We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel which could easily be even better”
Review of Montebello Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montebello Resort
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Oludeniz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We have just returned from a one week late season B&B stay at Montebello Resort, and having previously read the Tripadvisor reviews, concur with virtually all these comments.

We found the hotel very clean, modern, attractive and well designed. Our standard room in block 1 was conveniently close to reception. Though sometimes noisy in the afternoons because of the adjacent childrens’ pool and slide we found this only a minor inconvenience as we were mostly out and about or by the main pool. The room size we found just about adequate, but the balcony (which measured about 7ft by 4ft) was only just large enough to seat two people with care. As a new hotel it was no surprise but still a pleasure to find everything working and undamaged for once in the room. The air conditioning is free, which is a bonus, but we could have done with some more coat hangers, and no tea making facilities are provided. The room was cleaned and fresh towels provided every day. Our only gripe was the night time noise generated by a couple of drunken girls habitually returning in the small hours, who showed no consideration for others trying to sleep. This is not a criticism of Montebello Resort as it can happen anywhere, but every sound can be heard through the walls and down the corridors, and not everyone wants to hear raised voices and such foul language.

We found the reception staff friendly and helpful, but felt like others that the establishment was devoid of any obvious management around the hotel, most especially at breakfast time when an ‘overseer’ could have kept an eye on things, greeted you and perhaps even shown you to a table. Though each day seemed to tick along all right, and the young staff and cleaners worked hard all day long, the ‘personal touch’ was missing - something guests in a 4* hotel might expect.

The hotel is well situated for the town, beach and dolmus service to Fethieye which is not only inexpensive (5TL) but runs every ten minutes. Along the seafront boat trips and paragliding are the main activities. We searched around for the best boat trip deals and, being late season, ended up paying just £5 each for a six hour day trip and the same price for a four hour sunset trip, both including a meal. Though these prices were exceptional, it always pays to shop around. The paragliders sometimes use the promenade itself as a landing strip, a dangerous practice when the area is busy with pedestrians, half of whom do not see them coming in from behind. We heard of a nasty accident, so do look out.

We found the main beach itself rather disappointing. The glossy photos in all the brochures fooled us into imagining a romantic evening stroll along its sandy length. Not so. It is sloping shingle and very hard going as you quickly slide down into the sea. You cannot get far anyway without paying to enter the National Park section, which looked just the same. Following the road instead takes you to the Blue Lagoon. It’s a fair walk, though transport was evident, but here a number of attractive private sandy beaches are to be found where you pay a small charge for the facilities.

We found some nice places to eat in the town. Those looking for a quiet, pretty garden setting might like to try the family run Oba restaurant, about one hundred metres downhill from The Secret Garden (which is of a similar style). For a bit of Turkish fun Sultan Ahmet (at the bottom of the high street) is good as they celebrate the anfora kebab – a casserole cooked in a sealed clay pot – which is paraded around the restaurant amidst flames by a waiter in Turkish costume to loud music and clapping before being cracked open and served. But the best find was along the seafront at the Belcekiz Beach Hotel. They offer a three course 5* buffet service between 7pm & 9pm on an ‘eat as much as you like’ basis plus one free drink of your choice and coffee afterwards. The food was an absolute gastronomic delight and the choice enormous. The cost was an incredible 30TL = £10 per person! Unbeatable value, we felt, but too many visits would not good for the waistline!

We were happy with our B&B arrangement as eating out and trying new restaurants is enjoyable. From the hotel it is convenient too and there is much choice in Olu Deniz; but we were very glad we chose this option at the end of the season, as all the usual entertainment had ceased in the hotel. The wet weather was to blame for the cancelled BBQ evening, but we felt that there were enough guests to make it worthwhile organising some kind of indoor evening entertainment during the week. This may also have attracted more guests to their own restaurant, which seemed barely patronised, and any profit might have offset the cost of the entertainment. We felt rather let down in this respect, and never got to know anyone as a result, but having said this, their intention to go All Inclusive next year will doubtless generate a new evening regime for their future guests.

Nonetheless, in retrospect and all things considered, we feel this attractive hotel would have been hard to beat for a comfortable holiday in this resort, and we would recommend it to others. Our thanks go to all the staff who worked tirelessly at the end of a long, hard season to keep the guests comfortable and happy.

Room Tip: Block 1 is convenient but could be noisy in the afternoons as it is adjacent to the childrens' p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Francisbrowne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHMET O, Front Office Manager at Montebello Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Francisbrowne,

Thank you very much for your comment regarding our hotel.
We hope to see you again in the future time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

the hotel montebello is a great looking hotel in a perfect location in olu deniz. 400 m from the beach and blue lagoon. its clean, fresh and modern. the problem is with the staff, all of them except the cleaners have a chip on their shoulder and want to go home as its the end of the season, this, by the way i was told by one bar staff member on the first day! the hotel management staff are no better or the waiters for the record. THE ROOMS ARE TINY! double rooms - cant swing a cat, so if you are tall or wide or both, go somewhere else! other than that its great, we travelled on 8th october 12.

Room Tip: there is only 1 room that is big that we could tell, an attic room which has no view out of the balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adele b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I were most impressed with the hotel and with the facilities therein. The room was clean and serviced daily.
We found the restaurant staff surly, miserable and inattentive. They would be milling about aimlessly ignoring obvious deficiencies e.g. no spoons,cereals, orange juice etc when this was pointed out, on more than one occasion, it took an age before they reappeared with missing cutlery or to replenish food deficiencies. The food was repetitive, catering mainly for salad eaters, not labelled in any way, and no attempt made to keep flies off the food. There is a large notice publicizing the Wednesday BBQ with a free glass of wine with no conditions given or implied. We were charged 14 Lira for the two glasses of "free" wine we told then that it was only free if you had paid the £12 as a non-resident.We drew the attention of the Thomas Cook representative to our concerns and were offered a refund on the meals we had not had which we readily accepted and found far superior food elsewhere.
From a safety point of view, some form of anti-slip mat should be provided in the shower, similarly on the exit ramp by the side of reception when it is wet. Advisory notices and escape routes need to be prominently displayed.
We visit Olu Deniz 2/3 times a year and had hoped that we had found another hotel to visit regularly, sadly this is not the case. If they go ahead with their intention to offer only "all
inclusive only" they really need to get their act together for next year!

Room Tip: Top floor away from the pool/bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mainair462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHMET O, Front Office Manager at Montebello Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review
We carefully read your comment about our hotel.
We work seriously for more comfortable and more satisfied holiday for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my husband have just got back from a 7night break at Montebello resort, Hotel was very clean and very chilled out place, Great staff, very courteous and friendly , On the first night we were checked into a promo room which is an attic room which we found was too small- we requested for this to be changed in the morning and the staff upgraded us to a double bed room on the third floor- the rooms were clean and staff cleaned them every day without fail. The room was great, very comfy bed, fabulous shower and adequate air con. TV bit hit & miss as lacking any English speaking news channels but free Wifi meant easy access to internet. Hotel entertainment was excellent- it was on a Wednesday night- we thoroughly enjoyed it-it was belly dancing. The breakfast was really basic but this was expected- we had breakfast at the cafes on the strip which was at reasonable price. We had a late night flight so we requested our check out to be extended- which the hotel did for £20 until 5pm.

Recommnded places to eat out would be Café Kerbel for Breakfast as it was very tasty clean and hygenic . We also enojyed the indian restaurant MADRAS which was excellent but bit expensive.


Watch out for the local drivers in private transfers who expect tips and get annoyed and give attitude if no tips are given!

Also the excursions- we went for quad biking, sunset cruise and 6 island boat trip. you should shop around for good deals as different companies charge different prices. our sunset cruise was cancelled due to lack of people on board which was disappointing as it was our wedding anniversary and was looking forward to it. DO NOT GO WITH PEGAS TOURS on the 6 island boat trip as they were very late, slow and the staff was not friendly at all! They had NO bbq lunch- unlike the other boats which did and looked more professional ! so i would recommend you dont book with that company.

Other than that- Perfect place for out of season break. Highly recommend resort.

Room Tip: rooms on the higher floors! block 1 or 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mariyam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHMET O, Front Office Manager at Montebello Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Dear Guests
Comments are very important to our hotel
Thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Excellent 11 days had at Hotel Montebello. Hotel very clean and very chilled place, I expect not as much so during School Holidays. However, perfect place for out of season break.

Large pool, excellent modern facilities and well positioned slightly up on crest of hill far enough away from hustle and bustle of main strip.

Great staff, very courteous and friendly (Eray is a joker).

Ideal place, fully recommend. Will be different as AI however it shouldn't ruin this great hotel if priced accordingly.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank boarbarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Lovely hotel spotlessly clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. People reviewing need to remember not all the staff speak English, but they do try their best. Hussain on reception (day-time) was fantastic, Ridvan, Eroy an Batis also. We up-graded to a standard room though some people staying in attic rooms were more than happy, in particular the low price they paid. We booked B&B and there was plenty of choice, really can't understand why people moan about it!! All in all we would definitely come back to this hotel seemed to be one of the best in the area. My top tips would be to pack a flat sheet, they don't have top sheets here just rough feeling throws and ask to for extra pillows. We ate at some of the resteraunts recommended on Trip advisor, big mistake! Olive Tree, Dreams and Captain Hook - all very disappointing. I guess everyone is different. We loved Toscana Beach, Inci Hanim cafe (next door to Toscana) 2 young Turkish people cooking home style turkish dishes, please try it their Gozleme fab! All the Turkish people seem to go there. Mustabe was great too. Lagoon very picturesque our favourite was Sun city beach, lovely private shady terracing through the otherside if the resteraunt and lunch under the pomegranate trees. Hated the other ones, packed in so close you could hear each other breath.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from 9 nights at the Montebello Resort and here follows our review:

Arrived mid afternoon to be welcomed by pleasant reception staff and a fast check in. Upon our ‘Special Requests’ we had asked for a high floor room. We were however allocated a ground floor room in Block 4 right by the kids playground! However, reception noted our request and said that we could move the next day at noon to a higher floor.

Within seconds one of the ‘Staff’ (I’ll call them Hobbits from now on) came to show us our room. I won’t comment on this first room as only there one night. At noon the next day we were allocated a higher room in Block 4 by the Bridge – Perfect.

Room:
This is a hotel and therefore is a typical hotel room. Size was big enough, not massive but not small either. Free fridge in room along with Plasma TV and large chair (Can be a bed) and 2 twin beds. Bathroom was very nice and modern with a big shower, toiletries were also in room. Towels changed daily and bed sheets changed 3 times. Very comfortable beds, but the standard 1 pillow each... Asked for more and these turned up eventually. Safe in room at cost of £15 per week. Good sized electronic safe, my iPad fit in there nicely along with all our documents etc.
Balcony was small, enough space for 2 chairs and a small table but normal for Turkey I believe.

Staff:
Hhhmmmm, a lot of people have commented on the staff at this Hotel and I shall now explain the Hobbit comment. 80% of the staff are dirty, and I mean clothes. Every day they wear the same blue t-shirts which have not been ironed nor washed for days. They have food stains down them and this seems to be acceptable for the management? Various colour of shorts (again the same day after day) and those Flip Flops constantly dragging across the floor!! Only 1 member of staff was pleasant during the whole 9 nights (the guy with the glasses), all the others could do with some direction. That said it didn't spoil anything about our holiday.

Food:
I think enough has been noted about the food at this hotel, however, it was quite pleasant. Toast, Cereal, Salad, Meze, Cheese, Meats, Boiled Eggs, Scrambled Eggs, Turkish Sausage to name a few. Drinks were nice with a new coffee machine being fitted. We were B&B and this was enough. We ate in the Al A Carte restaurant for one night. Basic to say the least. The Half Board food looked none inspiring and basic. They need to up the game on this when they go to AI next year. The food in the pool bar was far better and cooked to order.

Location:
Perfect for us, 5 mins to beach and 5 mins to top of strip. Plenty of shops to buy cheap water from. Food along the Strip is hit and miss. Andora was by far the best food we had there. (located by the Azda). Very quiet in resort but this is just was we wanted.

All in all the hotel was perfect for us as we wanted a relaxing time.

If this review was helpful please click on the ‘Helpful Review’ link below.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AHMET O, Front Office Manager at Montebello Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Dear John

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel.
The next time, in order to offer a better service to our guests is very important for us to Comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oludeniz hotels
0.3 mi away
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
Montebello Deluxe Hotel
#52 of 102 in Oludeniz
419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alize Hotel
Alize Hotel
#25 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
Liberty Hotels Oludeniz
#14 of 102 in Oludeniz
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marcan Resort Hotel
Marcan Resort Hotel
#44 of 102 in Oludeniz
986 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tonoz Beach Hotel
Tonoz Beach Hotel
#13 of 102 in Oludeniz
491 reviews
0.4 mi away
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
Suncity Hotel & Beach Club
#10 of 102 in Oludeniz
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montebello Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montebello Resort

Address: Belcekiz Mah., Oludeniz 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Oludeniz
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Oludeniz
#35 Family Hotel in Oludeniz
Price Range: $64 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montebello Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montebello Resort in Belcekız Oludeniz Beach (Blue Lagoon) has a unique place. National beach is 400 meters long, the unique beauty of the sea of color and very famous. The starting point is very close to our hotel in Antalya Lycian Way walking through the 500 km long. Rising just behind our hotel Babadag (2000 mt), height, location and natural landscape, the highest peak is one of the important places in and around the world for paragliding. Our hotel is 12 km from the ruins of the ancient Kayaköy, Dalaman Airport 55 km, 45 km from Saklikent and Dalyan, Fethiye is located 13 km from the city center.Total 8000 m² in an area of 6,000 m² built on the block with 3 floors consists of 4 units. All garden, sea or pool view 115 standard rooms, 3 suite rooms, 2 handicapped rooms total 120 rooms available. The hotel lobby reception, Elevator, 250 pax capacity restaurant, 250 pax capacity breakfast lounge, 2 bars, 2 water slides, a large swimming pool, a separate children's pool, ornamental pool, Spa Therapy Center, Sauna, Turkish bath, massage rooms, steam room, Beauty salon, Hairdresser, Fitness Center, 200 pax capacity meeting room, mini club, animation shows, swimming pool for the Sun Shades, Cushions, Chaise Lounge, Parking, Market, Photo, Doctor, Table Tennis, Darts, Billiards, Satellite Wireless internet in public areas and in service of our valuable. Spacious and decorated in minimalist style, garden and pool view rooms:Mini-bar,Satellite LCD TV,Balcony,Air conditioning Hair Dryer, Bathroom, Direct dial telephone,WC,Shower,Ceramic floor, Safe deposit box, Fire alarm detector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Montebello Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montebello Hotel Oludeniz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing