i.e. not expecting a 5 star hotel, but a decent holiday hotel) and we can't say enough good things about the resort itself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cityfanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Ideally situated, stunning scenery, lovely to hear the mosques at 6am, nice to have some culture on holiday. Weather was fantastic a couple of overcast days oter than that excellent. The hotel is clean and the staff are attentive... some more attentive than others... one waitor in general (Mustafa) was very attentive towards a newcastle girl (harly surprising as she was very beautiful) so this was good entertainment, however it was the only entertainment worth watching - hotel entertainment is not needed but they kept trying differnt things, to me that spoilt the hotel, so watching the waitor with the girl on a daily basis was good enough entertainment for us... Jimmy was so much fun and always welcomed us with a smile. I am sure we will return next year (but please stop playing the music after midnight people want to have an option to sleep)....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SummerMay2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We arrived early very saturday morning and the owner helped us with our bags to our room and we got a good nights sleep. Later we got up and headed for breakfast. There was a limited choice of jams, bread, cold meat and fruit with flies and wasps flying around so we didnt eat much. Then we had a lovely day down at the beach(which is stunning!) then headed back for dinner, as we were half board.Again the choice was limited with flies and wasps circling the food. We sat down to eat and the food was standard and everyone was eating it until I found a fly cooked in my meal! We were put off eating at the hotel and ate out for every meal which became very expensive as we had booked half board anyway! However the room was cleaned everyday and the hotel was quiet and very relaxing so if your thinking od going here only book b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JennaRowsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2010

My husband and I had a lovely stay here. But we refused to use the mini bar on principle. We were told we had paid for the air conditioning by the tour operator (verbal) not in writing. Of course we were told on arrival there is a charge, approx £5 a night. We tried to cope without his but the heat was unbearable so we paid the £120 extra.

We were also told on arrival no food and drink was allowed in the rooms but you can buy drinks from the mini bar and these will be charged to your room. One night we purchased 2 bottles of water from the small shop nearby to drink when we awoke. We had forgotten about these went for breakfast and sat around the pool. We returned to our room to find the cleaner had removed them from the fridge.

The staff were ok, the receptionist was lovely. We did purchase drinks and food from the bar and settle the bill everyday, the food was above average. We were not overcharged, but there was plenty of people complaining they had, whenever you went through the reception area. A family who only ate at the hotel (full board) had stomach problems on the last night of their stay and could only put it down to he food.
It is also probably the last hotel before you leave Olu deniz, so it is a good walk from the beach and restaurants, easy to walk for us but not for the elderly.
The pool and the sun beds were great, we did not like the praying from the mosque at the early hours and various times through the day, very loud and disruptive especially at 6.00 am.
Booked the trips out direct with the operators on the beach or shops, all very reasonable, get a price from the first one and make your way down the street, they will under cut each one, we had 5 days out for approx £80 for the 2 of us

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheshireSunWorshiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

We have just returned from the Flamingo Hotel and had a great time. We were a bit apprehensive after reading the reviews about the overcharging so we made sure we paid our bar bill every day fortunately we did not experience any problems but other people did and we took the option to pay by cash at the bar much to the frustration of the hotel staff.
The hotel was very clean and our room 901 was in an excellent position we really appreciated the maids efforts by producing artistic creations with the towels decorated with fresh flowers from the hotel gardens. However the two twin beds we had were extremely hard and uncomfortable.
The hotel is situated in a good position it was close to the beach and centre of the resort but you were far enough away so as not to be affected by loud music at night but we were woken by the call for prayer at 5.00am and the cockerel who sounds like someones already tried to strangle him!
The staff were all really friendly and made us feel welcome the waiters (Mustafa, Adam, Jimmy, K Jack & Hugejon) were very entertaining, full of energy and mischeif.
We stayed half board and the food was generally good but the choice was limited and became a bit repetitive but great omlettes for breakfast although this was only available on one morning per week. We would have preferred fresh orange juice for breakfast rather than the diluted option that was served. My husband really enjoyed the coffee. There were a lot of eggs!
We were surprised to see the hotel cat & dog strolling around the restaurant area at most meal times.
As we were on half board the air conditioning was included and the First Choice rep made that very clear to us and the reception staff when we checked in.
We were disappointed with the lack of entertainment provided, on a couple of nights the waiters performed some traditional turkish dancing which we joined in with and was more entertaining than the bingo, quizzes or karoke promoted by the english guy. However the resort has lots to offer as an alternative night out.
As it was my birthday on the last day of my holday during our evening meal the waiters sang 'Happy Birthday' and presented me with a fruit tower and cocktail with the compliments of the hotel it was a nice touch with which to end a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MulberryBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HakanEfesakalli, General Manager at smartline Flamingo, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your time about commenting us they are so important for us.we really hope to see you again

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Morina
Hotel Morina
#20 of 102 in Oludeniz
298 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Majestic Hotel
Majestic Hotel
#28 of 102 in Oludeniz
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mozaik Boutique Hotel Rooms & Apartments
1.6 mi away
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
Ocean Blue High Class Hotel
#11 of 102 in Oludeniz
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#16 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Flamingo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Flamingo

Address: Belcegiz Mah. 236 Sok. 6/3, Oludeniz 48300, Turkey (Formerly Flamingo Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Oludeniz
#27 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#27 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $64 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
smartline Flamingo has a good location close to the town centre and offers guests a relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings. From the pool area you can enjoy a breathtaking panoramic view over the bay of Oludeniz and the mountain backdrop. The hotel has a variety of restaurants and bars as well as two pools and a gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your smartline Flamingo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Hotel Oludeniz
Flamingo Hotel Olu Deniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing